Symbol Key
Free web sites available to all
Cornell Community - available to entire Cornell community
Law School Computers - available only using Law School workstations
Personal Account - law students and faculty access using personal accounts. Contact lawref@cornell.edu for more information.
Legislative History
- Century of Lawmaking for a New NationU.S. Congressional Documents and Debates (1774-1875). Presents digital images of the most complete collections of U.S. Congressional documents in their original format, including the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, as well as the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75. Keyword searchable.
- Congress and the Courts (HeinOnline)Collection featuring William H. Manz's Congress and the Courts: A Legislative History 1787-2010. Includes all relevant documents prepared by Congress relating to the purpose, formation, organization, and restructuring of the federal government; Federal Judicial Center Publications; and other related links and works.
- New York State Assembly Bill SearchThis information system contains general information about the current two-year legislative session, including detailed information on legislation, Assembly committee and floor calendars, the state constitution, and laws of New York State.
- ProQuest CongressionalContains materials pertaining to the U.S. Congress including the complete U.S. Congressional Serial Set, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee reports, documents, and the Congressional Record. Includes digital images of many bills and resolutions
- ProQuest Legislative InsightProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. Each history includes the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.
- State & Local Government on the NetComprehensive gateway to sites controlled by state and local governments organized by state; also provides a wide selection of links to the federal government, regional compacts, and professional organizations related to public administration. Includes search engine.
- U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (HeinOnline)Includes federal legislative histories published by both the U.S. Government Publishing Office and private publishers and a finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's "Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories."
