Turkish Language Dictionaries
Turkish & Ottoman Statistics
Documents. Archives. Pamphlets
Cambridge Histories Online
- Büyük İslâm ilmihali : itikâda, ibâdetlere, kerâhiyet ve istihsâna, ahlâka, siyeri enbiyâya ait olmak üzere on kitaptan müteşekkildir byCall Number: Olin Library BP161 .B55 2002Publication Date: 2002itikada, ibadetlere, kerahiyet ve istihsana, ahlâka, siyeri enbiyaya ait olmak üzere on kitaptan müteşekkildir / Ömer Nasûhi Bilmen
- Encyclopaedia Islamica byThe Encyclopaedia Islamica is a projected 16-volume publication focused on Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. (New content will be added every year in alphabetical order. In 2008 it began with the A, with an expected completion in 2023.)
- Encyclopaedia of Islam OnlineCall Number: Print version (2nd ed.): Olin Library Room 602 (Non-Circulating) DS37 .E56 1954 +Comprehensive reference work in English on all aspects of Islam written by leading scholars. Includes new entries from the 3rd edition (Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE). Condensed version of this work is available: Islamic Desk Reference - Olin Library Oversize DS35.53 .I83x 1994 + (also online)
- Encyclopedia Iranica byCall Number: Print version: Olin Library Room 602 (Non-Circulating) DS253 .E56 +The Encyclopaedia Iranica is a multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. It focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies. Work ongoing (1982 - )
- Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire byCall Number: Olin Library Reference DR486 .E53 2009 +ISBN: 9780816062591Publication Date: 2008-12-01Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire provides a thorough overview of the history and civilization of the Ottomans, with approximately 450 A-to-Z entries focusing on major events, personalities, institutions, and terms. With signed articles by experts in the field, this comprehensive one-volume resource also includes essential information regarding imperialism and the emerging Balkan, Arab, and Turkish nationalism; the demise of the empire; and Ottoman legacy in the Balkans and the Middle East.
- The Routledge Handbook of Modern Turkey byCall Number: Olin Library DR417 .R58 2012 +ISBN: 0415558174Publication Date: 2012-09-28In recent years, there has been growing interest in Turkey, stemming from the country’s developing role in regional and global politics, its expanding economic strength, and its identity as a predominantly Muslim country with secular political institutions and democratic processes. This Handbook provides a comprehensive and wide-ranging profile of modern Turkey. Bringing together original contributions from leading scholars with a wide range of backgrounds, this important reference work gives a unique in-depth survey of Turkish affairs, past and present. Thematically organised sections cover: Turkish history from the early Ottoman period to the present Turkish culture Politics and international relations Social issues Geography The Turkish economy and economics Presenting diverse and often competing views on all aspects of Turkish history, politics, society, culture, geography, and economics, this handbook will be an essential reference tool for students and scholars of Middle East studies, comparative politics, and culture and society.
- Armenians in Ottoman Turkey, 1914 : a geographic and demographic gazetteer / byCall Number: Olin DR435.A7ISBN: 1909382426Publication Date: Sarkis Y KarayanThis book is the singlemost important English-language publication on the demographic profile of Armenians in the late Ottoman Empire. It is based on a plethora of published and archival records, especially Armenian language materials that have not been cited in English language academic works. Such records are discussed at some length and should be an eyeopener to readers. Karayan also takes direct issue with some conventional works on the demography of the Ottoman Empire based on official Turkish archives. He makes a particularly poignant case study of his ancestral town of Aintab, showing the strength of the materials at his disposal and the weakness of official Turkish accounts for the city. Karayan lists over 4,000 Armenian inhabited towns and villages, replete with their old and new names, geographical coordinates, Armenian population as well as sources. According to Karayan, Ottoman Armenians numbered close to 2.5 million on the eve of WWI and the number who were lost in the Armenian Genocide was over 2 million people. His work includes a comprehensive index of village names for the perusal of readers.
- Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı İslâm ansiklopedisi / [Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı, İslâm Ansiklopedisi Genel Müdürlüğü].HathiTrust. Limited (search-only) v.1 ---
(original from University of Michigan)
cilt 1. Âb-ı hayât-el-Ahkâmü'ş-şerʻiyye -- cilt 2. Ahlâk-Amarı -- cilt 3. Amasya-Âşık mûsikisi -- cilt 4. Âşık Ömer-Bâlâ Külliyesi -- cilt 5. Balaban, Mustafa Rahmi-Beşir Ağa, Moralı -- cilt 6. Beşir Ağa Camii-Câfer Paşa Tekkesi -- cilt 7. Câʻfer es-Sâdık-Ciltçilik -- cilt 8. Cilve-Dârünnedve -- cilt 9. Dârüssaâde-Dulkadıroğulları -- cilt 10. Dûmetülcendel-Elbise -- cilt 11. Elbistan-Eymir -- cilt 12. Eys-Fikhü'l-Hadıs -- cilt 13. Fikih-Gelenek -- cilt 14. Gelibolu-Haddesenâ -- cilt 15. Hades-Hanefı Mehmed Efendi -- cilt 16. Hanefı mezhebi-Hayâ -- cilt 17. Hayal-Hilâfiyat -- cilt 18. Hilâl-Hüseyin Lâmekânî -- cilt 19. Hüseyin Mirza-İbn Haldûn -- cilt 20. Haldûn-İbnüʼl-Cezerî -- cilt 21. İbnüʼl-Cezzâr-İhvân-ı Müslimîn -- cilt 22. İhvân-ı Safâ-İskit -- cilt 23. İslâm-Kaade -- cilt 24. Kāânî-i-Şîrâzî-Kastamonu -- cilt 25. Kastilya-Kile -- cilt 26. Kili-Kütahya -- cilt 27. Kütahya Mevlevîhânesi-Manisa -- cilt 28. Manisa Mevlevîhânesi-Meks -- cilt 29. Mekteb-Mısır Mevlevîhânesi -- cilt 30. Mısra-Muhammediyye -- cilt 31. Muhammediyye-Münâzara -- cilt 32. el-Müncid-Nesih -- cilt. 33. Nesih-Osmanlılar -- cilt. 34. Osmanpazarı-Resuldar -- cilt. 35. Resuliler-Sak.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Islamic StudiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
This Who's who in Turkish Culture and Art is a database provided by the Turkish Cultural Foundation. "Artists and experts are included in this database based on a variety of criteria and are gathered from different sources through a TCF managed search process. The final selection is made by the selection committee. This online resource is constantly updated, and includes brief biographies and contact information for each individual, along with selected images of their art." The database also includes a section on Turkish academics.
