Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia – Korean Studies
subject description and guidelines
- The Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia secures and preserves materials on Korea in all languages and formats regardless of published or non-published. The Collection focuses on subjects in social sciences and humanities.
- The Charles W. Wason Collection serves the faculty and students in the following academic units: • East Asian Program • Department of Asian Studies • China and Asia-pacific Studies Program • Law School’s Clarke Program in East Asian Law and Culture • Asian American Studies Program
- Korea’s geographical areas covered by the Charles W. Wason Collection include: • South Korea • North Korea
areas of significant geographic coverage
- Materials in Korean and English for subjects in social sciences and humanities are collected selectively at the research or study levels. Materials in other languages are acquired as demand warrants.
- Emphasis is primarily on the colonial and post-colonial period, 1910 to 1945 and Korean linguistics from the early 8th century onward. The collection collects extensively on all periods of time related to Korean history.
- The Charles W. Wason collection collects materials in all formats. Monographs, serials, manuscripts, pamphlets, dissertations, theses, and conference papers are in print, electronic, and microform formats. Maps, audio, and video are collected selectively.
- Carl A. Kroch Library
- Library Annex
- Olin Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- Willard Dickerman Straight Photography Collection on Korea
Telated library subject collection
- Asian Studies (ASIAN)
- Asian American Studies Program
- East Asia Program
- You Lee Chun, Selector for Korean Collection