- Research Guide: Quick Reference Sources on Southeast AsiaIncludes print and online sources.
- Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaCall Number: REF DS4 .L48x 2002 6 vols.Publication Date: 2002 (New York : Charles Scribner's Sons ; Farmington Hills, MI : Thomson/Gale)6 volumes. "Focus is on Asia since 1850, but earlier historical information is also provided to show how the past has influenced contemporary topics."
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian HistoryCollection of articles covering pre-history to contemporary era. Each article includes links to digital materials, reference works, and list of sources for further info. Use search box to find 172 items on SEA that can be further refined from the list of specific subjects.
- Encyclopedia of Asian History by 4 volumes. Covers history, geography, politics, culture and peoples of Asia, including 1200 biographies.Call Number: REF DS31 .E56 + 4 vols.Publication Date: 1988 ( New York, NY : Scribner)
- The Geography of Southeast Asia:a Scholarly Bibliography and Guide byCall Number: Z3221 .R83 2010 (in Asia Reference. Online also.)Publication Date: 2010 (Lanham, MD : University Press of America)This collection identifies, organizes, and presents various scholarly publications on subjects ranging from cultural-social geography, economic geography, historical geography, physical geography, political geography, and urban geography.
- Southeast Asian Affairs byCall Number: REF DS502 .S72 + Current ed. in Reference and online; previous eds. on level 1, and online.Publication Date: 1974-- to current (Singapore : Institute of Southeast Asian Studies)Organized by country. "...a comprehensive annual review devoted to the international relations, politics, and economics of the region and its nation-states."
- Southeast Asia Program Data Papers SeriesThe Data Papers were published by the Cornell University Southeast Asia Program from 1950 through 1982. includes dictionaries, annotated translations of significant works, fieldwork reports, bibliographies, and historical analyses of important social and political developments in Southeast Asia
- Research Guide: Statistics Sources for AsiaGeneral sources as well as specific ones for SEA region and individual countries.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesIndexes mainly scholarly articles and book chapters,1977-present, including many journals not indexed elsewhere. Covers primarily humanities and social sciences for East, South, and Southeast Asia.
- Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL)SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
- ASEANOfficial web site of Association of Southeast Asian Nations
- Europa World Plus: The Far East and AustralasiaIncludes brief but comprehensive history of individual countries."The main political and economic developments in each of the countries and territories of the region are examined in authoritative essays, which are complemented by fully revised directory material covering the fields of government and politics, society and media, and business and commerce, and the latest economic, financial and demographic statistical data"
- CIA World FactbookInformation on SEA countries with expandable topics (many include statistics)..
- Southeast Asia VisionsSoutheast Asia Visions, a collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. The site provides online access to more than 350 books and journal articles written in English and French. Includes some 10,000 images, drawings, photographs, prints and maps. Searchable by keyword, geographic location, or format.
- Human Rights WatchLatest news briefs from around the world. "Countries" tab includes Southeast Asian countries, with current overview of political situation and human rights updates.
- UNDataUnited Nations data website. statistical tables, searchable by topic, country, or region, including South-eastern Asia.
- Internet Usage"Internet Users, Facebook Subscribers & Population Statistics for 35 countries and regions in Asia." Click on Asia Only for list of individual countries. Also lists top 20 countries for internet usage. [commercial web site]
- Library PressDisplayLibrary PressDisplay provides online access for the last 90 days to over 6,000 newspapers and magazines from more than 100 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Asia Information & Reference
Kroch Library 180
Ithaca, NY, 14853
Ithaca, NY, 14853