Asia (General) Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Asia General fund primarily functions to collect materials that cover more than one region of Asia, or several Asian and other world regions. As a result this fund provides supplementary support to the wide ranging community served by each of Asia Collections, i.e. Echols Collection on Southeast Asia, South Asia Collection, and Wason Collection on East Asia. In addition, Asian American materials are also collected.
- Collection is based in the humanities and social sciences. Collection level is at the study level. Desired collecting intensity for Asian American materials is comprehensive.
- Materials collected are on Asia as a whole, or cover countries from more than one of the following regions: East Asia, South Asia or Southeast Asia. Materials on Asian-American communities are also collected
areas of significant geographic coverage
- East Asia
- South Asia
- Southeast Asia
- Materials collected are primarily in English. Materials in other Western languages, i.e. German and French, are collected selectively. Materials in vernacular Asian languages are not collected, but are instead collected by the respective Asia Collections.
- There is no limitation as to the date of publication of items collected, although emphasis is on current publications.
- Materials in vernacular Asian languages are excluded, as are publications on the sciences.
- The collection holds material in all formats but the bulk is print monographs and serials.
- Carl A. Kroch Library
- Library Annex
- Olin Library
- Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia – Japanese Studies
- John M. Echols Collection on Southeast Asia
- South Asia Collection
- Asian Studies (ASIAN)
- East Asia Program
- South Asia Program
- Southeast Asia Program (SEAP)
- Atkinson, Carole E. - Asia Collections Reference Assistant
related library subject collection
associated with organization