Economics Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Libraries seek to support research in all aspects of economics, domestic and international, from the undergraduate graduate student through PhD and faculty levels of research. Areas of established specialization include but are not limited to microeconomics, macroeconomics, economic theory, economic development, economic history, psychological economics, econometrics, behavior economics, and game theory.
- The main constituents for this collection are students and faculty associated with the Department of Economics. However, faculty and students in other social sciences disciplines across campus also use this collection.
- Overall, the collecting goals for Economics are suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education and research.
- The main emphasis of the collection reflects the work of Western scholars and publications of North American and European publishers.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- Great Britain
- New Zealand
- United States of America
- The Economics collection is primarily English language. Materials in Western European languages (mainly French and German) are collected selectively.
- The emphasis of the collection is on current publications.
- Reprints, theses, and festschrift and generally not acquired. Textbooks are only acquired if requested for course reserve.
- The collection covers scholarly journals, topical periodicals, data sets and a range of monographic publications from academic and trade presses, research institutes, and public agencies.
- Olin Library
related library subject collection
- American History Collection
- Government Collection
- Health Administration Collection
- Industrial and Labor Relations Collection
- Policy Analysis and Management Collection
- Social Sciences General Collection
- Sociology Collection
- Kramer, Whitney - Economics selector for ILR and Olin