*Law Databases: Legal History

HeinOnline collection publications of the American Law Institute, including the Restatements and the Model Penal Code.

Includes brief biographical information for all senate and house members from 1774 to the present. Photos included where available. Database searchable by name, position, and state.

U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates (1774-1875). Presents digital images of the most complete collections of U.S. Congressional documents in their original format, including the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, as well as the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75. Keyword searchable.

Contemporary popular accounts of trials from the 1600s to the 1800s. The trials involved prominent citizens or dealt with especially controversial or lurid topics. They were sold to an eager public as both a form of entertainment and as cautionary tales. Some include the details and illustrations of scandalous crimes and others include “execution sermons,” which were meant to serve as moral examples to the readers.

History database containing tens of thousands of U.K. government documents relating to Britain’s international relations, including foreign policy instructions, letters and memos, business reports, and more. These primary source materials have been selected by the official historians of Britain’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and, in many cases, have been declassified at their request for inclusion in this series.

The English Reports database comprises over 100,000 of the most important cases reported between 1220 and 1873. Each report in the English Reports has 2 citations, one to the original publication (the nominate citation) and one to the reprint (the ER citation). The English Reports is the authoritative source for published reports of cases that constitute binding precedents in English law.

HeinOnline’s English Reports database delivers exact page images of the original bound reprint edition of The English Reports, a collection of judgments of the higher English Courts between 1220 and 1866. The full reprint edition contains more than 120,000 cases along with a two-volume index of cases and citations as they appear in the original reports. Also included in the database are the Statutes of the Realm (the authoritative collection of Acts of the Parliament of England from 1235-1713), pre-1865 law reports for England and Wales, and a unique Case Locator tool for quick and easy navigation.

Legislative histories, treatises, and other documents relating to bankruptcy in America.

More than 725 titles on International Law subjects such as International Arbitration, War & Peace, Law of the Sea, and Hague Conference & Conventions. Also includes a bibliography of other works and links to scholarly articles. Coverage begins in 1690.

More than 2,500 classics of legal literature. Also includes rare items found in only a few libraries.

LLMC provides access to digital images from over 7,500 titles of historic legal literature and government documents. Keyword searchable.

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), the collection focuses on civil rights, race, gender, worker’s rights, popular protest, the role of government and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Brings together foreign, comparative, and international titles from 1600 to 1926 in a single resource. The Foreign Law component features foreign legal treatises of a variety of countries. Because the term "treatise" is more of a common-law category, the equivalent works in civil-law systems may have other names such as commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften.

Includes historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe.

The Making of Modern Law features a fully searchable database of more than 21,000 Anglo-American legal works including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.

Includes early U.S. state codes, municipal codes, constitutional conventions and compilations, legal dictionaries, and other documents from the United States and published records of the thirteen British colonies. Fully searchable digital images of original published works.

Full-text collection of Anglo-American trials. Includes both published trial transcripts and popular printed accounts of sensational trials, in digitized images of the original publications.

An online reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century providing PDF images from 19th century sources. Specific sources of note for the legal researcher include Index to Legal Periodical Literature (1786-1922) and numerous patent and government document indices from the US and England. Also available: newspaper indices and limited periodical indices with full text links. Keyword searchable.

This HeinOnline collection contains images of the official bound session laws of all 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands, from inception to date. The session laws for all states are current within 60 days of printed publication. Also includes Acts of the Parliaments of Australia (1901-2011) and of Canada (1792-2011) and the Official Gazette of the Bahamas (1968-1996).

Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. It provides a platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.