Animal Science Collection Policy

OVERVIEW

subject description and guidelines

The Libraries seek to support research, instruction, and outreach in the area of animal science. The major areas of scholarship are domestic animal genetics, nutrition, physiology, growth biology, and management systems. Emphasis is upon domestic livestock and production animals, including dairy and beef cattle, sheep and goats, swine, and poultry with selective interest in wildlife (e.g and., deer fur-animal) raising, fish farming (aquaculture), and nutrition and genetics of domestic animals, including dogs.

constituencies

The collection is used by faculty, staff and students of the Department of Animal Science. Other constituencies include a variety of disciplines such Nutrition, Physiology, Veterinary Medicine, Entomology, Food Science and Technology, and Neurobiology and Behavior. The associated Graduate Field of Animal Science encompasses all aspects of animal science on Cornell’s Ithaca campus.


COLLECTION SCOPE

collection strength

Overall, the collecting goal for Animal Science is to provide materials suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education and research. The following topics are collected at this research level for domestic animals: biology; behavior; breeds (primarily modern, tropical, and temperate); feeding and nutrition; genetics and selective breeding; facilities and housing; production methods and management (meat, milk); health, disease prevention (although not treatment, which is covered under the Veterinary Medicine policy), parasite control; meat science; ethics, animal rights and animal welfare. The following topics apply to specific categories of animal and are also collected at the research level: avian husbandry; commercial poultry production; dairy herd management; swine as a model in medicine; aquaculture; tropical livestock production; endocrinology (includes humans); reproduction and artificial insemination (AI).

subject description and guidelines

The Libraries seek to support research, instruction, and outreach in the area of animal science. The major areas of scholarship are domestic animal genetics, nutrition, physiology, growth biology, and management systems. Emphasis is upon domestic livestock and production animals, including dairy and beef cattle, sheep and goats, swine, and poultry with selective interest in wildlife (e.g and., deer fur-animal) raising, fish farming (aquaculture), and nutrition and genetics of domestic animals, including dogs.

constituencies

The collection is used by faculty, staff and students of the Department of Animal Science. Other constituencies include a variety of disciplines such Nutrition, Physiology, Veterinary Medicine, Entomology, Food Science and Technology, and Neurobiology and Behavior. The associated Graduate Field of Animal Science encompasses all aspects of animal science on Cornell’s Ithaca campus.

collection level

  • research

geographical guidelines

  • Global, with the following priorities, 1) New York State, 2) Other U.S., 3) Developing countries.

areas of significant geographic coverage

country (self-governing)

  • United States of America 

domestic geographical region

  • New York State 

language guidelines

  • In English, except on request.

language

  • English 

chronological guidelines

  • Current, except on request.

exclusions

  • The following areas are not collected: Anatomy, treatment of diseases, and the care and physiology of zoo animals, horses, laboratory animals and pets, all of which are collected by the Veterinary Library. There is little interest in non-food animal products (e.g., feathers, furs, hides) and their processing. Materials on horse racing, riding, training, carriage driving are not acquired as well as trapping. Also not collected are materials on raising and training purebred dog and cat breeds and other pet animals.

material types

  • Broadly, neurobiology and behavior emphasize scholarly communication through academic and specialized journals. Trade monographs and serials, textbooks and data sets are also collected.


COLLECTION CONTEXT

housed in

  • Albert R. Mann Library 
  • Flower-Sprecher Veterinary Library 
  • Uris Library 

special collections or noteworthy resources in the field

  • Mann Library's Special Collections hold materials that are too rare, valuable or fragile to be housed in the regular stacks. ECommons serves as a repository for data files compiled by Cornell researchers.

related library subject collection


AFFILIATIONS

associated with organization

academic department

  • Molecular Medicine (VETMM) 
  • Neurobiology and Behavior (BIO NB) 
  • Population Medicine & Diagnostic Sciences (VTPMD) 
  • Animal Science (AN SC) 
  • Biomedical Sciences (VTBMS) 
  • Clinical Sciences (VETCS) 
  • Entomology (ENTOM) 
  • Food Science (FOOD) 

graduate field/program

  • Molecular and Integrative Physiology 
  • Neurobiology and Behavior 
  • Nutrition 
  • Zoology and Wildlife Conservation 
  • Animal Science 
  • Comparative Biomedical Sciences 
  • Entomology 
  • Epidemiology 
  • Food Science and Technology 
  • Division of Nutritional Sciences (DNS) 

cornell college or professional school

  • College of Veterinary Medicine 


RESPONSIBILITY

library contacts

  • Johnson, Kelly - Veterinary Outreach and Information Resources Librarian, Veterinary Library
  • Kennedy, Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian, Mann Library