Merhaba! Hello مرحبا
This guide is intended to provide a few starting points to assist you with your research on Turkey and the Ottoman Empire. It contains English as well as Turkish and where available, Ottoman Turkish language material on issues related to the history, cultures, languages, and arts of the Ottoman Empire and the Turkish Republic.
In this guide, researchers of Ottoman literature and history, of Turkish popular culture, of Islam in Turkey, or of the growth of secularism and the republic, as well as those interested in the contemporary Turkish scene, have at their disposal a signpost to a variety of resources and information.
©2012 Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University
Featured items from our collection
A 1929 Cornell thesis, written by Sahire Mouhtar, the first Turkish woman to earn a non-medical PhD.
Mouhtar, Sahire Fatma, 1903- Means of travel and transportation in the Ottoman empire. Published: [Ithaca, N.Y.] 1929. Description: 223 l.: 28 cm.
CORNELL MAGAZINE: “'29 PhD-Sahire F. Mouhtar of Istanbul, Turkey, exact date unknown; director of school in Istanbul; first woman in Turkey to earn a PhD. '29.”
Law and Legality in the Ottoman Empire and Republic of Turkey by
The editors of this volume have gathered leading scholars on the Ottoman Empire and the Republic of Turkey to chronologically examine the sweep and variety of sociolegal projects being carried in the region. These efforts intersect issues of property, gender, legal literacy, the demarcation of village boundaries, the codification of Islamic law, economic liberalism, crime and punishment, and refugee rights across the empire and the Aegean region of the Turkish Republic.
Call Number: law KKX120 .L39 2016ISBN: 9780253020925Publication Date: 2016-01-07
The Genesis of the Turks : An Ethno-Linguistic Inquiry into the Prehistory of Central Eurasia by
This book suggests a new theory on the origins and Urheimat of the Turks within the context of Central Eurasia and, more properly, the South Urals, by exploring the relations of the Turkic language with the Altaic, Uralic and Indo-European languages and by referring to historical, genetic and archaeological sources.
The book shows that the elements that started the making of the Turkic ethno-linguistic entity were also shared by the regions where the later Hungarians would emerge, and that the consolidation of their identity seems to be related to the emergence and rise of the Sintashta culture. It argues that the fertile lands and suitable climatic conditions, together with the coming of agriculture likely at the end of the 3rd millennium BC, allowed them to increase their population.
ISBN: 9781527578210Publication Date: 2022-03-01 Cambridge Scholars Publisher
The Routledge Handbook on Turkish Politics by
The Routledge Handbook of Turkish Politicspulls together contributions from many of the world's leading scholars on different aspects of Turkey. Its scope is widely comprehensive, covering all aspects of both formal and informal politics, highlighting how it is necessary to grasp the interlinkages between the different themes in order to fully understand Turkey today. Turkey is going through possibly the most turbulent period in its history, with major consequences both nationally and internationally. The country today looks dramatically different from the Republic founded by Atatürk in 1923. The pace of change has been rapid and fundamental, with core interlinked changes in ruling institutions, political culture, political economy, and society. Divided into six main parts, this Handbook provides a single-source overview of Turkish politics: Part I: History and the making of Contemporary Turkey Part II: Politics and Institutions Part III: The Economy, Environment and Development Part IV: The Kurdish Insurgency and Security Part V: State, Society and Rights Part VI: External Relations This comprehensive Handbookis an essential resource for students of Politics, International Relations, International/Security Studies with an interest on contemporary Turkey.
ISBN: 9781138500556Publication Date: 2019-04-07
Background
Devlet-i ʿAliyye-yi ʿOsmâniyye
The rise of a new empire can often be a result of the vacuum of power that a previous empire leaves behind. The Turks, or the future Ottomans, had become the dominant power in the Middle East and South Eastern Europe in part because of their extraordinary political and military organization, but mainly because of the exhaustion of the old neighboring empires, Christian Byzantium and Muslim Abbasid Caliphate.
Turks, or Turkic peoples, are the principal descendants of large groups of nomads who roamed on the steppes of Central Asia to Asia Minor during the early centuries of the Christian era. By the eleventh century, the nomadic soldiers living in Iran and western Anatolia gradually formed a confederation in the region of modern Iran, called the Seljuk confederation. They managed to expand their dominions from a small principality in northwestern Anatolia on the borders of the Byzantine Empire into one of the great empires of fifteenth- and sixteenth-century Europe and Asia. From 1299 to 1923 the Ottoman Empire extended from northern Hungary to southern Arabia and from the Crimea across North Africa almost to the Atlantic Ocean. The reign of Suleiman I (The Magnificent) in the 16th century witnessed an outpouring of the literary arts and architecture, which in turn influenced European culture. The following centuries saw the gradual decline of the Turkish state as wars successively reduced the empire. The downfall of the Ottoman Empire and the establishment of the modern secular Republic of Turkey in 1923 changed the nature of the state, its society, its culture, and its literature in fundamental ways. From the rise of the Ottoman Turks in the thirteenth century through the declaration of the Republic in the 20th Century, fascination with Turkey grew and with it, a desire for information about it.
