General Social Sciences Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The General Social Sciences collection acquires material encompassing theory, policy, and research methodology in the social sciences, as well as descriptive statistics at the international and national level. Also included is material that does not fall within the parameters of the individual social science subject collections.
- The General Social Sciences collection is used by a wide-range of Cornell faculty and students in social science disciplines across campus.
- Overall, the collecting goals for the General Social Sciences are suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education.
- The main emphasis of the collection reflects the work of Western scholars and publications of North American and European publishers.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- United States of America
- Great Britain
- New Zealand
- The contemporary General Social Sciences collection is primarily English language. Materials in Western European languages (mainly French and German) are collected selectively.
- The emphasis of the collection is on current publications.
- The collection covers scholarly journals, topical periodicals, and a range of monographic publications from academic and trade presses, research institutes, and public agencies.
- Olin Library
- Uris Library
related library subject collection
- Government Collection
- Industrial and Labor Relations Collection
- Sociology Collection
- Economics Collection
- Development Sociology (D SOC)
- Economics (ECON)
- Government (GOVT)
- Policy Analysis and Management (PAM)
- Sociology (SOC)
- Thitchener, Lynn - Research & Instruction Librarian