Interactive
This Who's who in Turkish Culture and Art is a database provided by the Turkish Cultural Foundation. "Artists and experts are included in this database based on a variety of criteria and are gathered from different sources through a TCF managed search process. The final selection is made by the selection committee. This online resource is constantly updated, and includes brief biographies and contact information for each individual, along with selected images of their art." The database also includes a section on Turkish academics.
Turkey : Cultural Heritage Map of Turkey (Hrant Dink Foundation) "Cultural Heritage Map of Turkey is a product of Hrant Dink Foundation’s cultural heritage inventory project. The map records Armenian, Greek, Syriac, and Jewish cultural heritage in order to make visible the multiple cultures and facets of different communities in Anatolia. Information on public buildings such as churches, schools, monasteries, cemeteries, synagogues, and hospitals has been gathered from primary and secondary sources, as well as from various archives, and has been shared through this online map. Cultural Heritage Map of Turkey is a work in progress; it will live and flourish, first and foremost, by way of the contribution and feedback of its users."
Art: Echoes of Ottoman Empire - [The New York Times . Nov 24, 1973] - The Metropolitan Museum's latest offering, “The Art of Imperial Turkey and Its European Echoes”
Istanbul Deniz Muzesi Ndeki Osmanli Donemi Sancaklari Banners of Ottoman Period in the Istanbul Naval Museum [Flags collection at the Maritime/Naval Museum in Istanbul (one of the largest collections of Ottoman flags)].
Maps
- David Rumsey Historical Maps CollectionThe David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 13,600 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, childrens and manuscript maps.
- Maps of the Ottoman EmpireThe W. F. Albright Institute of Archaeological Research (AIAR) in Jerusalem in cooperation with the Center for Ancient Middle Eastern Landscapes (CAMEL) at the University of Chicago scanned and geo-referenced a series of topographical maps of Eastern Turkey and the lands of the broader Ottoman Empire with a grant from the US Department of Education TICFIA program. The bulk of the collection contains topographical maps compiled at the British Intelligence Division War Office in 1915 derived from map and survey data collected during multiple expeditions 1839-1906. The collection contains high resolution copies of the original maps held by AIAR, and geo-referenced versions can be requested by contacting dlir@caorc.org.
Selected Image Collections, Videos & Databases on the Web
Digital Collections Koç University 210,000 digitized or born-digital images in the Koç University collections featuring prints, photographs, slides, maps, newspapers, posters, postcards, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. The collections consist of the materials of the Koç University Libraries and Archives (AKMED, ANAMED, SKL, and VEKAM), Koç University Faculty and Departments, and projects carried out in partnership with the Koç University Libraries.
Türk Karikatür Basımları Koleksiyonu - Turkish Cartoon Prints Collection Koç University offers a large collection of digital content including prints, photographs, slides, maps, newspapers, posters, postcards, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. The collections consist of the materials of the Koç University Libraries and Archives, Koç University Faculty and Departments, and projects carried out in partnership with the Koç University Libraries. One of the unique collections that they offer is a large collection of Turkish cartoons.
Eckstein Albums on Cambridge Digital Library / The Skilliter Centre for Ottoman Studies
Osmanlı Arşiv Video HD - Ottoman Empire Rare Archive Footage
Ottoman-Era Photographs Take on New Meaning in Their Digital Life: Thousands of images from the Pierre de Gigord Collection are now accessible online [The Getty Research Institute]
- ArchNet Digital LibraryArchNet is an "international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations."
- Brooklyn Museum Online CollectionsBrooklyn Museum's digital gallery contains over 1,400 images on Art of the Islamic World.
- FlickrA popular, free online photo sharing site containing millions of photos, including current events like protests in Egypt or the Iraq War. You can limit your search to photos with different Creative Commons licenses.
- Flickr CommonsPhotos from various cultural institutions in the world including the Library of Congress. Flickr users can add tags and comments to add to the knowledge of the photographs. A special "no known copyright restrictions" is applied.
- Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online CatalogIncludes Abdul-Hamid II Collection (1,800 photos in albums ca. 1880-1893) and Matson Negative Collection (over 13,000 negatives from 1898-1946).
- LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google)Search millions of photos from the magazine's archive (published and unpublished). 19th century to the present.
- Middle East Photograph Archive (Univ. of Chicago)Online archive of early photographs.
- Poetry and Prayer: Islamic Manuscripts from the Walters Museum of ArtThese digital images accompany the exhibition of illuminated and illustrated Islamic manuscripts from the ninth to the nineteenth century at the Walters. It coincides with a larger initiative to make high-resolution digital surrogates of all of the Islamic manuscripts and single pages at the Walters.
