Database Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide the full-text of the article, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles search).

Top Databases for Turkish and Ottoman Studies

Digital Ottoman Studies
"Digital Humanities is a new field that grows rapidly in the academic environment. This website is designed as a hub for digital projects, tools, events, publications, and platforms to contribute to Digital Humanities from the perspective of Ottoman and Turkish Studies. The 600-year-old Ottoman Empire's archival heritage, spanning diverse ethnic and geographical regions, holds high potential for digital humanities. This website aims to create a digital network for future projects by bringing together studies, people, and institutions. "

Russian-Ottoman Relations Online The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc.

ISAM - Center for Islamic Studies 

Database for Ottoman Inscriptions -Osmanli Kitableri Projesi The Database of Ottoman Inscriptions (DOI) is searchable digital database comprising information about, as well as transliterations and pictures of, all the Turkish, Arabic and Persian architectural inscriptions created in the Ottoman lands during Ottoman times. For more information, click here. 

Osmanlıca Makaleler Veri Tabanı * Article Database in Ottoman Language / Center for Islamic Studies (İSAM), Istanbul.  A database of articles on Turkish history, literature, culture, and art, which includes the bibliographical identification of 52,500 articles and actual digital copies (in pdf).

IRCICA Farabi Digital Library is a project aiming at facilitating and supporting libraries make their digital collections available to worldwide scholars. To do so, IRCICA developed a  stand alone software allowing libraries to easily display their digital materials, and hosts the digital library.

SALT Araştırma: Digitized French Press in the Ottoman Empire.
"This project, a collaboration between İstanbul Atatürk Library, Bibliothèque Nationale de France and Institut Français d’Études Anatoliennes, aims to digitize newspapers and magazines published in French from the second half of the 19th century to the 1930s. More than a hundred titles, including periodicals printed in the Ottoman Empire as well as media published by the Young Turks of Europe, are now accessible. İstanbul Atatürk Library’s collection of Franco-Ottoman press has been digitalized by SALT Research, while the collection of Bibliothèque Nationale de France can be accessed through Gallica."

Historiography of Early Modern Ottoman Europe (HOE) Database HOE is a collection of meta-data focusing on historiographical writing of Early Modern Ottoman Europe (1500-1800). It brings together published and unpublished primary sources (chronicles, histories, hagiographies, inscriptions, maps…), as well as secondary material (“Main Section”). It also offers information on specific collections, as well as a wide variety of references to tools and resources useful to those navigating the research questions of Early Modern historiography (“Tools Section”).  HOE provides information on the author(s), title(s), contents, manuscript(s) and edition(s) of the main sources related to the topic.

Digital Collections Koç University 210,000 digitized or born-digital images in the Koç University collections featuring prints, photographs, slides, maps, newspapers, posters, postcards, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. The collections consist of the materials of the Koç University Libraries and Archives (AKMED, ANAMED, SKL, and VEKAM), Koç University Faculty and Departments, and projects carried out in partnership with the Koç University Libraries.

Türk Karikatür Basımları Koleksiyonu - Turkish Cartoon Prints Collection Koç University offers a large collection of digital content including prints, photographs, slides, maps, newspapers, posters, postcards, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. The collections consist of the materials of the Koç University Libraries and Archives, Koç University Faculty and Departments, and projects carried out in partnership with the Koç University Libraries. One of the unique collections that they offer is a large collection of Turkish cartoons.

Top Journals

News

  • News Bank Inc

 

Periodical Collections Online

WikiLala: 'Google' of Ottoman-Turkish documents The online digital library project, "WikiLala,'"  aims to gather and digitize all the printed texts from the Ottoman Empire since the introduction of the printing press.

Muteferriqa Servet-i Fünûn Collection Muteferriqa is a modern full-text search engine for Ottoman Turkish. It features high-quality Ottoman Turkish Periodicals content and minimizes research time shuffling through pages. When complete, Servet-i Fünûn Collection will include over 1100 issues of the periodical, spanning the years 1891-1926 covering TUFS Hakkı Tarık Us Digital Collection's said title.

Web Archive of Independent News Sites on Turkish Affairs 

Digitized Turkish Periodicals - Ankara Üniversitesi Gazeteler Veritabanı 1. Akşam (1929-1964) 2. Cumhuriyet (1929-1950) 3. Gaye-i Milliye (1921) 4. Hakimiyet-i Milliye (1916-1928) 5. İkdam Gazetesi (1889-1915) 6. Peyam Gazetesi (1913-1914) 7. Servet Gazetesi (1890-1904) 8. Servet-i Fünun (1889-1928) 9. Takvim-i Vekayi (1841-1919) 10. Tanin Gazetesi (1908-1912) 11. Tarik Gazetesi (1886-1892) 12. Tercüman-ı Hakikat (1879-1922) 13. Ulus Gazetesi (1935-1937) 14. Vatan Gazetesi (1941) 15. Yeni İstanbul (1949-1950) 16. Yeni Sabah (1939-1950) 17. Zafer (1949-1950) 18. Zaman (1934-1935)

Hakkı Tarık Us Collection - digital archive of Ottoman periodicals.

HISTORY OF SERIAL NOVELS IN TURKISH LITERATURE (1831-1928) to examine at least 150 newspaper and magazines that were published in Arabic based alphabet in the period 1831-1928, in order to find out and record the serial novels published in these periodicals.

Arabic Newspapers of Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine A digitization project from the National Library of Israel which has digitized 27 newspapers from 1908-1948. Project URL: http://web.nli.org.il/sites/nlis/en/jrayed#.

Osmanlıca Makaleler Veri Tabanı * Article Database in Ottoman Language/ Center for Islamic Studies (İSAM), Istanbul. A database of articles on Turkish history, literature, culture, and art, which includes the bibliographical identification of 52,500 articles and actual digital copies (in pdf).

Eckstein Albums on Cambridge Digital Library / The Skilliter Centre for Ottoman Studies 

 *

Databases in Turkish