Government Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Government collections in Olin Library support study and research in Political Theory, Methodology, Comparative Government, International Relations (including Peace Studies), and American Government and policy. Materials in Public Administration are acquired selectively.
- Cornell faculty and students, primarily from the College of Arts and Sciences, with use by social scientists in other campus departments and programs across campus.
- Olin’s holdings in government range from the theoretical to the applied. The historical collection is comprehensive. In recent years, as a result of a decreased materials budget overall, items are selected at the research level, and selectively (e.g., Public Administration) at the study level.
- The Olin government collections include materials on the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, international government organizations, and comparative studies across multiple nations. Government materials are also acquired in the Area Studies collections: African Studies, East Asian Studies, Japanese Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle East & Islamic Studies, Slavic & East European Studies, South Asian Studies, Southeast Asian Studies
areas of significant geographic coverage
- New Zealand
- United Kingdom
- United States of America
- Primarily English, with some monographs and a number of scholarly journals in German, Italian and French.
- Modern period with an emphasis on current publications.
- Textbooks and dissertations
- Scholarly journals in print and, increasingly, online. A range of print publications from academic and trade presses, research institutes, private sector organizations, and public agencies.
- Olin Library
related library subject collection
- American History Collection
- Economics Collection
- Geography Collection
- Health Administration Collection
- Industrial and Labor Relations Collection
- Social Sciences General Collection
- Sociology Collection
- Urban Studies Collection
associated with organization
- Government (GOVT)
- Judith Reppy Institute for Peace and Conflict Studies
- Thitchener, Lynn M. - Reference & Instruction Librarian