Netherlandic Studies Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- The collection encompasses: history; literature (fiction, poetry, drama, graphic novels, creative nonfiction, and other forms of belles lettres ) originating in the Netherlands, Flemish-speaking Belgium, South Africa, and former Dutch colonies; critical, theoretical, and historical writing on Dutch literature; scholarship on the history of the Dutch, Frisian, Flemish and Afrikaans languages; scholarly writing on Netherlandic folklore; biographies of Dutch historical and literary figures.
- The collection is intended to support the general study needs of undergraduates, graduate students, academic staff, and faculty in the College of Arts & Sciences, with particular consideration for the departments of History; German Studies; Theatre, Film & Dance; and Comparative Literature, as well as several related interdisciplinary programs, specifically: Feminist, Gender & Sexuality Studies; the Institute for Comparative Modernities; and the Society for the Humanities.
- Canonical Netherlandic literature and its attendant scholarship are represented at study level, with collection emphasis on the canonical authors. While literary fiction is of primary concern, genres of popular fiction such as mystery are increasingly represented.
- Geographical focus is on Holland, Belgium, and, to a lesser degree, South Africa and South-East Asia.
areas of significant geographic coverage
- South Africa
- Southeast Asia
- Primary texts are mostly in the Netherlandic languages, but our holdings of secondary works include all major European languages.
- The collection spans Netherlandic-language works of literature from the medieval through contemporary periods.
- Generally excluded publication formats include textbooks (if designated as such by the publisher); broadsides and chapbooks (with rare exceptions); publications in non-European languages; self-published or vanity press books (unless the author has a direct connection with Cornell); and non-Cornell theses and dissertations (with rare exceptions).
- Newly acquired material may be in either physical (book, serial, microform, CD-ROM) or virtual (e-journal, database) format. Audiovisual material (DVD, VHS, CD-ROM) includes stage performances, readings of poetry and fiction, documentaries relevant to the study of Scaninavian-language literature and theater. For new serial subscriptions the default mode is electronic access only (if available) unless physical issues present visual content better suited for research or the physical format is specifically requested by faculty and graduate students.
- Carl A. Kroch Library
- Library Annex
- Olin Library
related library subject collection
- Comparative Literature (COM L)
- German Studies (GERST)
- History of Art and Visual Studies (ART H)
- Performing and Media Arts (PMA)
- Feminist, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
- Medieval Studies
- Society for the Humanities
- History (HIST)
- Stevens, Patrick Joseph - Curator of the Fiske Icelandic Collection (RMC); Judaica Studies Selector (Olin)