Turkish Language Dictionaries
- A Turkish and English lexicon : shewing in English the significations of the Turkish termsCall Number: OLIN PL191 .R32 1987Kitab-i maani-yi lehçe / Sir James W. Redhouse.
- Dilbilgisi kavramları sözlüğü byCall Number: Olin PL189 .Y85 2014ISBN: 9786059069007Publication Date: 2014Includes grammar terms in Turkish-English, English-Turkish, Ottoman Turkish-Turkish, Turkish-Ottoman Turkish.
- Kâmus-ı TürkîCall Number: Library Annex PL189 .S47 1989kâffe-yi lügat-i Türkiye ile lisan-i Türkîde müstamil kelimat ve ıstılahât-i Arabiye ve Farisiye ve ecnebiyeyi cami olarak lisanımızın mükemmel lügat kitabıdır / müellifi, Ş. Sâmî.
- Misalli büyük Türkçe sözlük : asırlar boyu tarihi seyri içindeCall Number: olin PL189 .A98 2011ISBN: 975644424X
- Osmanlıca-Türkçe ansiklopedik büyük lügatCall Number: Library Annex PL189 .O86x
- Osmanlıca-Türkçe ansiklopedik lûgat : eski ve yeni harflerle byCall Number: On OrderISBN: 9757519006Publication Date: Aydın Kitabevi Yayınları, 2013.
- Milet-Redhouse English-Turkish Dictionary byCall Number: OLIN PL191 .R547x 1999ISBN: 9789758176106Publication Date: 2002-05-01Over 160,000 words, phrases and proverbs have been fully defined by definitions, translations and idiomatic equivalents. The dictionary includes colloquial and slang words as well as technical terms.
- Osmanlı tarih ve hukûk istilâhları kâmûsu = قاموس المصطلحات التاريخية والفقهية العثمانية byCall Number: Olin KKX148 .A38 1990ISBN: 9757268925Publication Date: İstanbul : Osmanlı Araştırmaları Vakfı, 2018.
- The Oxford Turkish Dictionary byCall Number: Olin Reference PL191 .I98 1992
- An Etymological Dictionary of Pre-Thirteenth Century Turkish byISBN: 0198641125Publication Date: 1972-04-25
- Adlar sözlüğü byCall Number: olin CS3040 .D548 2014Publication Date: İstanbul : Türkiye İş Bankası, Kültür Yayınları, 2014.Turkish. Personal Names,
- Concise Oxford Turkish Dictionary byISBN: 9780198641094Publication Date: 1959-12-31
- Doğu ve batı Türkçesi Kur'an tercümeleri sözlüğü byCall Number: olin BP133 .U55 2012ISBN: 9786054392858Publication Date: Konya : Eğitim Yayınevi, 2012.
- Resimli Türk mitoloji sözlüğü : Altay/Yakut byCall Number: olin BL2370.T84 D548 2014ISBN: 9786054692644Publication Date: Eskişehir : T.C. Eskişehir Valiliği, 2014.Turkic peoples - Religion - Dictionaries -Turkish.
- Manzum sözlük geleneği ve Mahmûdiye : Arapça-Türkçe manzum sözlük byCall Number: Olin PL193.A7 O45 2015ISBN: 9786059269063Publication Date: Konya : Palet Yayınları, 2015.Text in Turkish with facsimiles in Arabic. Arabic language Dictionaries Turkish.
- Türkçe-Yunanca ortak kelimeler, deyimler ve atasözleri byCall Number: Olin PL193.G8 M55 2012ISBN: 9786054640034Publication Date: Karaköy, İstanbul : İSTOS, 2012.In Turkish and Greek ǂb (Greek and Latin script).
- Türkçede batı kökenli kelimeler sözlüğü byCall Number: olin PL184.A3 A43 2015ISBN: 9789751631268Publication Date: Çankaya, Ankara : Türk Dil Kurumu Yayınları, 2015.
- Lügat-i Ni'metu'llâh byCall Number: olin PK6381.T8 N55 2015ISBN: 9789751631275Publication Date: Çankaya, Ankara : Türk Dil Kurumu Yayınları, 2015.
Turkish-English and Turkish-German dictionaries Türkçe sözlükler
ÇAĞATAY TÜRKÇESİ SÖZLÜKLERİ BİBLİYOGRAFYASI / [PDF] Farhad Rahimi = CHAGATAI TURKISH DICTIONARIES BIBLIOGRAPHY
Chagatai Turkish, the second period of the North-East Turkic language, is a writing language that the Eastern Turks continue to use from the beginning of the 15th century until the beginning of the 20th century. After Nevayi's death, various dictionaries began to be written on every corner of the world of Islam, so that his works could easily be read. These dictionaries, written mostly in the Ottoman Empire, Iran, Azerbaijan, India or Turkestan and having a great value for the history of Turkish language development have created a lexicographical schools. In this study, are given mainly Chagatai Turkish dictionaries and studies on them.
