Environmental Engineering Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Libraries seek to support research, informational, and instruction needs in the field of environmental engineering from the undergraduate to graduate to post-graduate level. This includes the study of energy (conventional and alternative), sustainability, pollution, remediation, recycling, and managing the earth’s natural resources (air, water, land, minerals). The library collects research journals of most relevant societies and high quality, relevant, and high use peer-reviewed journals published by commercial and non-profit publishers. The focus is on electronic format; print subscriptions are retained when no online exists or where there are licensing restrictions. The vast majority of current conferences and journals held are electronic and may or may not include deep archives; therefore paper backfiles are kept in the annex for rapid scanning and document delivery. Trade journals are collected, but not comprehensively and electronic access is always sought. E-Book collections are aggressively collected and include Knovel, Springer, and CRC EngNetBase, and ChemNetBase, resulting in thousands of books being available online. Databases leading to the discovery of these resources are also collected. These include DOE Information Bridge, Compendex, Inspec, OnePetro, and Web of Science among others. The library has approval plans with many publishers to supply environmental engineering books to the collection, which come automatically. Since 2010 the majority of these books are supplied electronically instead of in print. We will buy print books on demand and when not available online.
- Energy, Environment, and Sustainable Development has been identified by the College of Engineering as one of several strategic areas, which the library supports with strong collections.
- Overall, the collecting goals for environmental engineering are for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education.
- Global, with emphasis on material published in English from North America, Europe, and Asia.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- Great Britain
- United States of America
- English is the main language of scholarly communication in environmental engineering. Publications in other languages are acquired very selectively.
- Current material, plus historical treatment of environmental problems and solutions.
- Non-english material is not usually collected. Some bilingual material has been collected in the past.
- Environmental engineering emphasizes scholarly communication through academic and specialized journals, trade journals, books and e-books; conferences, and technical reports. There are some two million technical reports from various government agencies on microfiche at the Library Annex, which can be scanned.
- Albert R. Mann Library
- Clark Physical Sciences Library
- Engineering Library
- Library Annex
- Mathematics Library
- Uris Library
- Biological and Environmental Engineering (BEE)
- Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE)
- Earth and Atmospheric Sciences (EAS)
- Natural Resources (NTRES/DNR)
- Biological and Environmental Engineering
- Chemical Engineering
- Chemistry and Chemical Biology
- Civil and Environmental Engineering
- Conservation and Sustainable Development
- Design and Environmental Analysis
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
- Environmental Quality
- Environmental Toxicology
- Natural Resources
- Systems Engineering
- Powell, Jill H.- Engineering Librarian