Laos
- Lao People's Democratic RepublicOfficial web site. May have to use Google translate if the English language option doesn't work. The Government tab has a drop-down menu which includes "about Lao PDR."
- Laos (World Bibliographical Series)(Online. Print copy located in dictionary stand in Asia reading room near the computers.). Older (1991) but useful research book containing annotated title listings of major and standard information sources covering a large range of topics.
Historical Dictionary of Laos by Call Number: REF DS 555.25 S78 2008Publication Date: 2008 (Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press)"[Contains] chronology, introductory essay, appendixes, maps, bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important persons, places, events, and institutions and significant political, economic, social, and cultural aspects." Be certain to read the Introduction to the Bibliography (pages 411-420)
Creating Laos: the Making of a Lao Space between Indochina and Siam, 1860-1945 by Call Number: DS555.5 .I95 2008Publication Date: 2008 (Copenhagen : NIAS Press)This book examines the process through which Laos came into existence under French colonial rule through to the end of World War II the book charts the emergence of a notion of a specifically Lao cultural identity that served to buttress Laos as a separate ‘ Lao space , both in relation to Siam / Thailand and within French Indochina . Based on an impressive variety of primary sources , many of them never before used in studies of Lao nationalism , this book makes a significant contribution to Lao historical studies and to the study of nation-building in Southeast Asia.
Laos: a Country Study by Call Number: REF DS 555.3 W57 1995 (Also online: click on title)Publication Date: 1995 (Washington, DC : Federal Research Division, Library of Congress)
Laos: A Work in Progress by Call Number: DS 555.3 .C67 2014Publication Date: 2014 ( [Vientiane] : Lao Insight Books)10 chapters covering statistics along with descriptive information . Chapters cover Measuring Laos, Ethnicity, Religion, Geography & Environment, Resources, Infrastructure, Economy, Internal Affairs, Security, External Affairs. Each chapter covers a detailed range of sub-topics.