- Osmanlı Edebiyatı Bibliyografyası Veritabanı - The Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish LiteratureA free and extensive database of references to theses, books, articles, papers and projects relating to research into Ottoman-Turkish culture. Please visit the Turkish version of this site if your first language is Turkish.
- Dissertation ReviewsFounded in 2010, Dissertation Reviews is a site that features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences.
- Means of travel and transportation in the Ottoman empireA 1929 Cornell thesis, written by Sahire Mouhtar, the first Turkish woman to earn a non-medical PhD.
Mouhtar, Sahire Fatma, 1903- Means of travel and transportation in the Ottoman empire. Published: [Ithaca, N.Y.] 1929. Description: 223 l.: 28 cm.
English language books in Turkish and Ottoman Studies
Turkology Annual Online "Systematic bibliography for Turkology and Ottoman Studies." Working Papers of the BMBF project “Europe from the outside : Formations of Middle Eastern views on Europe from inside Europe” 2 Caspar Hillebrand. A researchers’ list and bibliography of Ottoman travel accounts to Europe (2nd edition)
- BiblioPera brings 9 research centers located in Beyoğlu and their collections together -- Istanbul Research Institute, Koç University Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations, SALT Research, Deutsches Archäologisches Institut-Istanbul, Netherlands Institute in Turkey, Institut Français d’Études Anatoliennes, Orient-Institut Istanbul, Swedish Research Institute in Istanbul, and The Consulate General of Greece - Sismanoglio Megaro. The project is developed by Koç University Suna Kıraç Library, and supported by Istanbul Development Agency.
Türkiye’de İslâm Hukuku Çalışmaları Literatürü (1928-2012) [Islamic law - Bibliography.]
Hamdi Çilingir, M. Salih Eser ; [yayına hazırlayan Hüseyin Kader]. İstanbul : İSAR, İstanbul Araştırma ve Eğitim Vakfı yayınları, 2014 (iletişim, Ensar Neşriyat)
Literatür çalışmaları, geçmişte yapılan yayınların mahiyet ve şeceresini ortaya koyma yanında, gelecekte üretilecek bilgiye kaynaklık ve rehberlik etme, bilginin daha sıhhatli bir zeminde üretilmesine katkı sağlama konusunda önemli bir işlev görmektedir. Her alan için söz konusu olduğu gibi, Fıkıh/İslâm hukuku alanında araştırma yapanlar için de bu anlamda bir literatüre duyulan ihtiyaç izahtan vârestedir. Ancak, hukuk teorisinden hukuka, siyasetten ekonomiye, ibadetlerden ceza hukukuna, borçlar hukukundan aile hukukuna, insan haklarından çevre hukukuna kadar geniş bir alanla irtibatlı olan Fıkıh/İslâm hukukuna dair Cumhuriyet dönemi boyunca yayınlanmış akademik çalışmaların kapsamlı bir bibliyografyası bu güne kadar çıkarılmamıştır. Elinizdeki bu kitap, söz konusu eksikliği gidermek üzere hazırlanmış olup, 1928-2012 tarihleri arasında Türkçe olarak yayınlanmış kitap, tez, makale ve tebliğ mahiyetindeki akademik literatürü, konu başlıklarına göre ortaya koymayı hedeflemektedir. Fıkıh/İslâm hukuku ile ilgili araştırmaların giderek genişlik ve derinlik kazandığı ülkemizde, böyle bir eserin, hem geçmiş çalışmaların değerlendirilmesi, hem de gelecek çalışmaların inşa edilmesine önemli bir katkı yapacağı açıktır.
- Türkei Bibliographie Vom Osmanischen Reich zur Türkischen Republik. Eine historische Bibliographie von 1500 bis 1950. Mit einem Kapitel über türkische Literatur in deutscher Übersetzung byISBN: 9783936233032Publication Date: 4. erweiterte Auflage, 2018,About 1,600 German-language book publications with author, title, publishing place and year
of publication are recorded systematically. The new edition of this historic bibliography has been extended by about 200 titles from all periods and areas. It is intended for teachers and students of Turkology as well as those interested in the
history and culture of Ottoman Empire and Turkey .
- Ottoman Historical Documents by This collection of translated primary sources for Ottoman history shows how the major institutions of Ottoman government developed and functioned. Each chapter covers a key topic: Legitimation and Titulature; Princes; Recruitment into the Sultan's service; the Vizierate and the D?v?n; the Religio-Legal Institution; ??n?nn?mes (sultanic legislation); Taxation and Finance; Waqfs (endowments); and Treaties and Foreign Relations. Chapters include a brief introduction to provide context for the documents, annotations and a glossary explaining technical terminology and problems of interpretation.ISBN: 9781474479363Publication Date: 2021-02-28
- Secularism and State Religion in Modern Turkey byISBN: 9781780766225Publication Date: 2017-12-30The Diyanet is the 'Presidency of Religious Affairs', the official face of Islam and highest religious authority in Turkey, and is a governmental department established in 1924 after the break-up of the Ottoman Empire. In this book, Emir Kaya offers an in-depth multidisciplinary analysis of this vital institution. Focusing on the role of the Diyanet in society, Kaya explores the balance the institution has to strike between the Islamic traditions of the Turkish population and the officially secular creed of the Turkish state. By examining the various laws that either bolstered or hindered the Diyanet's budgets and activities, Kaya highlights the institutional mindsets of the Diyanet membership as well as evaluating its successes and failures as a governmental department that has to consistently operate within the context of the religiosity of Turkish society. By situating all of this within the context of the two competing--but often complimentary--concepts of religion and secularism, Kaya offers a book that is important for those researching the role of religion and the state in society in the Middle East and beyond.
