Design and Environmental Analysis Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The library seeks to support research and instruction in the area of design and environmental analysis. The multi-disciplinary department uses research to inspire innovative design, including not only the interior built environment, but also the strategic planning of complex work, education, health, and residential facilities. The major areas of focus are design history, theory and criticism; design leadership; health and well being; special populations; sustainable and regenerative design; and workplace strategies.
- The collection is used by faculty, staff and students of the Department of Design and Environmental Analysis. Other constituencies include a variety of disciplines such as Psychology, Art, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Human Development, Business, and City and Regional Planning. The associated Graduate Field of Design and Environmental Analysis encompasses all aspects of design and environmental analysis on Cornell's Ithaca campus.
- International materials are of most interest in the areas of facility management, environment, and behavior.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- New Zealand
- United Kingdom
- United States of America
- Current. Older literature of design history is also collected.
- The following areas are not collected: catalogs of furnishings and interiors.
- Broadly, design and environmental analysis emphasize scholarly communication through academic and specialized journals. Trade monographs and serials, textbooks, and relevant regulations and standards are also collected.
- Albert R. Mann Library
- Carl A. Kroch Library
- Fine Arts Library
- Martin P. Catherwood Library
- Uris Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- Mann Library's Special Collections hold materials that are too rare, valuable or fragile to be housed in the regular stacks. ECommons serves as a repository for data files compiled by Cornell researchers.
related library subject collection
- Architecture and Urban Design Collection
- Art Collection
- Engineering Collection
- Human Development Collection
- Industrial and Labor Relations Collection
- Management Collection
- Psychology Collection
- Landscape Architecture (LA)
- Psychology (PSYCH)
- Architecture (ARCH)
- Art (ART)
- City and Regional Planning (CRP)
- Design and Environmental Analysis (DEA)
- Human Development (HD)
- Landscape Architecture
- City and Regional Planning
- Design and Environmental Analysis
- Human Development
- Kennedy, Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian