Skip to main content

Middle East & Islamic Studies Databases for Research: Home

Listing major online databases, full-text or indexes to full-text sources, for the study of the Middle East and Islam.

Databases and Websites (Middle East & Islam)


@Cornell access Middle East and Africa Databses

KA Arabic e-library [Minneapolis, Minn.] : East View Publications.@Cornell access A collection of electronic books in Arabic. The collection ranges from contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises, with over 4,000 titles written by Arab authors of all genres. [Kotob Arabia Arabic e-library; Kotobarabia Arabic e-library ; Arabic e-library ; Kutubarabia Arabic e-library ; Also known as: KAEL]

Qatar Digital Library: A partnerships between the Qatar Foundation, the Qatar National Library and The British Library. A wide range of content, including archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, and photographs. Items are accompanied with notes and links, in both English and Arabic.

Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR): A guide for open-access journal and digitized collection put together by librarians Charles Jones and Peter Magierski. Users can sign up for updates.

A Chronology of 19th Century Periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900): Includes indexes for persons, organizations, locations, and holding institutions. The Zentrum Moderner Orient (ZMO), a German research institute devoted to an interdisciplinary and comparative study of the Middle East, Africa, Central Asia, South and Southeast Asia from a historical perspective.

Ensani : Portal jami' ulum insani پرتال جامع علوم انسانی
This portal [in Persian only]  offers free search and access to journal articles in social sciences and humanities fields (literature, economics, history, education, geography, law, psychology, linguistics, social sciences, Islamic science, political science, library science, philosophy and logic, management, women studies, art studies). Most articles are available as full-text and can be freely downloaded.

Islam and Islamic Studies Resources: A Guide for primary sources (sacred texts, official documents), scholarly materials, tools for students learning Arabic, information about Islamic communities and current issues. Prof. Alan Godlas (Department of Religion, University of Georgia).

Transcultural Islam Research Network: Aims to deepen understanding of Islamic cultures and issues. A project of the Duke Islamic Studies Center, in partnership with the Carolina Center for the Study of the Middle East and Muslim Civilizations and the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies. Includes a lot of informative resources, including new publications, research groups, and web resources.

Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926: This collection includes pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs, sourced from the collections of the Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia law libraries, in the following areas: International Law; Comparative Law; Foreign Law; Roman Law; Islamic Law; Jewish Law; and Ancient Law.

Muslim, Christian, and Jewish Relations in the Middle East: "This forum aims to promote the humanistic study of urban religious cultures in the Middle East and North Africa during the Islamic era, i.e., in the period following the rise of Islam in the seventh century. It seeks to draw the attention of researchers to useful resources, and particularly to printed books, manuscripts, and images in the library collections of the University of Pennsylvania."


Database of Arabic Literature in Western Research: Scholarly books and articles about Arabic literature in western languages (18th century-present). Oxford Literary Publication and Documentation

The Golha Project: A searchable encyclopedia of Persian poetry and music with audio recordings of all of the Golha radio programs (1956-1979), as well as biographies of hundreds of poets and performers. It comprises a database of more than 1000 hours of audio material, searchable by 18 different search criteria such as musical modes, instruments, poetic verse, poetic genre, singer, and songwriter names. Iran Heritage Foundation (IHF).

Art and Architechture

Archnet: Islamic Architecture Community of scholars, students, and professionals working in architecture, planning, landscape design, and the related fields. The project was developed at the University of Texas at Austin and the MIT School of Architecture and Planning in co-operation with the Aga Khan Trust for Culture.

ARTstor Digital Library: Islamic Art and Architecture Collection (Sheila Blair, Jonathan Bloom, Walter Denny); Shangri La, Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art.

Quran Studies

The Quranic Arabic Corpus is an annotated linguistic resource for the Quran, including the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology. Also includes the full text of the Quran, translation into English, and audio recitations (require iTunes). A free resource under the GNU public license; maintained by the School of Computing, University of Leeds.

BiblioIslam  : provides access to more than 250,000 academic theses, books, journal articles, research essays and conference papers - in English and Arabic.

Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding (Georgetown University): "'Of special interest is the Islamic resources link, which pulls together Web sites of major Muslim publications, organizations, and academic programs around the world." (CHOICE Review Online) This website is maanged by Human Assistance and Development International (HADI), a non-profit organization "working for the socoi-economic, seducationalm, and scientific development of people worldwide".

R-Shief: "R-Shief is the online resource of resources by researchers on the Middle East that aggregates and digitizes research materials. We are a community of inter- and post-disciplinary researchers who are interested in sharing the methods and resources of our practices. Our primary method of sorting data is through language (currently, Arabic and English) because it can offer culturally specific indicators of the Middle East beyond its current geopolitical place in the world." R-Shief has been data mining Twitter since 09/10.

