Africana Studies Collection Policy

OVERVIEW

subject description and guidelines

The selection of material is largely based on the African Diaspora. Collecting areas for Africana Studies will include materials written by or about peoples of African descent with emphasis on the subject areas of history, literature, politics, economics, sociology, psychology, cultural anthropology and folklore, religion, education, international relations and Third World political economy.

constituencies

Materials will support the course work of departments but not limited to the Africana Studies and Research Center, English, Government, History, Sociology, Anthropology, Art History, and Near Eastern Studies.

COLLECTION SCOPE

collection strength

The overall collecting goals for Africana Studies are to cover virtually all subjects relevant to the people of African descent in both the social sciences and humanities. In other words, the selection process is from an interdisciplinary approach.

geographical guidelines

In order of importance, the regional emphases of the collection are: 1. North America (mainly the United States). 2. Africa (special emphasis on the Anglophone countries and Southern Africa). 3. The Caribbean (namely Afro-Caribbean).

areas of significant geographic coverage

country (self-governing)

transnational region

- Africa
- Caribbean

language guidelines

Material selected for this area is in English, with attention given to French, Kiswahili, Zulu, and Yoruba.

language

  • English 
  • French 
  • Kiswahili 
  • Yoruba 
  • Zulu 

material types

Emphasis is on current materials: monographs, periodicals (serials) in print and electronic formats. Manuscripts and theses and dissertations from other universities are preferably acquired in microform, when requested. Audiovisual materials and other formats are collected selectively. Important current African American newspapers and magazines are acquired.

COLLECTION CONTEXT

housed in:

  • Albert R. Mann Library
  • Fine Arts Library
  • John Henrik Clarke Africana Library
  • Law Library
  • Library Annex
  • Martin P. Catherwood Library
  • Olin Library

special collections or noteworthy resources in the field

  • Special Collections: K Rare Books & Manuscripts, Kheel Center, and Law Library.

related library subject collection

RESPONSIBILITY

library contact

  • Kofi Acree, Director, John Henrik Clarke Africana Library
    Curator, Africana Collections, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections