Cold War
- Bibliography of Asia Studies (database)Try a search for "Southeast Asia (and) Cold War." (255 results). B.A.S. has journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings. Additional databases such as Academic Search Premier, Historical Abstracts and others can be included in the search by using the "choose databases" feature,
- U.S. intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991 (Database)Provides students and researchers with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991)
Southeast Asia's Cold War: an Interpretive History by Call Number: DS526.7 .A5754 2018Publication Date: 2018 (Honolulu : University of Hawaiʻi Press)(On the link web page, choose "Contents" link for list of PDF chapters). This book examines the international politics of the region from within rather than without. When viewed through a Southeast Asian lens, the Cold War can be traced back to the interwar years and antagonisms between indigenous communists and their opponents, the colonial governments and their later successors The threat of global Communism orchestrated from Moscow, which had such a powerful hold in the West, passed largely unnoticed in Southeast Asia, where ideology took a back seat to regime preservation. China and its evolving attitude toward the region proved far more compelling.
Southeast Asia and the Cold War by Call Number: DS525.8 .S68 2012 (also full text online)Publication Date: 2012 (Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge)"This book focuses on the impact and legacy of the Cold War on the various countries in the region, as well as on the region itself.... examining not only how the conflict shaped the milieu in which national and regional change unfolded but also how the context influenced the course and tenor of the Cold War in the region."
The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: a Political, Social, and Military History by Call Number: D840 .E63 2008 + (in Olin Reference)Publication Date: 2008 (Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO)A comprehensive five-volume reference on the Cold War. Vol. 4 includes Southeast Asia and SEATO (page 1181-1185). More than 1200 entries on individual countries, persons, events, conflicts, diplomacy, and more. Maps and photos. Vol. 5 has primary documents from the Cold war period (some for Southeast Asia, including Esenhower's 1954 press conference where he puts forward his "domino theory."
Cultures at War: the Cold War and Cultural Expression in Southeast Asia by Call Number: DS523.2 .C85 2010 + (Online also; click on title)Publication Date: 2010 (Ithaca, N.Y. : Southeast Asia Program, Cornell UniversityThe essays in this book offer the most detailed and probing examination to date of the cultural dimension of the Cold War in Southeast Asia. Southeast Asian culture from the late 1940s to the late 1970s was primarily shaped by a long-standing search for national identity and independence, which took place in the context of intense rivalry between the United States and the Soviet Union, with the Peoples' Republic of China emerging in 1949 as another major international competitor for influence in Southeast Asia. The essays in this collection analyze the ways in which art, literature, film, theater, spectacle, physical culture, and the popular press represented Southeast Asian responses to the Cold War....
Vietnam War
- Vietnamese Boat People: Stories of Hope, Survival and Resilience Podcast. Between 1975 to 1992, almost two million Vietnamese risked their lives to flee oppression and hardship after the Vietnam War, in one of the largest mass exoduses in modern history. Escaping by boat, many found freedom in foreign land, many were captured and brutally punished, and many did not survive the journey. This population of people are known as the ‘Vietnamese Boat People' and these are their stories.
- Vietnam Warby James Wllbanks, 2017. Oxford Bibliographies Online. This is a good first place to start. Has an introduction and overview as well as key books.
Vietnam War: the Essential Reference Guide by Publication Date: 2013 (electronic resource)"[This book] provides a compendium of the key people, places, organizations, treaties, and events that make up the history of the war, explaining its causes, how it was conducted, and its far-reaching consequences. Written by recognized authorities, this ready-reference volume provides essential information all in one place and includes a comprehensive list of additional sources for further study, a detailed chronology ...,biographies of major political figures and military leaders, and primary source documents..."
Historical Dictionary of the War in Vietnam by
With this book focus especially on pages 501-511 for an introduction to the topic. The major events associated with the war will serve as the foundation of the book while additional entries will explore the military, diplomatic, political, social, and cultural events that made the war unique... through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries.
Call Number: DS557.7 .F735 2011 (online also; click on title)Publication Date: 2011 (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press)
The Vietnam War: a Concise International History by
Mark Lawrence offers readers a superb short account of this key moment in U.S. as well as world history, based on the latest European and American research and on newly opened archives in China, Russia, and Vietnam.
Call Number: DS557.7 .L378 2008Publication Date: 2008 (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press)
Hanoi's War: an International History of the War for Peace in Vietnam by
[The author] examines the international context in which North Vietnamese leaders pursued the war and American intervention ended. This riveting narrative takes the reader from the marshy swamps of the Mekong Delta to the bomb-saturated Red River Delta, from the corridors of power in Hanoi and Saigon to the Nixon White House...
Publication Date: 2012 (Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press)
A Vietnam War Reader: a Documentary History from American and Vietnamese Perspectives by
This concise collection of primary sources opens a valuable window on an extraordinarily complex conflict. Michael Hunt brings together the views of the conflict's disparate players--from Communist leaders, Vietnamese peasants, Saigon loyalists, and North Vietnamese soldiers to U.S. policymakers, soldiers, and critics of the war.
Publication Date: 2010 (Chapel Hill, N.C. : University of North Carolina Press)
Bloods, an Oral History of the Vietnam War: by
A "New York Times" Notable Book, this classic, powerful book--a nationally bestselling firsthand account of 20 African-American men who served in the Vietnam War.
Call Number: DS559.5 .B65 (Africana Library.Publication Date: 1984 (New York : Random House)
As Seen by Both Sides: American and Vietnamese Artists Look at the War by
For the first time since the end of the Second Indochina War, works on the war and its aftermath by both Vietnamese and American artists have been brought together in an exhibition that will travel in both countries. Included are works by twenty Vietnamese and twenty American artists, most of whom are veterans of the war and all of whom testify to the irrevocable impact of that experience on their work.... The Vietnamese pieces have never been exhibited in the United States. Many were created in the field by soldiers who have used whatever materials were at hand and who carried their work around with them for years. This book also includes a photograph of and interview with each artist.
Call Number: N 6512 A78 + (in Kroch Asia stacks, level 1)Publication Date: 1991 (Boston, Mass. : Indochina Arts Project, William Joiner Foundation ; Amherst, MA : Distributed by the University of Massachusetts Press)
The Girl in the Picture: the Story of Kim Phuc, the Photograph, and the Vietnam War by
"On June 8, 1972, a photograph flashed over the wire of a nine-year-old girl, running naked in terror down a highway after a misplaced napalm strike on her village in South Vietnam. Known the world over as the "napalm girl" in the Pulitzer Prize-winning photograph, Kim Phuc was but one victim of many in a war that was ending for America as it brought its last troops home less than a year later. When the northern Communists won the war in 1975, Kim Phuc was only the "girl in the picture"; her identity and whereabouts in Vietnam unknown even to the new regime.This is the story of Kim Phuc's struggle to reclaim first her badly burned body and then to wrest control from those seeing her as a public symbol. It culminates in her escape to the West in 1992, where she is UNESCO's Honorary Ambassador."
Call Number: DS559.8.C53 C48 2000Publication Date: 2000 (New York : Viking, )
