Nutritional Sciences Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Libraries seek to support research, instruction, and outreach in the area of nutritional sciences. Cornell's Division of Nutritional Sciences (DNS) is among the largest academic units in the United States concentrating on human nutrition. The DNS missions and scholarly activities integrate knowledge from the physical, biological and social sciences in the areas of molecular, human, international and community nutrition. The focus of the division's research, teaching and outreach is exclusively on human nutrition; work in animal nutrition takes place in the department of Animal Sciences and work in plant nutrition in the section of Plant Biology. The division is affiliated with both the College of Human Ecology and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.
- The collection is used by faculty, staff and students of the Division of Nutritional Sciences. Other constituencies include a variety of disciplines such as Psychology, Biomedical Sciences, Food Science, Anthropology, Sociology, Physiology and Molecular Biology and Genetics. The associated Graduate Field of Nutrition encompasses all aspects of nutritional research on Cornell's Ithaca campus. Nutritional Sciences is also an undergraduate major. The undergraduate major Human Biology, Health and Society also uses this collection.
- Overall, the collecting goal for Nutritional Sciences is to provide materials suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education. The following topics are collected at this research level. Nutrition methods and analytical techniques; Food composition, nutritive value and toxicology; Physiological and biochemical bases for human nutrition; Human health and nutrition; Community and international nutrition, nutrition education, nutrition intervention programs.
- Conceptual materials are collected primarily from North America. Government publications, domestic and foreign publications related to nutrition policy, status and programs are selectively collected from around the world. Publications of the United Nations are more useful than those from individual national governments.
- Emphasis on English language, however important materials in all languages using the Roman alphabet are considered.
- Primarily current materials; retrospective collections on popular diet, nutrition and foodways are collected.
- Cookbooks, unless they have a medical focus. Applications software, such as diet analysis programs.
- Broadly, nutritional sciences emphasize scholarly communication through academic and specialized journals. Scholarly, trade monographs and serials, textbooks and data sets are also collected.
- Albert R. Mann Library
- Olin Library
- Uris Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- Mann Library's Special Collections hold materials that are too rare, valuable or fragile to be housed in the regular stacks. ECommons serves as a repository for data files compiled by Cornell researchers.
related library subject collection
- Animal Science Collection
- Anthropology Collection
- Biochemistry Collection
- Food Science Collection
- Human Development Collection
- Development Sociology (D SOC)
- Food Science (FOOD)
- Molecular Biology and Genetics (MBG)
- Psychology (PSYCH)
- Biochemistry, Molecular and Cell Biology
- Development Sociology
- Environmental Toxicology
- Food Science and Technology
- Molecular and Integrative Physiology
cornell academic division
- Division of Nutritional Sciences (DNS)
- Anthropology (ANTHR)
- Kennedy, Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian