Free web sites available to all
Cornell Community - available to entire Cornell community
Law School Computers - available only using Law School workstations
Personal Account - law students and faculty access using personal accounts. Contact email@example.com for more information.
- Art Law and Cultural PropertyIncludes two sets of resources, International Cultural Property Ownership and Export Legislation and Case Law and Statutes. Published by IFAR, the International Foundation for Art Research.
- Asian Law OnlineBibliography of English language materials on law and society covering all of Asia both by region and country. Includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses. Subject browse allows search by country, broad categories with titles listed by date. Document delivery available.
- Australian Law Reform Commission Library (ALRC) (HeinOnline)"The Australian Law Reform Commission was established in 1973 for the purpose of promoting the review, modernization, and simplification of Australian law. The ALRC addresses the adoption of new or more effective methods for the administration of law and the dispensation of justice, while ensuring that its proposals do not violate personal rights or liberties. This HeinOnline collection contains commission reports and research papers on various subjects from the early days of the ALRC to current."
- Beck-OnlineBeck-Online is a German (language) full-text database, providing access to German legal resources. You can search legal magazines, commentaries, legal codes of each state and court rulings. Use of this resource requires individual registration and is limited to authorized users. The initial registration must be done on-campus within Cornell Law IP ranges. Go to Beck-Online.beck.de from an on-campus computer. You should see in the upper right the words “Cornell Law Library” and, just below them, a link that says Kostentlos Registrieren (“free registration”). Click that link to register.
- Canada Supreme Court Reports (HeinOnline)The official bilingual series published under authority of the Supreme Court Act. Coverage begins in 1876.
- Chile Declassification ProjectThe collection includes several thousands of government reports, memos, and correspondence detailing the relationship between US Government and Chilean dictator Augusto Pinochet who ruled Chile from 1973-1990. The online Research Guide to the CDP contains a brief history of the Pinochet reign in Chile, an archival list of the library's holdings, and annotations to related print and online research sources.
- China Law & PracticeBilingual business law journal focusing exclusively on China. Full translations to articles provided. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you are a Cornell student, faculty, or staff member and would like a registration link to create your own username and password to receive topical email alerts.
- Cornell’s Foreign and International Law GuideA selective guide to Web sites providing links to texts of laws and court decisions, research guides and commentary on laws, international documents, directories, trade information, and statistics, maintained by librarians at Cornell Law Library.
- Dalloz.frDalloz is a French publisher that specializes in legal matters and is France's main legal publisher. Dalloz.fr curates secondary and primary authority for convenient French legal research.
- Donovan Nuremberg Trials CollectionThe Donovan Nuremberg Trials collection consists of nearly 150 bound volumes of Nuremberg trial transcripts and documents from the personal archives of General William J. Donovan (1883-1959).
- English Reports (HeinOnline)Page images of the original bound reprint edition, including more than 100,000 cases, the indexes, and Book of Charts. Collection also includes Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713).
- English Reports (Justis)The English Reports database comprises over 100,000 of the most important cases reported between 1220 and 1873. Each report in the English Reports has 2 citations, one to the original publication (the nominate citation) and one to the reprint (the ER citation). The English Reports is the authoritative source for published reports of cases that constitute binding precedents in English law.
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database (HeinOnline)Includes international yearbooks and periodicals, law digests, international tribunals and judicial decisions (primarily from the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice), as well as other significant works related to foreign and international law.
- Foreign Law Guide (Reynolds & Flores)The Reynolds and Flores Foreign Law Guide is perhaps the most well-known and respected research aid for foreign law. For every country in the world, it provides a brief political history, a description of the legislative and judicial system, identifies all primary and some secondary sources of law by title, and provides subject access into each country's statutory code. Links to official websites are given where available. Keyword searching is available.
- ICLRICLR (Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales) provides authoritative case law for England and Wales from 1865 to the present. Includes The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports, Business Law Reports, Industrial Cases Reports, and Public & Third Sector Law Reports.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline)(1985 – Present) Database contains citations to articles in over 450 legal journals, as well as essay collections, festschriften, and US Congressional reports. Coverage includes comparative, municipal, and public and private international law of countries other than the US, the UK and the British Commonwealth.
- International Encyclopaedia for Labour Law and Industrial RelationsOnline version of the 36-volume looseleaf: International Encyclopaedia of Industrial Labour Law and Industrial Relations. It features country overviews of over 60 countries, English translations of the important labour and industrial relations laws of over 20 nations, and coverage of individual as well as collective labour relations.
- Israel Law Reports (HeinOnline)Funding for this resource is generously provided by Arthur Rosenbloom. Israel Law Reports provides English translations of select cases from the Supreme Court of Israel. Database includes access to Israel Law Review.
