Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The Libraries seek to support research and instruction in the areas of ecology and evolutionary biology. The major areas of scholarship are biogeochemistry and ecosystem science, community ecology, population biology, organismal biology, evolutionary genetics, and macroevolution and systematics.
- The collection is used by faculty, staff and students of the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. This is a basic science department, but many researchers are also concerned with how biology can be used to inform decisions in environmental, agricultural, and medical science. Employees of various research institutes on campus, such as the Museum of Vertebrates, Laboratory of Ornithology, and Paleontological Research Institute also rely on the basic science aspects of this collection, as do undergraduate majors in Biological Sciences. Graduate users come from the fields of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Applied Mathematics, Entomology, Genetics and Development, Natural Resources, Plant Biology, Science and Technology Studies, and Zoology.
- Overall, the collecting goal for Ecology and Evolutionary Biology is to provide materials suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education. The following topics are collected at this research level: ecology of plants and animals, including physiological/functional ecology, population ecology, community ecology, ecosystem and global ecology, general techniques of field ecology; evolutionary biology.
- The collecting scope is global, with selection generally at a regional or country level. Regions for collecting are prioritized as follows: (1) U.S., Western Hemisphere, Neotropics, (2) Southeast Asia, Africa, (3) Middle East, Australia, (4) Europe.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- Middle East
- Southeast Asia
- Sub-Saharan Africa
- South America
- central America
- northern America
- Conceptual materials are collected in English only. Factual materials, e.g., natural history, may also be collected in French, German, Spanish and Portuguese.
- Recent publications are collected for conceptual materials; historical coverage (post-1600) is included for systematics and natural history.
- The following areas are not collected: statistical analysis programs, modeling and simulation programs.
- Broadly, ecology and evolutionary biology emphasize scholarly communication through academic and specialized journals. Scholarly, trade and popular monographs and serials, textbooks and data sets are also collected.
- Albert R. Mann Library
- Carl A. Kroch Library
- Uris Library
special collections or noteworthy resources in the field
- Mann Library's Special Collections hold materials that are too rare, valuable or fragile to be housed in the regular stacks. ECommons serves as a repository for data files compiled by Cornell researchers.
related library subject collection
- Entomology Collection
- Natural Resources Collection
- Neurobiology and Behavior Collection
- Plant Sciences Collection
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB)
- Entomology (ENTOM)
- Natural Resources (NTRES/DNR)
- Plant Biology (BIOPL)
- Science and Technology Studies (S&TS)
- Plant Biology
- Science and Technology Studies
- Zoology and Wildlife Conservation
- Applied Mathematics
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
- Genetics, Genomics and Development
- Natural Resources
- Entomology at Geneva
- Kennedy, Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian (Mann)