Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia – Chinese Studies Collection Policy

OVERVIEW

subject description and guidelines

  • The Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia secures and preserves materials on China in all languages and formats regardless of published or non-published. The Collection focuses on subjects in social sciences and humanities.

constituencies

  • The Charles W. Wason Collection serves the faculty and students in the following academic units: • East Asian Program • Department of Asian Studies • China and Asia-Pacific Studies Program • Law School’s Clarke Program in East Asian Law and Culture • Cornell-China Institutes for Arts and the Humanities in the Department of Theatre, Film, and Dance • Asian American Studies Program • FALCON Program

COLLECTION SCOPE

collection level

  • research

geographical guidelines

  • China’s geographical areas covered by the Charles W. Wason Collection include: • Mainland China • Taiwan • Hong Kong • Macao

areas of significant geographic coverage

country (self-governing)

  • China 
  • Taiwan 

language guidelines

  • Materials in Chinese and English for subjects in social sciences and humanities are collected selectively at the research level. Materials in other languages are acquired as demand warrants.

chronological guidelines

  • The holdings of the Charles W. Wason Collection on China cover all the historical periods of China from the dawn of the Chinese civilization (3000 BC) up to the 21st century.

material types

  • The Charles W. Wason collection collects materials in all formats. Monographs, serials, manuscripts, pamphlets, dissertations, theses, and conference papers are in print, electronic, and microform formats. Maps, audio, and video are collected selectively.

COLLECTION CONTEXT

housed in

  • Carl A. Kroch Library 
  • Library Annex 
  • Olin Library 

special collections or noteworthy resources in the field

  • Kroch Library Southeast Asia Collection (materials on ethnic Chinese) Kroch Library South Asia Collection (materials on Tibet)

AFFILIATIONS

academic department

  • Asian Studies (ASIAN)

academic unit

  • Asian American Studies Program
  • East Asia Program 

RESPONSIBILITY

library contact

  • Zheng, Liren -  Curator and Adjunct Assistant Professor