ASIAN 2208 Introduction to Southeast Asia: Malaysia & Singapore

The Historical Dictionary of Malaysia encapsulates the development of Malaysia from prehistory to the early years of the 21st century. It covers not only Malaysia's history but also its politics, economy, multi-ethnic society, multiculturalism, scientific and technological developments, and the state of its environment. Be certain to read the Introduction to the Bibliography (pages 489-493)

16 volumes covering history, geography, arts and architecture, government & politics 1940-2006, early rulers, peoples & traditions, economy, visual & performing arts, sports, animals and plants.

Overview of activities and achievements of the government and ministries of the gov't.

[This book] provides a comprehensive survey of significant topics in Malaysian politics, economy, and society today, focusing on issues, institutions, and trends. It is divided into four thematic sections Domestic politics, Economics, Social policy and social development, and International relations and security.

(2011 print copy is on Reference, DS 610.4, M85 2011). Be certain to read the Introduction to the Bibliography (pages 313-318)

The Encyclopedia of Singapore focuses on the period since the island-nation's independence but also provides essential background on the country's history. It includes brief entries on the leaders of the struggle for independence and economic progress and includes many cultural figures as well. Other entries describe important places, institutions, and events. In addition, there is a brief chronology and an introduction to place events in their historical context, and a bibliography..,."

Singapore: The Encyclopedia contains over 2,500 alphabetically arranged entries on a vast range of topics, for four decades after the achievement of full independence. More extensive than the Corfields' encyclopedia.

[This book] documents over 700 years of Chinese history in Singapore, from Chinese presence in the region through the millennium-old Hokkien trading world to the waves of mass migration that came after the establishment of a British settlement, and through to the development and birth of the nation. Across 38 chapters and parts, readers are taken through the complex historical mosaic of Overseas Chinese social, economic and political activity in Singapore and the region...