- The Routledge Handbook on Turkish Politics byISBN: 9781138500556Publication Date: 2019-04-07The Routledge Handbook of Turkish Politicspulls together contributions from many of the world's leading scholars on different aspects of Turkey. Its scope is widely comprehensive, covering all aspects of both formal and informal politics, highlighting how it is necessary to grasp the interlinkages between the different themes in order to fully understand Turkey today. Turkey is going through possibly the most turbulent period in its history, with major consequences both nationally and internationally. The country today looks dramatically different from the Republic founded by Atatürk in 1923. The pace of change has been rapid and fundamental, with core interlinked changes in ruling institutions, political culture, political economy, and society. Divided into six main parts, this Handbook provides a single-source overview of Turkish politics: Part I: History and the making of Contemporary Turkey Part II: Politics and Institutions Part III: The Economy, Environment and Development Part IV: The Kurdish Insurgency and Security Part V: State, Society and Rights Part VI: External Relations This comprehensive Handbookis an essential resource for students of Politics, International Relations, International/Security Studies with an interest on contemporary Turkey.
- Kitabiyat yazıları (1844-2014) byCall Number: URIS Z1003.5.T9 K375 2014ISBN: 9786055283292Publication Date: Fatih, İstanbul : Akıl Fikir Yayınları, 2014.
General Introductory Sources
„Wunder der erschaffenen Dinge – Osmanische Manuskripte in Hamburger Sammlungen"
“Wonders of Creation” – Ottoman Manuscripts in Hamburg Collections
- Living in the Ottoman Realm byISBN: 9780253019301Publication Date: 2016-04-11
- The Women Who Built the Ottoman World byISBN: 9781784539269Publication Date: 2017-08-30
- The Fall of the Turkish Model byISBN: 9781784783327Publication Date: 2016-02-23
- The History of Turkey byISBN: 9781440834660Publication Date: 2016-03-28
- The Turkish Novel and the Quest for Rationality byISBN: 9789004366039Publication Date: 2019-02-14The Turkish Novel and the Quest for Rationality is the first book to contextualize the Turkish novel with regard to the intellectual developments motivating the Turkish modernization project since the 18th century. The book provides a dialectical narrative for the emergence and development of the Turkish novel in order to highlight the genre's critical role within the modernization project. In doing so, it also delineates the changing forms the novel assumes in the Turkish context from a platform for new literature to a manifestation of crisis in the face of totalizing rationality. Vis-a-vis modernization's engagement with rationality, The Turkish Novel and the Quest for Rationality reveals unexplored ways of conceptualizing the development of the genre in non-western contexts.
- Fall of the Sultanate byISBN: 9780199676071Publication Date: 2016-05-24
- Turks Across Empires byISBN: 9780198725145Publication Date: 2014-12-30
- Family Life in the Ottoman Mediterranean byISBN: 9780521133272Publication Date: 2017-06-08In writings about Islam, women and modernity in the Middle East, family and religion are frequently invoked but rarely historicized. Based on a wide range of local sources spanning two centuries (1660-1860), Beshara B. Doumani argues that there is no such thing as the Muslim or Arab family type that is so central to Orientalist, nationalist, and Islamist narratives. Rather, one finds dramatic regional differences, even within the same cultural zone, in the ways that family was understood, organized, and reproduced. In his comparative examination of the property devolution strategies and gender regimes in the context of local political economies, Doumani offers a groundbreaking examination of the stories and priorities of ordinary people and how they shaped the making of the modern Middle East.
- Turkey and the Politics of National Identity byISBN: 9780857724793Publication Date: 2014-09-19In the first decade of the twenty-first century Turkey experienced an extraordinary set of transformations. In 2001, in the midst of financial difficulties, the country was under IMF stewardship, yet it has recently emerged as one of the fastest growing economies in the world. And on the international stage, Turkey has managed to enhance its position from being a backseat NATO member and outside candidate for EU membership to being an influential regional power, determining and developing its own individual foreign policy. Shane Brennan and Marc Herzog explore how these and other changes have shaped the way people in Turkey perceive themselves and how the country's self-image shapes its actions. Through different approaches engaging with politics, economy, society, culture and history, they offer new perspectives on the transformation of national identity in this increasingly influential country in the Middle East.
Turkish & Ottoman Statistics
- Başbakanlık Osmanlı Arşivi (The Ottoman Archives of the Prime Minister’s Office, hereafter “the Ottoman archives”)is the primary repository for state archival documents in Turkey related to the Ottoman Empire. As the only major archive of a pre-modern Muslim state, the archive contains a vast collection of unique documents pertaining to the administration of one of history’s largest empires. After more than a century in the center of the old city, the Ottoman archives were relocated in 2013 to the Kağıthane district of Istanbul.
- The First Population Census of the Ottoman Empire, 1831CONTENT : This publication consists of first population census in the Ottoman Empire conducted in 1831, characteristics of population census and placed counted, process of the census, segregation of Islamic population census, segregation of Christian population census, the results of the census.
- The Ottoman Census System and Population, 1831-1914.Stanford J. Shaw.--International Journal of Middle East Studies. Vol. 9, No. 3, Oct., 1978 - Page 325 of 325-338
- Turkish Statistics*Turkish Statistical Institute (TurkStat)
*Sources on Statistics
*ISI Emerging Market
Online Turkish Language Resources
- Online Ottoman Turkish - Turkish Dictionary by Ebruli SözlükThis dictionary defines Ottoman Turkish words.
- Ottomans Turkish DictionaryDictionary.gen.tr is a free online dictionary which you can make translation in Turkish, English, German, Bulgarian, Russian and Ottoman Turkish language.dictionary database contains 450.000+ singular words.
