Second Language Studies Collection Policy

OVERVIEW

subject description and guidelines

  • The collection focuses both on the theoretical and applied aspects of teaching and the acquisition of second languages and the attending critical and social issues of language learning and use. It also offers material on language assessment and teaching of English, as well as other foreign languages.

constituencies

  • The collection serves primarily the Language Resource Center and second language courses taught at Cornell across various departments. It may be of potential interest to departments like English, Romance Studies, as well as the Institute for European Studies, and the Asian Studies programs.


COLLECTION SCOPE

collection strength

  • The collection is a study level one, suitable for the teaching needs of the faculty and the interests and of advanced undergraduate students or graduate students of cultural studies as they connect to language identity.

collection level

  • study

geographical guidelines

  • The focus is on Europe and the Americas.

areas of significant geographic coverage

transnational region

  • Americas 
  • Europe 

language guidelines

  • Theoretical materials in English are collected more comprehensively than those in Spanish German, French, Russian, and other West European languages, which are acquired only selectively.

language

  • English 
  • French 
  • German 
  • Russian 
  • Spanish 

chronological guidelines

  • Twentieth-century to present.

exclusions

  • Textbooks are purchased only on demand.

material types

  • Print, electronic, media. Monographs, serials, DVDs.


COLLECTION CONTEXT

housed in

  • Olin Library

related library subject collection


RESPONSIBILITY

library contact

  • Stevens, Patrick J. -  Curator of the Fiske Icelandic Collection