John M. Echols Collection on Southeast Asia
subject description and guidelines
- The Echols Collection acquires and preserves material from and about Southeast Asia in all languages and from all countries where there is published or unpublished material about the region. The Collection focuses on subjects in the humanities and social sciences but is also strong in other fields of study as they relate to the region.
- Any students, researchers, faculty or teachers who teach or do research on Southeast Asia at Cornell University and beyond.
- The Echols Collections strives to collect comprehensively in all of the humanities and social sciences subjects while collecting more selectively in applied sciences and technology.
- The Echols Collection focuses on the region of Southeast Asia, including the countries listed below. Burma/Myanmar, Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam
areas of significant geographic coverage
- Brunei Darussalam
- Material in the national languages of Southeast Asia are collected comprehensively, as are those published in the many languages spoken throughout the region. Material in any other language published about the region is collected comprehensively.
- The collection holds material from the 1600’s onward with the bulk of it having been collected and published in the last half of the twentieth century. The collection collects comprehensively on all periods of time related to Southeast Asian history.
- The collection holds material in all formats but the bulk of it is print monographs and serials, and microforms.
- Carl A. Kroch Library
- Library Annex
- Olin Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- The Echols Collection is considered a special collection as a whole but it is also comprised of many subsets of material that are themselves special collections. Collections such as the Niels Douwes Dekker photographs, the collected research of prominent professors from Cornell and other institutions, a comprehensive set of publications of travelers who went to Southeast Asia from the 1600’s to the 1900’s, a sampling of palm leaf manuscripts, and many other such special collections can be found in the Rare and Manuscripts department.
related library subject collection
- American History Collection
- Archaeology Collection
- Asia General Collection
- Middle East & Islamic Studies Collection
- Southeast Asia Program (SEAP)
- Green, Gregory Hanks - Curator and Senior Lecturer
- Petersen, Jeffrey W. - Librarian