- sesli sözlükSesli Sözlük - Turkish-English Dictionary
- Turengİngilizce-Türkçe ve Türkçe-İngilizce çevirisi sağlayan sözlük. Turkish- English Dictionary
Quick Links * Turkish - Ottoman Studies
- Turkish Studies Library: The Jacob M. Landau Collection
- Library of Ottoman Studies / I.B.Tauris is an independent publishing house
- Historians of the Ottoman Empire bio-bibliographical reference book on Ottoman historians.
- AN EVLIYA ÇELEBI BIBLIOGRAPHY /by Robert Dankoff and Semih Tezcan
- The Hoover Turkish Collection*Atatürk and his legacy
*Modern Turkish history and politics
*Turkish political parties
*The Turkish military
*Military rule in Turkey
*Military art and science
*Terrorism in Turkey
*The Turkish role in NATO
*Turkey's position as a Middle Eastern and Islamic state
*Relations with other states of the Middle East and Central Asia
*Relations with the United States, the Soviet Union/Russia/
*Commonwealth of Independent States, Europe, and the
European Economic Community/European Union
- Osmanlı Edebiyatı Bibliyografyası Veritabanı - The Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish LiteratureWelcome to The Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish Literature, a free and extensive database of references to theses, books, articles, papers and projects relating to research into Ottoman-Turkish culture. Please visit the Turkish version of this site if your first language is Turkish.
Muteferriqa Servet-i Fünûn Collection: Muteferriqa is a modern full-text search engine for Ottoman Turkish. It features high-quality Ottoman Turkish Periodicals content and minimizes research time shuffling through pages. When complete, Servet-i Fünûn Collection will include over 1100 issues of the periodical, spanning the years 1891-1926 covering TUFS Hakkı Tarık Us Digital Collection's said title.
Historians of the Ottoman Empire " intends to comprise all the historians who have lived and produced within the geographical limits of the Ottoman Empire -- regardless of the language." The Historians of the Ottoman Empire is intended to be a major reference work for scholars and students of the Middle East, North Africa, South-East Europe, and the Caucasus, as well as for non-specialists interested in the histories and cultures of these regions.
Digital Ottoman Studies
"Digital Humanities is a new field that grows rapidly in the academic environment. This website is designed as a hub for digital projects, tools, events, publications, and platforms to contribute to Digital Humanities from the perspective of Ottoman and Turkish Studies. The 600-year-old Ottoman Empire's archival heritage, spanning diverse ethnic and geographical regions, holds high potential for digital humanities. This website aims to create a digital network for future projects by bringing together studies, people, and institutions. "
Russian-Ottoman Relations Online The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc.
The Ottoman Text Recognition Network (OTRN) aims to bring together researchers and students of the Ottoman Empire who are interested in applying, testing and developing text recognition technologies for handwritten and printed Ottoman Turkish texts either in Arabic or other scripts such as Armenian, Hebrew or Greek.
Mühür Veritabanı / Seal Database
Ottoman works in the digital age The Research Center for Islamic History, Art and Culture (IRCICA) develops a new system, the first of its kind, which allows researchers around the world to easily work on Ottoman documents.
Launched in Spring of 2011, Ottoman History Podcast is an online radio program dedicated to accessible and academic discussion of new topics in the history, society and culture of the Ottoman Empire and Middle East. Guests include scholars and students from a variety of disciplines. Episodes in English and Turkish are released on a weekly basis.
Abdul-Hamid II Collection of Books and Serials Gifted to the Library of Congress
In 1884 Sultan Abdul-Hamid II gifted the Library of Congress with a collection of Ottoman Turkish, Persian, Arabic works that he had richly embossed with this inscription in English, French and Ottoman: "Gift made by H.I. M. the Sultan Abdul-Hamid II to the national library of the United States of America through the Honorable A.S. Hewitt Member of the House of Representatives A.H. 1302-1884 A.D."
Abdul-Hamid II collection of photographs of the Ottoman Empire U.S. [Library of Congress]
Images of the Ottoman Empire: the photograph albums presented by Sultan Abdulhamid II [the British Library, U.K.]
Historiography of Early Modern Ottoman Europe (HOE) Database HOE is a collection of meta-data focusing on historiographical writing of Early Modern Ottoman Europe (1500-1800). It brings together published and unpublished primary sources (chronicles, histories, hagiographies, inscriptions, maps…), as well as secondary material (“Main Section”). It also offers information on specific collections, as well as a wide variety of references to tools and resources useful to those navigating the research questions of Early Modern historiography (“Tools Section”). HOE provides information on the author(s), title(s), contents, manuscript(s) and edition(s) of the main sources related to the topic.
Osmanlı Arşiv Video HD - Ottoman Empire Rare Archive Footage
Ottoman-Era Photographs Take on New Meaning in Their Digital Life: Thousands of images from the Pierre de Gigord Collection are now accessible online [The Getty Research Institute]
Digital Sources for the Study of the Ottoman Empire and Turkey
[Click here to download the overview of Digital Sources for the Study of the Ottoman Empire and Turkey.]
SALT Araştırma: Digitized French Press in the Ottoman Empire.
"This project, a collaboration between İstanbul Atatürk Library, Bibliothèque Nationale de France and Institut Français d’Études Anatoliennes, aims to digitize newspapers and magazines published in French from the second half of the 19th century to the 1930s. More than a hundred titles, including periodicals printed in the Ottoman Empire as well as media published by the Young Turks of Europe, are now accessible. İstanbul Atatürk Library’s collection of Franco-Ottoman press has been digitalized by SALT Research, while the collection of Bibliothèque Nationale de France can be accessed through Gallica."
Kadi registries (1557-1911) İstanbul Kadı Sicilleri
- Historians of the Ottoman Empire bio-bibliographical reference book on Ottoman historians.
