LibGuides: Subject Collection Policies: Nestle Library

Nestlé Library Collection Policy

OVERVIEW

subject description and guidelines

The Nestlé Library has one of the finest collections on hospitality management in the world. The Library seeks to support research in all aspects of hospitality management, domestic and international, at the undergraduate through PhD and faculty levels of research. We also focus on hospitality industry companies, real estate as a financial asset, travel and tourism industries, spas, hotel and restaurant design, development, finance franchising and management, foodservice and beverage management including cooking, wines and other alcoholic beverages. We recognize the hospitality industry as a global business.

constituencies

The library serves research needs of faculty, doctoral, Masters (MMH) and undergraduate students in the Cornell School of Hotel Administration (SHA). SHA is the premier hospitality management school in the world. The School's mission is to educate the next generation of leaders for the world's largest and most dynamic industry.

COLLECTION SCOPE

collection strength

Overall, the Libraries' existing collection and current acquisitions commitment, based upon available resources, for Hospitality Management including Travel and tourism and Real Estate as a financial asset is at the research level. Cooking, Food and beverages are at a very strong study and teaching level. The library's collection also includes a large collection of menus and rare books that are held in the Cornell Library's Rare and Manuscript Collections, located in the Carl A. Kroch Library. Our Restaurant Menu Database serves as a finding aid for the menu collection. Our rare book collection, known as the Herndon-Vehling Collection, was developed from gifts-in-kind received from J. B. Herndon, Jr.(1898-1953) and Mrs. Alice Statler, who purchased the collection of J. D. Vehling for the library. Our collection also features electronic copies of all of the doctoral theses prepared here in the Hotel School.

language guidelines

Hospitality and Real Estate are global industries. English language materials are collected from around the world. Foreign language materials are only purchased by special request. Non-English materials may also be purchased for Area Studies collections.

language

chronological guidelines

Current purchases are focused on current information and research with a preference for electronic / internet access where practical and affordable. Older materials are purchased to support specific research and curriculum needs. Since the Nestlé Library is a unique collection, most print materials are kept indefinitely. Older materials are moved to the Annex Library when possible.

material types

Formats collected: Electronic format is preferred. We collect scholarly and trade annuals, monographs; periodicals, newspapers, reference tools, scholarly series and textbooks selectively.

COLLECTION CONTEXT

housed in

special collections or noteworthy resources in the field

The library's collection also includes a large collection of menus and rare books that are held in the Cornell Library's Rare and Manuscript Collections, located in the Carl A. Kroch Library. Our Restaurant Menu Database serves as a finding aid for the menu collection. Our rare book collection, known as the Herndon-Vehling Collection, was developed from gifts-in-kind received from J. B. Herndon, Jr.(1898-1953) and Mrs. Alice Statler, who purchased the collection of J. D. Vehling for the library. Our collection also features electronic copies of all of the doctoral theses prepared here in the Hotel School.

AFFILIATIONS

academic unit

RESPONSIBILITY

library contact