Film
Southeast Asia on Screen: from Independence to Financial Crisis (1945-1998) by Publication Date: 2020 (Amsterdam : Amsterdam University Press)After the end of World War II when many Southeast Asian nations gained national independence, and up until the Asian Financial Crisis, film industries here had distinctive and colourful histories shaped by unique national and domestic conditions. [This book] addresses the similar themes, histories, trends, technologies and sociopolitical events that have moulded the art and industry of film in this region,
Film in Contemporary Southeast Asia: Cultural Interpretatiion and Social Intervention by
This book discusses contemporary film in all the main countries of Southeast Asia, and the social practices and ideologies which films either represent or oppose. It shows how film acquires signification through cultural interpretation, and how film also serves as a site of contestations between social and political agents seeking to promote, challenge, or erase certain meanings, messages or ideas from public circulation.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A755 F53 2012Publication Date: 2012 ( Routledge )
The Colonial Documentary Film in South and South-East Asia by Publication Date: 2017 (Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press)Based on rare archival documents and films, this anthology is the first to focus primarily on the use of official and colonial documentary films in the South and South-East Asian region in the colonial, late colonial and immediate post-colonial period. Analyses missionary films, travelogues, newsreels, TV series and guerrilla documentaries. Includes the Berita Singapura film series; Merdeka for Malaya; Ho Chi Minh in France; Flores Film; Ria Rago; Archives of the Planet series
Art
Crescent Moon: Islamic Art & Civilisation in Southeast Asia by
History and significance of Islamic art in Southeast Asia. In addition, "the revelation of new art forms in gold, silk, lacquer, porcelain, and stone illustrate the transformations of indigenous motifs and techniques and unique developments in the arts of Islamic Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines, a s well as the Muslim communities of Thailand, Burma, Cambodia, and Vietnam".
Call Number: N7311 .B46 2005 ++Publication Date: 2005 (Seattle, WA : Distributed in the United States of America by University of Washington Press,)
Life, Death and Magic:2000 Years of Southeast Asian Ancestral Art by
For thousands of years across mainland and island Southeast Asia, the deification of significant ancestors and the veneration of spirits of nature has formed the basis of traditional beliefs. These beliefs are in turn the impetus for the creation of splendid and extraordinary works of art in fiber, stone, metal, wood, and clay--made to protect and give pleasure to the living, to honor the ancestors, and to secure safe passage for the human soul between this world and the afterlife. Life, Death and Magic provides an evocative overview of Southeast Asia's ancestral arts and culture, from prehistoric times to the twenty-first century.
Call Number: N7311 .M39 2010 +Publication Date: 2010 ( Canberra : National Gallery of Australia ; Seattle, WA : Distributed in the United States by University of Washington Press)
Post-Tsunami Art: Emerging Artists from South-East Asia by Call Number: N7311 .P68 2009 +Publication Date: 2009 (Bologna [Italy] : Damiani)
Between Declarations and Dreams:: Art of Southeast Asia Since the 19th Century by Publication Date: 2015 (National Gallery Singapore)Catalogue of an exhibition. The curatorial narrative explores four main themes places in a broadly chronological sequence, each one critically examining the shared artistic impulse of the region for each period: Authority and Anxiety, Imagining Country and Self, Manifesting the Nation, and Re:Defining Art.
The Art of Southeast Asia by Call Number: N 7301 R26 1990Publication Date: New York, N.Y. : Thames and Hudson, 1990.Briefly discusses the history of styles of painting, sculpture, and architecture in the countries of Southeast Asia.- Southeast of Now: Directions in Contemporary and Modern Art in AsiaCall Number: Online.Publication Date: 2017 -- (NUS Press)Journal published by National University of Singapore. Online from Vol 1 (2017) to current.
Art of ASEAN: Our ExhibitionCall Number: N7311 .A765 2015 ++Publication Date: 2015 (Kuala Lumpur : Bank Negara Malaysia Museum and Art Gallery)Catalog of an Exhibition Nov. 2015-Feb. 2016 at Bank Negara Malaysia Museum and Art Gallery. Works of 30 regional rising stars from 10 countries.
- ARTstorDatabase that covers the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Can serch by "Southeast Asia", then use the Geography limit to narrow to a country, and Classification limit to select a type of art.
- Claire Holt PapersContains 1,780 slides of Indonesia, including art, architecture, painting, sculpture, textiles.
- Johnson Museum of ArtImages from the Asian & Pacific collection.
Music & Performing Arts
- Grove Dictionary of Music(part of Oxford Music Online) This link leads to 204 articles about or mentioning Southeast Asia. Can expand search by using the link to" Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music." Can sort results alphabetically.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music -- Audio Selections by Call Number: ML100 .G16 1997 + (In Asia Reference)Publication Date: 2002 (New York : Garland Pub., 1998-2002)from vol.4, Southeast Asia, 15 audio selections. Use link at top "Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music" to access book, vol 4, on Southeast Asia.
The Garland Handbook of Southeast Asian Music by Call Number: ML330 .G37 2008 (Music Library, Lincoln Hall).Publication Date: 2008 (New York : Routledge)Has accompanying CD. Contains updated and reduced articles from the original but places more emphasis on introductory essays on unifying themes, such as cultural influence, and modernization.
- Southeast Asia (Music)Oxford Bibliography. Brief overview, with list of many key sources.
- Alexander Street Press Music Online: World MusicAudio tracks from Asian traditional and popular music. In the "Refine Your Search" section on the left, select Country. A menu will open where you can choose a country. Types of music include gamelan from Indonesia, royal court music of Cambodia, pop singers from Philippines.
- Mandalay Marionettes Theater Puppet ShowPart of the Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL), these 10 videos include an introduction and history of Burmese puppets and how they are made (no.1 and 5), and various performances which show the beautifully detailed costumes and master puppeteers.
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre by
Two volumes. Entries are arranged alphabetically and cover countries as well as terminology, forms of theater, music and musical instruments., and dance in theater.
Call Number: PN 2860 E53 2007 + (Reference, Kroch Asia Reading Room)Publication Date: 2007 (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press)- Encyclopedia of MalaysiaCall Number: DS591.5 .E53 1998+ (in Asia Reference)Publication Date: 2011 (Singapore : Archipelago Press)Vol.8: Performing Arts. Covers puppet theatre, theatre as ritual, storyteling & elementary theatre, dance & dance theatre; folk & syncretic music; court patronage; Islam & performing arts; contemporary performing arts; film & TV dramas.
- Cornell Gamelan Ensemble"Gendhing Bonang Dhenggung minggah ladrang, laras pelog pathet lima" during the concert "Music from 24,615 Islands" held at Sage Hall, Cornell University on February 27, 2009
- Bibliography of Performing Arts in the EastTheatre, dance, puppetry, cinema, plays, masks, martial arts. (Music when connected with dance or theatre). List of sources of information organized by country or area (Southeast Asia).