Histories & Chronologies
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides full text online access to the complete 300-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- Historical tables, 58 BC-AD 1990 byCall Number: Most recent verion in Library Annex D11 .S83x 1991; earlier editions in stacks and reference"Chronology of world history, arranged in six parallel columns by period, beginning with 58 BCE, when Caesar subdued Gaul, and covering through the 1990s. Up to World War I, political history is subdivided by geographic areas, with additional headings for constitutional and economic history, ecclesiastical history, and cultural life (these vary slightly according to period). After 1914, the columns are divided only by geographic area. Index of countries; personal names; events." (Guide to Reference)
- Chronology of World History: a calendar of principal events from 3000 B.C. to A.D. 1973 byCall Number: Olin Reference D11 .F85
ROMANCE AND REASON: Islamic Transformations of the Classical Past The story of antiquity reads as an endless cycle of expansion, conflict, and conquest. Yet despite the divisions that existed among peoples and nations, the exchange and appropriation of ideas, images, and heroic figures across cultures knew no boundaries, with the Classical World retaining a particular appeal across countries and beliefs.
Historical Dictionaries
Historical Dictionaries
The volumes in this series by Scarecrow Press provides a brief overview of the history and development of countries, regions, organizations, movements, and religions. Search the library catalog by title for "Historical dictionary of" (e.g. Historical Dictionary of Egypt) to find volumes available at Cornell.
- Historical Dictionary of Afghan wars, revolutions, and insurgencies
- Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan
- Historical Dictionary of Algeria
- Historical Dictionary of Arab and Islamic Organizations
- Historical Dictionary of Egypt
- Historical Dictionary of Iran
- Historical Dictionary of Iraq
- Historical Dictionary of Islam
- Historical Dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey
- Historical Dictionary of Israel
- Historical Dictionary of Israeli Intelligence
- Historical dictionary of Judaism
- Historical Dictionary of Lebanon
- Historical Dictionary of Libya
- Historical Dictionary of Morocco
- Historical Dictionary of Palestine
- Historical Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism
- Historical Dictionary of Saudi Arabia
- Historical Dictionary of Sufism
- Historical Dictionary of Syria
- Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict
- Historical Dictionary of the Bahá’í Faith
- Historical Dictionary of the Coptic Church
- Historical Dictionary of the Crusades
- Historical Dictionary of the Druzes
- Historical Dictionary of the Gulf Arab States
- Historical Dictionary of the Kurds
- Historical Dictionary of the non-aligned movement and Third World
- Historical Dictionary of the Ottoman Empire
- Historical Dictionary of the Persian Gulf War, 1990-1991
- Historical Dictionary of the Sudan
- Historical Dictionary of Tunisia
- Historical Dictionary of Turkey
- Historical Dictionary of United States-Middle East relations
- Historical Dictionary of Yemen
- Historical Dictionary of Zionism
Handbooks
- A Middle East Studies Handbook byCall Number: Olin Reference DS61 .B11 1984 +This handbook includes lists of dynasties, rulers and administrators; a detailed chronology; historical atlases; Islamic calendar and conversion table; and explanation of transliteration systems and Islamic names.
- Handbook of Political Science Research on the Middle East and North Africa byCall Number: Olin Library JQ1758 .A58x 1998"Surveys the literature on political themes in the Middle East and North Africa, covering post–World War II research on traditional political themes, political economy, and contemporary history. Organized by studies of individual countries, each of which follows a common framework and includes references. Appendix describes reference works for Middle East politics, economics, and society and lists of major research centers and institutes in the Middle East. Subject index, name index." (Guide to Reference)
Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalist Movements in the Arab World, Iran and Turkey by ISBN: 0810836092Publication Date: 1999-09-08This reference work provides a needed ready reference to the essential information on and analytical discussion of basic ideas, notions, concepts, doctrines, ideologies, leaders, intellectuals, thinkers, ideologues, groups, and movements of Islamic fundamentalism or Islamism in the Arab world, Iran and Turkey. In one volume, Moussalli provides information about not only the origins and actions of Islamic fundamentalists, but the ideas and principles on which they are based. An invaluable source for both the broad pictures of Islamic fundamentalism and the specific details.
Middle East Studies after September 11 by
Middle East Studies after September 11: Neo-Orientalism, American Hegemony and Academia will show the long-term implications of current approaches to Middle East scholarship on the internal transformation of Middle Eastern societies. It describes the complex relationship between American academia and state government: a relationship which has influenced and restructured the state, society and politics in the Middle East as well as in the United States. It engages the disciplines of Sociology, Political Science, Anthropology, History and International Studies, while maintaining the epistemological, methodological, and ontological insights of a sociological approach to the Middle East. Contributors are: Beyazit H. Akman, Mahmoud Arghavan, Dunya D. Cakir, Emanuela C. Del Re, Babak Elahi, Manuela E. B. Giolfo, Shah Mahmoud Hanifi, Merve Kavakci, Tugrul Keskin, Seyed Mohammd Marandi, Ameena Al-Rasheed Nayel, Staci Gem Scheiwiller, Francesco L. Sinatora, Zeinab Ghasemi Tari
ISBN: 9004281533Publication Date: 2018-05-24
