News, Anglo American Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- Olin Library collects selected full-text news sources published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain in these formats: print, microfilm, and online (plain text, HTML, PDF, and streaming multimedia), including databases that aggregate many news titles.
- Cornell faculty, students, and staff are the primary constituency for this collection.
- Current news sources are covered at a level suitable for general use. Archival copies are maintained for major national and some U.S. regional news sources. Some news aggregator databases provide limited archival access to news content of smaller cities and towns.
- Titles published in North America (the United States and Canada) and Great Britain. Online versions of some newspapers that are embedded in news aggregators subscribed to on Anglo-American newspapers funds (Access World News, Nexis UNI, PressDisplay.com, Access Newspaper Archive) contain international news titles from outside North America and Great Britain.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- Great Britain
- United States of America
- The collection is primarily in English. The international newspapers included in some news aggregators are published in primarily Western European languages.
- The library collects currently published titles and archival copies of those titles. We maintain existing collections of ceased or cancelled titles, primarily in microfilm format.
- News titles for specific subjects (business, science, education, religious, and book review titles, for example) are the responsibility of selectors in those areas.
- News content is collected or purchased for access in print, microform, and online (plain text, HTML, PDF, still image, and streaming multimedia) formats. The collection is characterized by an increasing emphasis on online versions. I am phasing out print versions of current newspapers. Some microfilm titles have been cancelled over the past few years.
- Law Library
- Olin Library
- Engle, Michael O. - Reference/Instruction Librarian; Selector