Middle East & Islamic Studies: a Research Guide: Dissertations & Theses

Other aggregations of open access dissertations:

• EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service
• DART-Europe E-theses Portal
• List of sources of the scientific search engine BASE
• List of Institutional Repositories
• UNESCO Clearinghouse of Electronic Theses and Dissertations "A database of institutions (universities, libraries, computing centers, publishing houses, etc. with ETD [electronic theses and dissertations] projects), experts in the field of ETD, and technical and educational materials availabe on the Web to support and disseminate ETD." http://www.eduserver.de/unesco/
• UNESCO Guide for Electronic Theses and Dissertations For institutions interested in producing e-theses. "a resource for graduate students who are writing theses or dissertations, for graduate faculty who want to mentor ETD authors, for graduate deans who want to initiate ETD programs, and for IT administrators at universities." http://etdguide.org/
• Center for Research Libraries. Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database CRL, in Chicago, has more than 750,000 foreign doctoral dissertations (from the U.K., France, Sweden, Germany, Netherlands, South Africa, etc.). Members may borrow dissertations. Description of program Use the Keyword (or Author, Institution, Title, etc.) search. http://www-apps.crl.edu/catalog/dissertationSearch.asp
• Database of African Theses and Dissertations "The DATAD database contains citations and abstracts for theses and dissertations completed in African universities. The launching database includes works from all subject areas in ten leading universities and include abstracts written by the authors." Register to see selected brief citations. Full access requires a subscription. Participating universities are from Cameroun, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda, Zimbabwe. On the web site of the Association of African Universities based in Accra, Ghana. http://www.aau.org/?q=datad
• Memoire Online. In French. Full text of Memoires completed at African and French universities. Some examples follow. Based in Paris, France. http://www.memoireonline.com/
• Fichier Central des Thèses Database of doctoral theses in progress in French universities and higher educational establishments. "More than 80 institutions are partners of the Fichier central des theses which records approximately 9000 annually subjects of doctoral theses. The database is continually being updated. The Fichier central des thèses is of vital importance to postgraduate students both in choosing their research topic and in discovering work being done on related topics." Disciplines covered: Humanities and Arts, Languages and Cultural Studies, Anthropology, History, Geography, Linguistics, Psychology, Cognitive Science, Education, Sociology, Theology and Religious Studies, Law, Political Studies, Politics and International Relations, Business and Economics." Maintained by Université Paris X Nanterre, France. http://fct.u-paris10.fr/
• Dissertation Reviews Founded in 2010, Dissertation Reviews is a site that features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Offers readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication. Each review provides a summary of the author’s main arguments, the historiographic genealogy in which the author operates, and the main source bases for his or her research. The reviews are also anticipatory, making educated assessments of how the research will advance or challenge our understanding of major issues in the field when it is revised and published in the future. Dissertation Reviews also features reviews of and guides to archives, libraries, databases, and other collections where such dissertation research was conducted, to help scholars improve their ability to undertake current and future research.