French History Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- Comprehensive collection of primary texts and secondary literature relating to French history from Late Antiquity to the present. The collection supports research and scholarly communication at the highest level of excellence.
- Materials covering the history of France are intended to support the teaching and research needs of undergraduates, graduate students, academic staff, and faculty in the College of Arts & Sciences, with particular consideration for the department of History, as well as related disciplines and interdisciplinary programs, specifically: Romance Studies, Medieval Studies, Anthropology, and City and Regional Planning, Government, etc. Visiting researchers are welcome.
- France: The collection aims to be at the research level(supporting original scholarship). Strengths are the Middle Ages, the eighteenth and the nineteenth centuries. Newly available sets of primary sources (in microform, digital, or print), especially in convenient digital form, are highly desirable and, as budgets allow, particular effort is made to acquire them. Former French colonies, e.g., in North and West Africa: Coverage is selective and representative of major trends and areas.
- France, French Canada, North and Sub-Saharan Africa, the Indian Ocean, South-East Asia, and Oceania.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- Southeast Asia
- Sub-Saharan Africa
- North Africa
- Emphasis is on French and English-language materials. Materials in other Western European languages are acquired as appropriate.
- France: all historic time periods, including historic archaeology and the Middle Ages. Relevant materials may also be acquired by other selectors, such as the Medieval Studies selector, the Classics and Ancient History, or General History selectors. Africa, the Indian Ocean, South-East Asia, Oceania: from European Colonization to the twentieth century. Relevant materials may also be acquired by other selectors,
- Juvenile literature, textbooks, genealogy, manuscripts and archives, rare books, newspapers. Materials about former French colonies since independence are the purview of other selectors.
- Newly acquired material may be in either physical (book, serial, microform, DVD) or virtual (e-journal, database) format. For new serial subscriptions the default mode is electronic access (if available) unless physical issues present visual content better suited for research.
- Olin Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- French Revolution collection in Rare.
related library subject collection
associated with organization
- City and Regional Planning (CRP)
- Government (GOVT)
- Romance Studies (ROM S)
- Medieval Studies
- Anthropology (ANTHR)
- History (HIST);
- How, Sarah E. - European Studies Librarian