Türkiye Cumhuriyeti
Conversion of Maliyya, Islamic and Christian dates
Conversion of Maliyya, Islamic and Christian dates. The Maliyya (or Maliyye, Maliye) calendar became the official calendar in the Ottoman Empire by order of Selim III in 1789 A.D., but it was already in use since 1677 A. D. It is based on the Julian calendar concerning the lengths of the months and the leap years. The beginning of the year was the 1st of Adar (corresponding to 1st of March in the Julian calendar). At the beginning of each year the number of the year was chosen to be identical to the year of the traditional Hijri calendar at this day. Therefore after approximately 32 years a jump in the number of the year occurred (e. g. after 1220 followed 1222 and after 1254 followed 1256). This rule was broken in 1888 A.D. when it was decided to continue the sequence of years without a gap. Therefore in the following period until the abrogation of the Maliyya calendar in 1928 there is a difference in the number of the years in the Maliyya and the Islamic calendar of up to three. In addition to the Gregorian calendar, the Julian calendar is provided for didactic reasons, or eventually for the conversion of historical Julian dates (e.g. form Protestant countries of from Russia).
Spotlight
Mihrî Hatun : performance, gender-bending, and subversion in Ottoman intellectual history by Call Number: olin PL248.M48 Z69 2017ISBN: 9780815635499Publication Date: 2017-11-15The early modern Ottoman poet Mihr#65533; Hatun (1460-1515) succeeded in drawing an admiring audience and considerable renown during a time when few women were accepted into the male-dominated intellectual circles. Her poetry collection is among the earliest bodies of women's writing in the Middle East and Islamicate literature, providing an exceptional vantage point on intellectual history. With this volume, Havlioglu not only gives readers access to this rare text but also investigates the factors that allowed Mihri to survive and thrive despite her clear departure from the cultural norms of the time. Placing the poet in the context of her era and environment, Havlioglu finds that the poet's dramatic, masterful performance and subversiveness are the very reasons for her endurance and acclaim in intellectual history. Mihri Hatun performed in a way that embraced her marginal position as a woman and leveraged it to her advantage. Havlioglu's astute and nuanced portrait gives readers a fascinating glimpse into the life of a woman poet in a highly gendered society and suggests that women have been part of intellectual history long before the modern period.
The Emergence of Modern Turkey by Call Number: olin DR583 .L48 2002ISBN: 0195134605Publication Date: 2001-09-06Written by renowned scholar Bernard Lewis, The Emergence of Modern Turkey has established itself as the preferred one-volume history of modern Turkey. It covers the emergence of Turkey over two centuries, from the decline and collapse of the Ottoman Empire up to the present day. In a newchapter, Lewis discusses the origins of his book in the Cold War era and the events that have taken place since its first publication in 1961. This new edition addresses Turkey's emergence as a decidedly Western-oriented power despite internal opposition from neutralists and Islamic fundamentalists.It examines such issues as Turkey's inclusion in NATO and application to the European Union, and its involvement with the politics of the Middle East. Authoritative and insightful, The Emergence of Modern Turkey remains the classic text on the history of modern Turkey.
Featured. Noteworthy
213 Ottoman Turkish books on the Internet Archive platform. This collection includes not only classical literature but also works of popular fiction, on religion and law, translations of foreign works, and dictionaries. [Duke University Libraries, Ottoman-Turkish Literature collection].
Muteferriqa Servet-i Fünûn Collection
Muteferriqa is a modern full-text search engine for Ottoman Turkish. It features high-quality Ottoman Turkish Periodicals content and minimizes research time shuffling through pages. When complete, Servet-i Fünûn Collection will include over 1100 issues of the periodical, spanning the years 1891-1926 covering TUFS Hakkı Tarık Us Digital Collection's said title.
*
Abdul-Hamid II Collection of Books and Serials Gifted to the Library of Congress
In 1884 Sultan Abdul-Hamid II gifted the Library of Congress with a collection of Ottoman Turkish, Persian, Arabic works that he had richly embossed with this inscription in English, French and Ottoman: "Gift made by H.I. M. the Sultan Abdul-Hamid II to the national library of the United States of America through the Honorable A.S. Hewitt Member of the House of Representatives A.H. 1302-1884 A.D."
Abdul-Hamid II collection of photographs of the Ottoman Empire U.S. [Library of Congress]
Images of the Ottoman Empire: the photograph albums presented by Sultan Abdulhamid II [the British Library, U.K.]
Osmanlı Arşiv Video HD - Ottoman Empire Rare Archive Footage
Ottoman-Era Photographs Take on New Meaning in Their Digital Life: Thousands of images from the Pierre de Gigord Collection are now accessible online [The Getty Research Institute]
Digital Sources for the Study of the Ottoman Empire and Turkey
[Click here to download the overview of Digital Sources for the Study of the Ottoman Empire and Turkey.]
Atatürk's Speech that Recreated a Nation | Bir Milleti Baştan Yaratan Nutuk (10. Yıl Nutku) Background Music: Samuel Barber - Adagio for Strings ENG: In the speech he gave on 29 October 1933, the tenth anniversary of the Republic of Turkey (The Tenth Year Speech), Kemal Atatürk emphasised that thenceforth Turkish national culture would be developed, positive sciences and fine arts would be studied and worked on
Middle East Curator
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY, 14853
USA
ah16@cornell.edu