- Juris Arbitration LawArbitration related journals, treatises, practice manuals, monographs, awards, and court decisions. Includes the World Arbitration Reporter. Also known as Arbitrationlaw.com.
- KluwerArbitration.comPrimary and secondary materials related to the field of Arbitration. Includes books, arbitration awards, and court decisions. .
- Law in Eastern Europe (Book Series) (HeinOnline)Collection of books published by Brill that showcases the development, enactment, and impact of the rule of law in Eastern Europe. (Per the agreement with the publisher, there is a 2 volume delay.)
- LawAfricaElectronic access to LawAfrica Law Reports, East Africa Law Reports, East Africa Court of Appeal Reports, East Africa Protectorate Law Reports, Uganda Law Reports, Tanzania Law Reports, East Africa General Reports, and Uganda Law Society Reports. Accounts are available for members of the Cornell community. For access contact email@example.com.
- LLMC DigitalLLMC provides access to digital images from over 7,500 titles of historic legal literature and government documents. Keyword searchable.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926Brings together foreign, comparative, and international titles from 1600 to 1926 in a single resource. The Foreign Law component features foreign legal treatises of a variety of countries. Because the term "treatise" is more of a common-law category, the equivalent works in civil-law systems may have other names such as commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970Includes historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe.
- ManupatraLaws of India. Includes: case law, statutes, regulatory sources, proprietary commentaries, treatises, digests, and editorial enhancements. Also includes selected primary sources for the International Court of Justice, Bangladesh, Canada, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.
- Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index (HeinOnline)A finding aid to sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. These print and electronic sources contain full-text legislation, statutory citation, or other references to primary law. The titles included in this resource have been released from 2011 on by multiple publishers and are categorized using 280 primary subject headings.
- Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law Publications (HeinOnline)Collection of full-text searchable images of notable foreign and comparative law titles. Includes Szladits' Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law: Books and Articles in English.
- Philippine Law Collection (HeinOnline)Includes the Philippine Law Journal, Philippine Treaty Series, and Philippine Permanent and General Statutes. Also includes titles on subjects such as Civil Rights, Criminal Law and Procedure, Economic Reform, Foreign Policy, Insurance, Military Law, Trade Regulations, and more.
- PKULaw (Chinese)PKULaw (formerly ChinaLawInfo) is a comprehensive and authoritative database of Chinese legal information, which contains all the laws, regulations, and cases in Chinese since 1949. It also includes all issues of 35 domestic law journals, with over 100,000 full-text articles in Chinese.
- PKULaw (English)PKULaw (formerly LawInfoChina) provides English-language versions of Chinese Laws & Regulations and Cases, as well as Legal News and Legal information databases in full text. The Gazettes and Law Journals databases provide the complete table of contents of the official gazettes of various government entities as well as a variety of Chinese legal journals.
- Policies and Laws of China (PLOC)Comprehensive, full-text Chinese-language database of Chinese laws, policies and regulations of both the national and regional levels from 1949 onward.
- Provincial Statutes of Canada (HeinOnline)Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is available for: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Northwest Territories, Ontario, and Yukon Territory. Historical and revised content only is available for: Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
- Revised Statutes of Canada (HeinOnline)Canada's federal statutes. Includes 1886, 1906, 1927, 1952, 1970, and 1985 (most recent) editions.
- SCC OnlineIncludes cases, statutes, and regulations of India, and cases from Bangladesh, Canada, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tanzania, Nigeria, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Mauritius, Seychelles, Swaziland, Zambia, and Kenya. First-time users should enter a Cornell email address as the login id to register.
- Scottish Legal History (HeinOnline)Features the Stair Society main (annual) series consisting of all volumes from 1936-present, volumes 1-3 of the Stair Society supplementary series, as well as books, abridgments, and links to scholarly articles from HeinOnline's Law Journal Library that discuss Scottish law. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for a username and password to access the current last 3 year's of Stair Society publications.
- Session Laws Library (HeinOnline)This HeinOnline collection contains images of the official bound session laws of all 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands, from inception to date. The session laws for all states are current within 60 days of printed publication. Also includes Acts of the Parliaments of Australia (1901-2011) and of Canada (1792-2011) and the Official Gazette of the Bahamas (1968-1996).
- vLexJustisvLexJustis is a legal reference search engine, providing a fully cross-referenced index to a comprehensive collection of authoritative UK and European legal information resources, covering over 130 jurisdictions, allowing you to query this wealth of information simultaneously via a single, easy-to-use interface. Formerly JustisOne.
- World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline)World Constitutions Illustrated from HeinOnline contains every country's constitution in its original language (many English translations are also available), books about the development of constitutional law, and links to scholarly articles and Internet resources on foreign constitutional law.