Digitized Collecitons


An Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library

The Arabic Papyrology Database: Features primary documents reflecting everyday life, legal and administrative practice in the first centuries of Islam.

Cultural Imaginings: the Creation of the Arab World in the Western Mind: A collaboration between The George Washington University's Gelman Library and Georgetown University's Lauinger Library to digitize about  2,500 monographs and a number of bound manuscripts from the Middle East and North Africa.

Islamic Medical and Scientific (IMSE) Database: Georgetown University's Bioethics Library.

The MANUMED Project: Aims to preserve the written and immaterial heritage of the euro-mediterranean area. Partner libraries in the near east: Khalidi Library, Budeiri Library, Al Aqsa Library, Al Ansari Library, The Waqf Restoration Center.

Middle Eastern and Islamic Resources a the Center for Research Libraries (Arabic manuscripts in the British Library; Arabic manuscripts in the library of SOAS, University of London): ASU Libraries is affiliated member, therefore all CRL materials are available for inter-library loan.

Rare Books and Special Collections Digital Library, the American University in Cairo: Several digital collections, including journal articles, book chapters, and images.

Sustainable Development of Drylands in Asia & the Middle East Project: The International Arid Lands Consortium offers information about drylands in Asia and the Middle East by country.

By Area/ Country

  1. Egypt's 21st Century Revolution: Oral Histories, Photographs, Video Recordings, and Visual Art.
  2. The Ramses Wissa Wassef Architectural Drawings
  3. The Underwood & Underwood Egypt Stereoviews

Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP) Digital Archives (2006+): A searchable online database that contains more than 600,000 news clippings and documents on the issues of human rights and democratic development in Pakistan.

Virtual Museum of Censorship: An online database of censorship cases in Lebanon since the 1940s. MARCH, is a civil movement actively seeking to  safekeep the tenets of a peaceful and prosperous Lebanon.

Palestine Poster Project Archives: Created by Dan Walsh as part of his masters' thesis project at Georgetown University.

General Directories & Guides

Databases at Cornell  Identify relevant scholarly databases available via Cornell University Libraries.

General Directories (for Research)

International directory of Middle East scholars (1995-) , (also known as: IDMES)
Searchable, detailed information about Middle East Studies scholars throughout the world.
New York: Columbia University

Middle Eastern Studies Research Databases | EBSCO

Electronic Resources for Middle East & Islamic Studies | Columbia

International research centers directory International research centers directory (Online) Farmington Hills, MI : Gale/Cengage. English. International Research Centers Directory (IRCD) is the most current, comprehensive resource on government, university, and independent nonprofit research organizations in over 150 countries. Research has been broadly defined to include fundamental, applied, and developmental studies, as well as data gathering, analysis, and synthesis activities, outside the United States.

Guide to Finding Interesting Public Domain works Online: The Public Domain Review guide.

General Databases with International Content (Multidisciplinary)

Index Islamicus  This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Coverage: 1906 - current. [How to use the database].

  Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. [How to use the database].

Connect to Factiva

An electronic news article service. It contains newspaper articles, newswire reports and magazine features from a variety of international sources. It has a limit of three simultaneous users. [How to use the database].

ProQuest Research Library It contains bibliographic descriptions, abstracts, and lots of full-text articles covering over 150 subjects and topics such as business, economics, education, health, industrial relations, management, public policy, religion and statistics.  ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines. [How to use the database].

Image result for [How to use the database JSTOR  It is a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of  content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. Note: JSTOR has a moving wall that excludes the last 3 to 5 years of journal issues.  The agreements with publishers establish a lag period for each title that defines the point at which the JSTOR archive stops. [How to use the database].

World newspaper archive A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries, one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories. This collection is comprised of: America's Historical Newspapers - searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. African Newspapers - more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers - featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. South Asian Newspapers - searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Latin American Newspapers - more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online Searchable database of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Database allows users to to locate the full text of documents and filter their search results by document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, and date declassified as well as other document characteristics.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a United States government operation which translates the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. This edition of the FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987.

Historical abstracts (Online) Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts currently covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide in over forty languages. The database comprises over 720,000 entries from periodicals, with full-text links to over 135,000 articles and dissertations and masters' theses. Each year, the editors of Historical Abstracts add over 16,000 abstracts and citations, over 3,000 book citations, and over 1,200 citations of dissertations and masters' theses to the database from the current literature and publications. Additional bibliographical entries are also added to the database by editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journal issues published prior to 1954.

International political science abstracts (Online)  Current indexing and abstracting of the world's leading journals in political science

Worldwide political science abstracts Provides citations to the international periodical literature in political science and its complementary fields. The references cited in the bibliography of the source article have been included for citations to core journals in political science, added to the database since 2001, and for all journals added since 2004. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these references are linked both within Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and across other social science databases available on the ProQuest platform.