- Saudi Aramco World Digital ArchiveContains more than 40,000 historic and current images of the Middle East and the Islamic world. Most of the images online are published and unpublished images from the bimonthly magazine Aramco World, from 1964 to 2000, and Saudi Aramco World, to current.
- The Middle East in Early Prints & Photographs (NYPL Digital Gallery)Several thousand images contained in works from the 17th to early 20th century.
Popular modern music
- Crossing the bridge-- the sound of Istanbul {Video}Alexander Hacke, European musician and composer, sets out to capture the musical diversity of Istanbul as he roams the streets with his mobile recording studio and microphone to assemble a portrait of Turkish music. His voyage leads to the discovery of a broad spectrum ranging from modern electronica, rock and hip-hop to classical "Arabesque". The film is also a visual documentary of Istanbul, with stark contrasts of old and new, western and eastern, poor and rich, modern and traditional.
Documentaries/Archival
Licensed Image Databases available at Cornell
- ARTstor images on JSTORSearchable database of digital images and associated catalog data. Covers the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. The Artstor website was retired on August 1, 2024. Artstor's content, key resources, and functionality were migrated to JSTOR.
- AP ImagesContains Associated Press photographs from their 50 million image print and negative library, as well as charts, graphs, tables, and maps from the AP's graphics portfolio.
- LunaCornell University offers a range of digital collections that showcase visual resources from its rich cultural collections.Original materials include fine art, archival photographs, ephemera, images in rare books, and other original works from its library collections, the Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, as well as visual resources and original pictorial field work for the study of art, architecture, anthropology, and classics.
Ottoman music
- Ottoman Classical Music: History and Transformations with Mehmet Uğur EkinciA history podcast dedicated to presenting accessible and relevant information about the Ottoman Empire, the Mediterranean and Middle East. Episode 74 / Ottoman History Podcast. An overview of the history of Ottoman music complete with audio samples featuring guest Mehmet Uğur Ekinci.
Ottomann instrumental Tasavvuf Music (NEY TAKSIMI) "OSMANLI resimleri"
Ottoman Culture and Art
- Impressions of Ottoman culture in Europe, 1453-1699 byCall Number: Olin Library DR432 .A85 2012 ++ISBN: 9786056254413Publication Date: Istanbul : Armaggan, 2012Covers textiles, tiles, ceramics, flowers, plants, carpets, arms, armor, "Turkish" image, the crescent, and commonalities.
- Ottoman Influences in Western Dress byFrom Ottoman Costumes: From Textile to Identity. S. Faroqhi and C. Neumann, ed. Istanbul: Eren Publishing, 2005.
Fashion is a significant area of cultural borrowing that reflects the broader exchanges of ideas that occurred between the Ottomans and the West. Dress reflected both personal tastes and cultural values in these societies. A great deal has been written about the influence of Western fashion in Turkey, but less has been said about the contributions of Turkish dress in the West. Although there are some well-known exceptions to this, in general comparative studies have tended to be limited to economic and political history. What has been referred to as Orientalism in the arts generally focuses on literature and painting, but usually drawn from Arab, Indian or Persian sources -- this in spite of the obvious presence of Ottoman civilization on the Mediterranean borders of Europe over a period of centuries. Dress, however, is a form of expression in which all people participate. - Turkish Textiles and Dress - The Cornell Costume CollectionThe style is Ottoman Turkish, not Arab, and was the dress of government throughout the Ottoman Empire.
Picturing Islam by ISBN: 9781405129589Publication Date: 2010-01-11Picturing Islam: Art and Ethics in a Muslim Lifeworld explores issues of religion, nationalism, ethnicity, and globalization through the life and work of the prominent contemporary Indonesian artist Abdul Djalil Pirous. Presents a unique addition to the anthropology of art and religion Demonstrates the impact of Islam, ethnicity, nationalism, and globalization on the work and life of an internationally recognized postcolonial artist Weaves together visual and narrative materials to tell an engrossing story of a cosmopolitan Muslim artist Looks at contemporary Islamic art and the way it has been produced in the world's largest Muslim nation, Indonesia
"Sabancı University Sakıp Sabancı Museum's Arts of Book and Calligraphy Collection includes copies of the Koran, prayer books, calligraphic compositions in the kıt'a form, calligraphic albums, calligraphic panels, hilyes, imperial firmans and berats bearing the royal tuğra (imperial cipher) by renowned calligraphers dating from the late 14th to 20th centuries, and calligraphy tools and equipment."