ASIAN 2208 Introduction to Southeast Asia: Reference Sources and Databases

Includes print and online sources.

Collection of articles covering pre-history to contemporary era. Each article includes links to digital materials, reference works, and list of sources for further info. Use search box to find 172 items on SEA that can be further refined from the list of specific subjects.

The Data Papers were published by the Cornell University Southeast Asia Program from 1950 through 1982. includes dictionaries, annotated translations of significant works, fieldwork reports, bibliographies, and historical analyses of important social and political developments in Southeast Asia

General sources as well as specific ones for SEA region and individual countries.

Indexes mainly scholarly articles and book chapters,1977-present, including many journals not indexed elsewhere. Covers primarily humanities and social sciences for East, South, and Southeast Asia.

SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

The Oxford Bibliography series has volumes covering many topics. Each topic has an introductory essay, and list of sources (annotated) for further research.
These are the results for a search on "Southeast Asia"

Official web site of Association of Southeast Asian Nations

Includes brief but comprehensive history of individual countries."The main political and economic developments in each of the countries and territories of the region are examined in authoritative essays, which are complemented by fully revised directory material covering the fields of government and politics, society and media, and business and commerce, and the latest economic, financial and demographic statistical data"

Information on SEA countries with expandable topics (many include statistics)..

Southeast Asia Visions, a collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. The site provides online access to more than 350 books and journal articles written in English and French. Includes some 10,000 images, drawings, photographs, prints and maps. Searchable by keyword, geographic location, or format.

Latest news briefs from around the world. "Countries" tab includes Southeast Asian countries, with current overview of political situation and human rights updates.

United Nations data website. statistical tables, searchable by topic, country, or region, including South-eastern Asia.

"Internet Users, Facebook Subscribers & Population Statistics for 35 countries and regions in Asia." Click on Asia Only for list of individual countries. Also lists top 20 countries for internet usage. [commercial web site]

Library PressDisplay provides online access for the last 90 days to over 6,000 newspapers and magazines from more than 100 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.