- Hakkı Tarık Us Collection - digital archive of Ottoman periodicals.
- The Ottomans in Europe | History Today
- Digitized Ottoman manuscripts from the İstanbul Araştırması Enstitütüsü = Istanbul Research Institute
- Ottoman Empire | Facts, History, & Map - The decline of the Ottoman
- Istanbul Deniz Muzesi Ndeki Osmanli Donemi Sancaklari Banners of Ottoman Period in the Istanbul Naval Museum [ Flags collection at the Maritime/Naval Museum in Istanbul (one of the largest collections of Ottoman flags)].
- Ottoman Population, 1830-1914 byCall Number: olin Oversize HB3633.4.A3 K18 +ISBN: 0299091600Publication Date: 1985-02-01
- The Ottomans by This major new history of the Ottoman dynasty reveals a diverse empire that straddled East and West. The Ottoman Empire has long been depicted as the Islamic, Asian antithesis of the Christian, European West. But the reality was starkly different: the Ottomans' multiethnic, multilingual, and multireligious domain reached deep into Europe's heart. Indeed, the Ottoman rulers saw themselves as the new Romans. Recounting the Ottomans' remarkable rise from a frontier principality to a world empire, historian Marc David Baer traces their debts to their Turkish, Mongolian, Islamic, and Byzantine heritage. The Ottomans pioneered religious toleration even as they used religious conversion to integrate conquered peoples. But in the nineteenth century, they embraced exclusivity, leading to ethnic cleansing, genocide, and the empire's demise after the First World War.  The Ottomans vividly reveals the dynasty's full history and its enduring impact on Europe and the world. Call Number: DR486 .B33 2021ISBN: 9781541673809Publication Date: 2021-10-05
- Scholarly Personae in the History of Orientalism, 1870-1930 by This volume examines how the history of the humanities might be written through the prism of scholarly personae, understood as time- and place-specific models of being a scholar. Focusing on the field of study known as Orientalism in the decades around 1900, this volume examines how Semitists, Sinologists, and Japanologists, among others, conceived of their scholarly tasks, what sort of demands these job descriptions made on the scholar in terms of habits, virtues, and skills, and how models of being an orientalist changed over time under influence of new research methods, cross-cultural encounters, and political transformations. Contributors are: Tim Barrett, Christiaan Engberts, Holger Gzella, Hans Martin Kr mer, Arie L. Molendijk, Herman Paul, Pascale Rabault-Feuerhahn and Henning Tr per.ISBN: 9789004395237Publication Date: 2019-06-27
- Islamic public law : (documents on practice from the Ottoman archives) byCall Number: olin KBP2000.A38 2011ISBN: 9081726439Publication Date: Rotterdam : IUR Press, 2011.
- Ottoman Historical Documents byISBN: 9781474479363Publication Date: 2021-02-28
- A History of Ottoman Political Thought up to the Early Nineteenth Century by In A History of Ottoman Political Thought up to the Early Nineteenth Century, Marinos Sariyannis offers a survey of Ottoman political texts, examined in a book-length study for the first time. From the last glimpses of gazi ideology and the first instances of Persian political philosophy in the fifteenth century until the apologists of Western-style military reform in the early nineteenth century, the author studies a multitude of theories and views, focusing on an identification of ideological trends rather than a simple enumeration of texts and authors. At the same time, the book offers analytical summaries of texts otherwise difficult to find in English.Call Number: Olin Library JA84.T9 S27 2019ISBN: 9004375597Publication Date: 2018-11-08
- Patterns of Nationhood and Saving the State in Turkey: Ottomanism, Nationalism and Multiculturalism by Patterns of Nationhood and Saving the State in Turkeytackles a theoretical puzzle in understanding the state policy changes toward minorities and nationhood, first by placing the state in the historical context of the international system and second by unpacking the state through analysis of intra-elite competition in relation to the counter-discourses by minority groups within the context of the Ottoman Empire and Turkey. What explains the persistence and change in state policies toward minorities and nationhood? Under what conditions do states change their policies toward minorities? Why do the state elites reconsider the state-minority relations and change government policies toward nationhood? Adopting a comparative-historical analysis, the book unpacks these research questions and builds a theoretical framework by looking at three paradigmatic policy changes: Ottomanism in the mid-19th century, Turkish nationalism in the early 1920s, and multiculturalism in Turkey in the early 2000s. While the book reveals the role of international context, intrastate elite competition, and non-state actors in such policy changes, it argues that state elites adopt either exclusionary or inclusionary policies based on the idea of "survival of the state." The book is primarily an important contribution to studies in ethnicity and nationalism. It is also an essential resource for students and scholars interested in Comparative Politics, Middle East Studies, the Ottoman Empire, and Turkey.ISBN: 9781138354142Publication Date: 2019-02-11
- SULTANIN KORSANLARI: Osmanlı Akdenizi’nde Gazâ, Yağma ve Esaret, 1500-1700 byISBN: 9752430792Publication Date: 2018-10-17
- Avrupa arşivlerinde Osmanlı Imparatorluğu byCall Number: OlinCD1001 .A97 2014ISBN: 9789759780258Publication Date: Ankara Koç Üniversitesi VEKAM, 2014.
