Naval Science Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- Naval Science addresses naval life, national navies, naval administration, maintenance, sailors, marines, ordnance, navigation, the merchant marine, and shipbuilding. Works in Naval Science are most often classified in the “V” classification of the Library of Congress. At Cornell, works on Naval Science in English distributed by major trade and university publishers are acquired. Special attention is paid to the Naval History. Works on the naval history of specific areas are the responsibility of the relevant Area specialist.
- The History of the Book collection serves the needs of faculty and students in the History Department. To a lesser extent, it supports students in the Department of Military Science.
- Cornell has a strong collection in works on British and American naval history and biography published through 1918. Most major scholarly works on naval history published since then are included in the collection. The collection of material on current naval science and technology is much more limited.
- Coverage is primarily on the United States and Great Britain. Naval science and history may be acquired by national and regional specialists.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- Great Britain;
- United States of America
- Primarily material in English is collected
- The naval history of all periods is acquired.
- Technical manuals
- Naval charts and tide and current tables
- Popular works
- The collection consists of all formats, though the emphasis is on print. For contemporary works on naval technology and for academic journals, electronic access is preferred. Audiovisuals are acquired primarily at the request of an instructor.
- Olin Library
- Uris Library
related library subject collection
cornell academic division
- Military Science
- History (HIST)
- Cole, Virginia A. - Classics, History, & Medieval Studies Librarian