Sub-Saharan Africa Collection Policy

OVERVIEW

subject description and guidelines

  • The selection of material is to cover the history and culture of Sub-Saharan Africa.

  • These programs vary from beginning undergraduate courses to post-doctoral research. The programs served by the collection include, but are not limited to, the Africana Studies & Research Center, departments of Anthropology, City & Regional Planning, Economics, English, Government, History, Linguistics, Sociology, the Institute for African Development and Near Eastern Studies.

COLLECTION SCOPE

collection strength

  • The overall collecting goal is in both the social sciences and humanities.

geographical guidelines

  • In order of importance, the regional emphases of the collection is sub-Saharan Africa.

areas of significant geographic coverage

country (self-governing)

  • Sub-Saharan Africa 

language guidelines

  • Material selected for this area is in English, French, Kiswahili, Zulu, and Yoruba.

language

  • English 
  • French 
  • Kiswahili 
  • Yoruba 
  • Zulu 

chronological guidelines

  • Emphasis is given to the Ancient Africa through contemporary times.

material types

  • Emphasis is on current materials: monographs, periodicals (serials) in print and electronic formats. Manuscripts and theses and dissertations from other universities are preferably acquired in microform, when requested. Audiovisual materials and other formats are collected selectively. Important current African newspapers and magazines are acquired in part through the Library of Congress Nairobi office.

COLLECTION CONTEXT

housed in

  • John Henrik Clarke Africana Library 
  • Library Annex 
  • Olin Library 

special collections or noteworthy resources in the field

  • Special Collections: K Rare Books & Manuscripts, and Law Library.

AFFILIATIONS

academic department

  • Sociology (SOC) 

  • City and Regional Planning (CRP) 
  • Economics (ECON) 
  • English (ENGL) 
  • Government (GOVT) 
  • Linguistics (LING) 

organization

  • Anthropology (ANTHR) 
  • History (HIST) 

RESPONSIBILITY

library contact

  • Acree, Eric Kofi -  Director John Henrik Clarke Africana Library; Coordinator of Fine Arts and Music Libraries