- The First of the Modern Ottomans by The eighteenth century brought a period of tumultuous change to the Ottoman Empire. While the Empire sought modernization through military and administrative reform, it also lost much of its influence on the European stage through war and revolt. In this book, Ethan L. Menchinger sheds light on intellectual life, politics, and reform in the Empire through the study of one of its leading intellectuals and statesmen, Ahmed Vsıf. Vsıf's life reveals new aspects of Ottoman letters - heated debates over moral renewal, war and peace, justice, and free will - but it also forces the reappraisal of Ottoman political reform, showing a vital response that was deeply enmeshed in Islamic philosophy, ethics, and statecraft. Tracing Vsıf's role through the turn of the nineteenth century, this book opens the debate on modernity and intellectualism for those students and researchers studying the Ottoman Empire, intellectual history, the Enlightenment, and Napoleonic Europe.ISBN: 9781107197978Publication Date: 2017-08-10
- Islands of the Ottoman Empire by Islands have no single obvious attribute, geographic or otherwise. Insularity, then, should not be taken literally and imply isolation; rather it is about what it means to be an island. This volume employs this concept analytically to study islands as a constituent part of the Ottoman world. Drawing attention to the interplay between the material and the mental, it explores how historical actors experience, imagine, and project their engagements with, and within, the spatial setting of islands. Islands are most commonly conceptualized as oscillating between connectivity and isolation. Contributions to this volume transcend this dichotomy by enquiring into alternative ways to understand insular space. Divided in three parts, the volume explores various historiographical conceptualizations of islands; the manifestations of violence and law in terraqueous spaces; and different ways in which the state has historically tried to regulate insular space.ISBN: 9781558766273Publication Date: Princeton: Markus Wiener, 2018
- Empress of the East by The extraordinary story of the Russian slave girl Roxelana, who rose from concubine to become the only queen of the Ottoman empire In Empress of the East, historian Leslie Peirce tells the remarkable story of a Christian slave girl, Roxelana, who was abducted by slave traders from her Ruthenian homeland and brought to the harem of Sultan Suleyman the Magnificent in Istanbul. Suleyman became besotted with her and foreswore all other concubines. Then, in an unprecedented step, he freed her and married her. The bold and canny Roxelana soon became a shrewd diplomat and philanthropist, who helped Suleyman keep pace with a changing world in which women, from Isabella of Hungary to Catherine de Medici, increasingly held the reins of power. Until now Roxelana has been seen as a seductress who brought ruin to the empire, but in Empress of the East, Peirce reveals the true history of an elusive figure who transformed the Ottoman harem into an institution of imperial rule.ISBN: 9780465032518Publication Date: 2017-09-19
- Arşiv belgelerine göre Osmanlı'da kadın byCall Number: olin Oversize ‡h HQ1726.7 .A774 2015 ++ISBN: 9789751964557Publication Date: İstanbul T.C. Başbakanlık, Devlet Arşivleri Genel Müdürlüğü, Osmanlı Arşivi Daire Başkanlığı, 2015.
Ottoman Harem - The Male and Female Slavery in Islamic Law = İslâm hukukunda kölelik-câriyelik müessesesi ve Osmanlı'da harem / Ahmed Akgündüz ; translater, Şükran Vahide. Hardcover – 2015.
Translation of the Turkish edition published in 1995. Part One: the distortions and misrepresentations of male and female slavery and the Harem, together with some examples. Part Two: male and female slavery in non-Muslim societies and in other religions. Part Three: the institutions of male and female slavery in Islamic law. Part Four: aspects of the practice of slavery, male and female, in the Ottoman state. Part Five: an investigation of the question: what is the Harem? Part Six: a lady governess's memoirs of the Harem. Part Seven: the replies to a number of important questions on these subjects.
Osmanlı'da harem ve cariyelik : 19. yüzyıl [Harem ve cariyelik] / metin Dr. T. Cengiz Göncü ; editör Dr. İlona Baytar, Mehmet Ali Güveli. [olin HQ1726.7 .G655 2015]
Osmanlı saray teşkilatı içinde Harem-i Hümâyûn’un kavram olarak hem somut (fiziki7mimari) hem de soyut birer karşılığı vardır. Fiziki bir yapı olarak Harem-i Hümâyûn, padişahın, aile üyelerinin ve onlara hizmet eden cariyelerin yaşadıkları, dışa kapalı bir mekânı temsil ederken, mimari olarak incelendiğinde Osmanlı saray teşkilat, teşrifat ve âdâbın tüm izlerinin, mekâna yansıdığı görünür. ...
- Osmanlı Devleti'nde Jurnal Teşkilatı (1835-1860) byCall Number: Olin JQ1805.A55 C579 2012ISBN: 9786056157097Publication Date: Uşak : AKY, 2012.
Cambridge Histories Online
- History of Turkey, Byzantium to Turkey, 1071–1453 v.1
- History of Turkey, The Later Ottoman Empire, 1603–1839 v.3
- History of Turkey, Turkey in the Modern World v. 4
Edited by Kate Fleet, University of Cambridge; Suraiya N. Faroqhi, Istanbul Bilgi Üniversitesi; Resat Kasaba, University of Washington
The History covers the period from the end of the eleventh century, with the arrival of the Turks in Anatolia, through the emergence of the early Ottoman state and its development into a powerful empire in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, encompassing a massive territory from the borders of Iran in the east, to Hungary in the west, and North Africa and the Arabian Peninsula in the south. The last volume covers its destruction in the aftermath of the First World War, and the history of the modern state of Turkey which arose from the ashes of empire.
- Study Guide: Classic Turkish LiteratureTurkish Studies Institute
- Turkish Studies Library of Prof. Jacob M. LandauIn 2003, the Universitaets- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt (ULB Halle) purchased parts of the private library of Prof. Jacob M. Landau. The collection comprises 3.000 volumes of original source materials and secondary literature on the history of the late Ottoman Empire and modern Turkey.
Documents. Archives. Pamphlets
- American Board Pamphlet Collection.The American Board pamphlet collection was incorporated into the ARIT Istanbul (ARIT-I) Library in January 2011. It contains roughly 1000 brochures, booklets, leaflets, flyers, and off-prints that date from the mid-1800s to the present, with close to one-third from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Approximately 85% of the materials focus on the operations, institutions, or affiliate organizations of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions (ABCFM) that were located in Turkey and the Balkans.
