Natural Resources Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Libraries seek to support research, instruction and outreach in the area of natural resources.The major areas of scholarship explore how to maximize biodiversity, enhance and sustain ecosystems, mitigate climate change, and manage natural resources, such as wildlife, forests and fisheries.
- The collection is used by faculty, staff and students of the Department of Natural Resources. Other constituencies include a variety of disciplines such as Applied Economics and Management, Biochemistry, Entomology, and Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. The associated Graduate Field of Natural Resources encompasses its research on Cornell's Ithaca campus.
- Overall, the collecting goals for Natural Resources are to provide materials suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education. The following topics are collected at this research level: wildlife biology, fisheries biology, forest biology, wetlands biology, pollution, land use, environmental ethics, environmental impact analysis, resource management, and environmental policy and planning.
- Global. Areas of special interest are New York State and CIIFAD target countries. Emphasis is on terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems rather than urban areas.
areas of significant geographic coverage
domestic geographical region
- New York State
- The focus is on English and Spanish. Non Roman alphabets may be collected by area studies.
- Current, plus historical treatments of environmental problems.
- The following areas are not collected: saltwater fishing, zoo management (collected by the Veterinary Library, environmental law (collected by the Law Library)
- Broadly, natural resources emphasizes scholarly communication through academic and specialized journals. Trade monographs and serials, textbooks and data sets are also collected.
- Albert R. Mann Library
- Flower-Sprecher Veterinary Library
- Law Library
- Uris Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- Mann Library's Special Collections hold materials that are too rare, valuable or fragile to be housed in the regular stacks. ECommons serves as a repository for data files compiled by Cornell researchers.
related library subject collection
- Engineering Collection
- Biochemistry Collection
- Biological and Environmental Engineering Collection
- Biometry Collection
- Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Collection
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Collection
associated with organization
- Natural Resources (NTRES/DNR)
- Biological and Environmental Engineering (BEE)
- Earth and Atmospheric Sciences (EAS)
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB)
- Entomology (ENTOM)
- Molecular Biology and Genetics (MBG)
- Environmental Quality
- Environmental Toxicology
- Natural Resources
- Zoology and Wildlife Conservation
- Applied Economics and Management
- Biochemistry, Molecular and Cell Biology
- Biological and Environmental Engineering
- Civil and Environmental Engineering
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
- Kennedy, Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian