Entomology Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Library seeks to support research, instruction and extension in the area of insect biology. The research program includes both basic and applied studies. The major research and teaching areas are morphology and systematics, pest management (especially of forage, greenhouse, vegetable and livestock insects), biological control, ecology, evolutionary biology and behavior, medical and veterinary entomology, pathology, apiculture, toxicology and physiology. The extension program applies the results of research to alleviate insect problems in New York State, the US and throughout the world.
- The collection is used by faculty, staff and students of the Department of Entomology and the Agricultural Experiment Station in Geneva, NY. It is also used by other departments such as Horticulture, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Neurobiology and Behavior, and relevant parts of the College of Veterinary Medicine.
- Overall, the collecting goals for Entomology are suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education. Materials on the following organisms are collected at this research level: insects, ticks, mites, arachnids and millipedes. Emphasis is on Coleoptera (beetles, etc.), Diptera (flies), Hymenoptera (wasps, etc.) and Lepidoptera (butterflies and moths). Topics include: taxonomy, systematics, and phylogeny; morphology; evolution; genetics, microevolution and development; ecology; biogeography; IPM (integrated pest management) and biological control; toxicology or insecticides and insecticide resistance; pesticides: application, chemistry,environmental effects, policy issues; insect pathology; physiology and molecular genetics; biodiversity; medical entomology: the causation and transmission of disease by insects; veterinary entomology; beneficial insects and natural enemies; host-plant resistance; descriptions of insect collections; insects and culture (e.g., art, literature, cookery); insects as pets; popular works.
- Conceptual materials are typically collected from North America. For other materials, the scope of the collection is international.
- English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese and major Asian languages for systematics literature. Other non-English literature will be submitted to the faculty liaison for advice.
- Current, plus important historical works.
- Since this collection aims to be comprehensive, there are few exclusions.
- Broadly, entomology emphasizes scholarly communication through academic and specialized journals. Trade and some popular monographs and serials, textbooks and data sets are also collected.
- Albert R. Mann Library
- Carl A. Kroch Library
- Comstock Memorial Library of Entomology
- Flower-Sprecher Veterinary Library
- Frank A. Lee Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- Mann Library's Special Collections and Entomology Rare collections hold materials that are too rare, valuable or fragile to be housed in the regular stacks. The Philips Beekeeping Collection is a large and valuable collection of books and manuscripts on bees and beekeeping.
eCommons@Cornell serves as a repository for data files compiled by Cornell researchers.
related library subject collection
- Animal Science Collection
- Biometry Collection
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Collection
- Fiber Science and Apparel Design Collection
- Neurobiology and Behavior Collection
- Plant Sciences Collection
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB)
- Entomology (ENTOM)
- Horticulture (HORT)
- Neurobiology and Behavior (BIO NB)
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
- Neurobiology and Behavior
- Plant Protection
- Zoology and Wildlife Conservation
cornell academic division
- Cornell Cooperative Extension (CCE)
- Office of Undergraduate Biology
cornell college or professional school
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Kennedy, Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian (Mann)