The ABCFM was a Protestant mission agency founded in 1810 and chartered by the state of Massachusetts in 1812. It dispatched missionaries around the world for religious ends chiefly, but also to pursue general altruistic labor, including founding schools and medical facilities. Between 1820—when the American Board’s first personnel arrived in Izmir—and the second decade of the twentieth century, the organization established more
- American Board Periodical CollectionThe American Board periodical collection was incorporated into the ARIT Istanbul (ARIT-I) Library in January 2011, when ARIT received the library of the Western Turkey Mission of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions (ABCFM), one of the chief Protestant missionary agencies in the Ottoman Empire in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The core of this collection includes a number of rare serials issued locally by the Board and its affiliates, as well as other American organizations.
Currently, ARIT is digitizing and uploading to the collection two of the most important English-language journals published in Turkey at the beginning of the twentieth century: The Levant Trade Review, issued by the American Chamber of Commerce for Turkey and the Levant from 1911 to 1931, and The Orient, produced by the ABCFM’s Istanbul office between 1910 and 1923. Financial support for this project—to make these crucial historical sources available internationally on the world
- Collected Catalogue of Manuscripts of Turkey and National LibraryIn order to reveal these precious works we inherited from our ancestors and to use them for the sake of scientific studies, manuscripts that are included and published in the Collected Catalogue of Manuscripts of Turkey and National Library Manuscript Catalogues, together with some of those, the catalogues of which haven’t been published so far, have been transferred into computerized environment. Our purpose is to contribute to scientific studies and help the "researchers who are to work in this field."
- Imperial and provincial salnames and nevsalsThis database includes Ottoman imperial and provincial salnames and nevsals. 523 pieces are available in the database as full-text PDF.
- The King–Crane Commission (King-Crane Commission Digital Collection - Oberlin College)*Restoring Lost Voices of Self-Determination*
The King–Crane Commission, officially called the 1919 Inter-Allied Commission on Mandates in Turkey, was an official investigation by the United States government concerning the disposition of non-Turkish areas within the former Ottoman Empire. It was conducted to inform American policy about the region's people and their desired future in regard to the previously decided partitioning of the Ottoman Empire and the League of Nations Mandate System. The Commission visited areas of Palestine, Syria, Lebanon, and Anatolia, surveyed local public opinion, and assessed its view on the best course of action for the region. The Commission was appointed by President Woodrow Wilson and comprised Henry Churchill King and Charles R. Crane. It began work in June 1919 and produced its report on 28 August 1919, though the report was not published until 1922.
- Miscellanea documenti turchi Venetian State Archives (Archivio di Stato di Venezia)Venetian State Archives (Archivio di Stato di Venezia) made available collection of (mostly) Ottoman documents under a collective title. "The collection contains 2,022 documents related to the Republic of Venice’s relations with the Ottoman Empire between the fifteenth and nineteenth centuries. The collection is ordered chronologically with a small number of undated documents added to the end of the collection’s series. Documents n.1-1997 are ordered chronologically and include material produced between 859/1454 and 1252/1837. The majority of these documents are from the tenth/sixteenth century (n. 73-1117), although the collection has considerable material from the eleventh/seventeenth century as well (n. 1118- 1609)..."
- Ottoman Text Archive Project - University of Washington*Texts:
An archive of transcribed texts from the Ottoman period.
Paleographical examples of original Ottoman manuscripts, the Ottoman Historical Dictionary, text analysis tools, and other research activities.
Tutorials on tagging, contribution methods, links to other sites, font information, project information, and character charts.
A selection of online tools that preform user restricted searches on archived texts and then output matches and their respective location
- OTTOMAN YEARBOOKS (Salname and Nevsal)Ottoman Yearbooks (Salname and Nevsal). Compiled by Hasan Duman; published by the Research Centre for Islamic History, Art and Culture of the Organisation of Islamic Conference (Istanbul, 1982). Pp. 135 + index, bibliography.
Kadi registries (1557-1911) İstanbul Kadı Sicilleri
- Digital archives on ottoman envoys in Belgium. This website offers access to the diplomatic reports of Ottoman envoys in Belgium (1849–1914). They are made available here for the first time in high-quality photographic reproduction, together with key information on every dispatch (author, recipient, date, summary).
- Tobias P. Graf (ed.), Der Preis der Diplomatie: Die Abrechnungen der kaiserlichen Gesandten an der Hohen Pforte, 1580–1583 (Heidelberg: Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg, 2016),
- „Wunder der erschaffenen Dinge – Osmanische Manuskripte in Hamburger Sammlungen"
“Wonders of Creation” – Ottoman Manuscripts in Hamburg Collections
Conversion of Maliyya, Islamic and Christian dates
Conversion of Maliyya, Islamic and Christian dates. The Maliyya (or Maliyye, Maliye) calendar became the official calendar in the Ottoman Empire by order of Selim III in 1789 A.D., but it was already in use since 1677 A. D. It is based on the Julian calendar concerning the lengths of the months and the leap years. The beginning of the year was the 1st of Adar (corresponding to 1st of March in the Julian calendar). At the beginning of each year the number of the year was chosen to be identical to the year of the traditional Hijri calendar at this day. Therefore after approximately 32 years a jump in the number of the year occurred (e. g. after 1220 followed 1222 and after 1254 followed 1256). This rule was broken in 1888 A.D. when it was decided to continue the sequence of years without a gap. Therefore in the following period until the abrogation of the Maliyya calendar in 1928 there is a difference in the number of the years in the Maliyya and the Islamic calendar of up to three. In addition to the Gregorian calendar, the Julian calendar is provided for didactic reasons, or eventually for the conversion of historical Julian dates (e.g. form Protestant countries of from Russia).