Indonesia
- Indonesia Information Portal(Government of Indonesia site) Indonesian or English language options.
- House of Representatives of the Republic of IndonesiaExtensive list of links to State Institutions, Ministries, Non-Ministerial State Institutions, Army Force/National Police, and International sites.
- Indonesia (World Bibliographical Series)Online. Print copy is in Southeast Asia reference section in Asia Reading Room, Z3271 .K728w . Older but useful annotated listings of sources of information covering a large range of topics.
Historical Dictionary of Indonesia by
"This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Indonesia contains a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 900 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture." Be certain to read the Introduction to the Bibliography (pages 555-564)
Call Number: REF DS633 .C75x 2015Publication Date: 2015 (Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield) 3rd. ed.- Indonesian HeritageCall Number: REF DS615 .I532w 1996Publication Date: 1996-- (Jakarta : Published by Buku Antar Bangsa for Grolier International )10 volumes, each covering a specific topic (history, plants & wildlife, architecture, performing arts, religion, language & literature, visual arts...)
A History of Modern Indonesia by
Guided by the life and writings of the country's most famous author, Pramoedya Ananta Toer, Adrian Vickers takes the reader on a journey across the social and political landscape of twentieth-century Indonesia in this innovative and timely account. Drawing on insights from literature, art and anthropology, Adrian Vickers portrays a complex and resilient people borne out of a troubled past.
Publication Date: 2005 (Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press)
A History of Modern Indonesia Since c.1200 by
Recognized as the most authoritative general account of Indonesia, this revised and expanded fourth edition has been updated in light of new scholarship. New chapters at the end of the book bring the story up to the present day, including discussion of recent events such as the 2002 Bali terrorist bombings and the 2004 tsunami.
Call Number: DS634 .R53 2008 [no e-book available yet]Publication Date: 2008 (Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press) 4th ed- A Preliminary Analysis of the October 1, 1965 Coup in Indonesia byCall Number: DS644 .A692 + (Online also; click on title)Publication Date: 1971 (Cornell Modern Indonesia Project)
Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Indonesia by Publication Date: 2018 (New York : Routledge)Bringing together original contributions by leading scholars of Indonesia in political science, history, anthropology, sociology, religious studies, and gender studies this handbook provides an up-to-date, interdisciplinary, and academically rigorous exploration of Indonesia"
The Indonesia Reader by
{This book} includes more than 150 selections: journalists' articles, explorers' chronicles, photographs, poetry, stories, cartoons, drawings, letters, speeches, and more. Many pieces are by Indonesians; some are translated into English for the first time. All have introductions by the volume's editors. Well-known figures... are featured alongside other artists and scholars, as well as politicians, revolutionaries, colonists, scientists, and activists. Arranged chronologically, The Indonesia Reader conveys the long history and the cultural, ethnic, and ecological diversity of this far-flung archipelago nation.
Publication Date: 2009 (Duke University Press )
- Cornell Modern Indonesia CollectionFull text online writings on Indonesia (Southeast Asia Program).
- Leiden Uniuversity CatalogThis is a great place to find materials about Indonesia
- NelitiOpen access site for repositories, journals, and conferences & seminars in Indonesia.
- Neliti list of Indonesian journalsA-Z list of 3280 academic journals published in Indonesia. Use filters to choose field (subject), language, accreditation status.
East Timor (Timor-Leste)
- Government of Timor-LesteOfficial web site.
- Timor (World Bibliographical Series)Online. Print copy is in Southeast Asia section of Asia reading room, Z3277.T58 R88. Older (1992) but useful listings of annotated sources covering a large number of topics.
- Historical Dictionary of East Timor byCall Number: REF DS649.5 .G85 2011Publication Date: 2011 ( Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press)Online version (click on title;) print copy in Kroch Asia Reference. Be certain to read the Introduction to the Bibliography (pages 193-201)
Timor Leste: Politics, History and Culture by Call Number: DS649.5 .M65 2010Publication Date: 2010 (London ; New York : Routledge)
Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Timor-Leste by Publication Date: 2019 (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge)Reflecting on the legacies of Timor-Leste's remarkable journey from colonialism to sovereign and democratic Independence, [this book] provides a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of life in Timor-Leste. Politics and governance, Economics and development, Social policies and the terms of inclusion, Cultural impacts Regional relations
