Health Administration Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Libraries seek to support research and instruction in the areas of professional education for Health Administration Program. The major areas of scholarship are preventive health care and comparative health care systems, health care management, including health care finance, health care systems, policy environments, ethics, public health and epidemiology.
- The collection is primarily used by students and faculty of the Sloan Program. Faculty who teach in the Sloan program are typically affiliated with the Department of Public Policy and Analysis, The Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management.
- Overall, the collecting goals for Health Administration are suitable for masters-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education with an emphasis on professional training. The following topics are collected at this research level: planning and management of health organizations, health policy analysis, health finance, health/hospital services and program evaluations; patient-centered evaluation; and migrant health in New York State. One or two major descriptive (not clinical) works are collected on each disease.
- The collecting scope is global, with selection generally at a country level. Regions for collecting include the U.S., Western Hemisphere, Africa, Central and South America, China, Australia, and Japan.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- United Kingdom
- United States of America
domestic geographical region
- New York State
- northern America
- English is the primary language of the collection. Spanish language materials concerning health administration in Mexico will be collected. Materials in other languages are acquired as requested.
- Unless recommended by the department, the library does not purchase materials published more than 10 years ago.
- The following areas are not collected: clinical medicine; patient's rights and consent issues; human subjects research issues; political activities of the health professionals; psychiatry; physician/patient relations; health education; occupational health and hygiene; sex therapy; history of medicine (which is collected by Olin); special programs for the handicapped; art/music therapy; quarantine; prevention of accident and injury (except in agriculture and natural resources)); mass screening; prevention and control of communicable diseases (except for major public health threats and general trends in this area); health aspects of sanitary engineering; medical education except for health administrators; pharmacy and pharmaceuticals; nursing; medical informatics; ethnicity and disease; personal experiences of health care personnel.
- Scholarly journals, trade monographs, textbooks and case studies. Access to these materials is typically provided through large, aggregated database subscriptions.
- Albert R. Mann Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- CINAHL, currently provided through EBSCO.
related library subject collection
- Economics Collection
- Government Collection
- Human Development Collection
- Management Collection
- Sociology Collection
- Kennedy Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian (Mann)