Human Development Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The library seeks to support research and instruction in Human Development which focuses on how people develop, cognitively and socially, through the life course. It examines development in the contexts of family, school, social class, culture and complex biological and ecological conditions. Faculty interests include aging and health; cognitive development; developmental behavioral neuroscience; group disparities in development; law, psychology and human development; and social and personality development.
- The collection is primarily used by faculty, staff and students of the Department of Human Development. The collection is also used by students and faculty of the following departments and programs: Nutrition, Health Administration, Policy Analysis and Management, Development Sociology, Psychology, and Neurobiology and Behavior. The associated Graduate Field of Human Development encompasses all aspects of human development on Cornell's Ithaca campus.
- Overall, the collecting goals for Human Development are suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education. The following topics are collected at this research level: infant Development, cognitive development, developmental psychology, early childhood education, social Interaction in children, child abuse and neglect, adolescent development, human growth and development--biological and behavioral, adult learning, adult development and aging, socialization and deviance across the life course, pathopsychology, family, family policy, work and the family, and history of the family.
- The collecting scope is global, with greatest emphasis on the United States.
- United States of America
domestic geographical region
- New York State
- northern America
- Current. Historical treatments of the following are of interest: childhood, adolescence, the family, and aging.
- Family and marital therapy; child psychotherapy; elementary education. Collection of research materials should always take precedence over popular or self-help treatments. However, some summaries of research which are written at a popular level are useful.
- Scholarly journals, trade monographs, textbooks and case studies. Access to these materials is typically provided through large, aggregated database subscriptions.
- Albert R. Mann Library
- Olin Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- PsycInfo and PsycArticles, Sociological Abstracts, MEDLINE, Ageline Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Center for Disease Control (statistics)
related library subject collection
- Design and Environmental Analysis Collection
- Health Administration Collection
- Neurobiology and Behavior Collection
- Nutritional Sciences Collection
- Policy Analysis and Management Collection
- Psychology Collection
- Development Sociology (D SOC)
- Neurobiology and Behavior (BIO NB)
- Policy Analysis and Management (PAM)
- Psychology (PSYCH)
- Development Sociology
- Neurobiology and Behavior
- Policy Analysis and Management
cornell research program, unit, or center
- Bronfenbrenner Center for Translational Research (BCTR)
cornell academic division
- Division of Nutritional Sciences (DNS)
- Kennedy Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian (Mann)