Biochemistry Collection Policy
subject description and guidelines
- Biochemistry at Cornell University is viewed broadly as the fundamental chemical, physical, biochemical, molecular biological, and cell biological principles that govern all forms and processes of life and is characterized by top ranking, multidisciplinary research in diverse aspects of biological, biomedical and biophysical sciences. Strengths include biochemistry, structural biology, cell biology, developmental biology, molecular genetics and biomedical instrumentation and diagnostics, with notable collaborations across the spectrum and with applied as well as basic sciences. Graduate education is heavily emphasized in these fields. Two general areas typify the collecting emphases of the primary libraries: organism level cell biology by Mann Library and molecular level mechanics by the Physical Sciences Library. The focus is primarily on research journals and book series in electronic format. Relevant bibliographic databases and specialized resources including protocols and data-rich resources are also collected.
- Modern Biochemistry is multidisciplinary and links many other biological disciplines.
- Overall, the collecting goals for Biochemistry are suitable for dissertation-level research and undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate education.
- Not geographically determined.
- English is the primary language of the collection. Materials in other languages are acquired as requested.
- Biochemistry as a discipline emphasizes scholarly communication through academic and specialized journals. Scholarly monographs, protocols, textbooks and specialized data-rich resources are also collected. Electronic format is the preferred format for all materials but print format is acquired when appropriate.
- Albert R. Mann Library
- Clark Physical Sciences Library
related library subject collection
- Biological and Environmental Engineering Collection
- Chemistry Collection
- Fiber Science and Apparel Design Collection
- Natural Resources Collection
- Neurobiology and Behavior Collection
- Nutritional Sciences Collection
- Physics Collection
- Animal Science (AN SC)
- Biochemistry (Weill)
- Biological and Environmental Engineering (BEE)
- Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CHEME)
- Chemistry and Chemical Biology (CHEM)
- Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB)
- Entomology (ENTOM)
- Food Science (FOOD)
- Horticulture (HORT)
- Microbiology (BIOMI)
- Microbiology and Immunology (VETMI)
- Molecular Medicine (VETMM)
- Neurobiology and Behavior (BIO NB)
- Pharmacology (Weill)
- Physics (PHYS)
- Plant Biology (BIOPL)
- Plant Breeding and Genetics (PB&G)
- Plant Pathology and Plant-Microbe Biology (PPPMB)
- Biochemistry and Structural Biology
- Biochemistry, Molecular and Cell Biology
- Computational Biology
- Genetics, Genomics and Development
- Molecular Biology
- Tri-Institutional Program in Computational Biology and Medicine (CBM)
- Tri-Institutional Training Program in Chemical Biology (TPCB)
cornell academic division
- Division of Nutritional Sciences (DNS)
- Biomedical Engineering (BME)
- Kennedy, Sarah - Collection Development & Digital Collections Librarian, Mann Library
- McEwen, Leah R. - Chemistry Librarian