Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies(Some links to full text. If Get It! Cornell does not link to full text directly from the database, look up the source title in the library catalog. Often there will be online versions available).
In "choose databases" at top of search screen, other databases can be included in the search, such as academic search Premier or ATLA Religion Database. - ARDA: American Religion Data ArchiveIncludes data for other countries. Pie charts of denomination/religion breakdowns; indexes for state regulation of religion, (state) religious minorities discrimination, state funding of religion, societal discrimination of religious minorities. Also an interactive satellite map; brief country history.
- ATLA Religion DatabaseIndex to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- Asian Art Museum (San Francisco)Southeast Asia section. Includes background info on SEA, Buddhism and Hinduism; videos and photos on rituals, artworks, puppetry, and more. Scroll down to bottom of web page for additional sections on Beliefs, Folklore & Mythology, Geography.
Religion and Ritual
Religion in Southeast Asia: An Encyclopedia of Faiths and Cultures by
"This encyclopedia covers the religions and religious traditions of various Southeast Asian countries. Highlights important information about countries, cultures, religious practices, and key figures in 50 sidebars."
Call Number: REF BL 2050 R43 2015+ (also full-text online)Publication Date: 2015 (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO)- Routledge Handbook of Religions in Asia by [This book] provides a contemporary and comprehensive overview of religion in contemporary Asia.. The wide-ranging introduction discusses issues surrounding Orientalism... Individual chapters are presented in five sections: Asian Origins: religious formations; Missions, States and Religious Competition; Reform Movements and Modernity; Popular Religions; Religion and Globalization: social dimensions.Publication Date: 2015 (London ; New York : Routledge)
Asian Visions of Authority: Religion and the Modern States of East and Southeast Asia by
Emerging from a conference held in Thailand, May 1989, this volume examines some of the tensions and conflicts between states and religious communities over the scope of religious views of the communities..
Publication Date: 1994 (Honolulu : University of Hawaii Press)
Religion and Nationalism in Southeast Asia by
"At the heart of many religious conflicts in Southeast Asia lies competing conceptions of nation and nationhood, identity and belonging, and loyalty and legitimacy. Joseph Liow examines the ways in which religious identity nourishes collective consciousness of a people who see themselves as a nation, perhaps even as a constituent part of a nation, but anchored in shared faith.
Call Number: BL1055 .L56 2016Publication Date: 2016 (Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York : Cambridge University Press)
- Religion and Popular Beliefs of Southeast Asia Before c.1500by J.G. De Casparis, 1993. In vol.1, Cambridge History of Southeast Asia (From Early Times to c.1800 )
Mythology and Folklore in South-East Asia by
The first anthology in English of South-East Asian myths, this book is an engaging look at these rich storytelling traditions. It includes new translations of some shorter tales and concise paraphrases of longer epics. There are separate sections devoted to poetry, drama, proverbs, and prose from various regions and cultures.
Call Number: GR308 .K58x 1999 (in Asia stacks)Publication Date: 2000 (Shah Alam, Malaysia ; New York : Oxford University Press)- Indonesian HeritageCall Number: DS615 .I532w 1996 (in Asia Reference)Publication Date: 1997-- (Jakarta : Published by Buku Antar Bangsa for Grolier International)vol. 9, "Religion and Ritual." This volume is only.in print, not online. .
- Encyclopedia of MalaysiaCall Number: DS591.5 .E53 1998 + (in Asia Reference)Publication Date: 1998-2011 (Singapore : Archipelago Press)Vol. 10, "Religions and Beliefs." This vol. is only in print, not online.
Islam
- Research Guide: Islam in Southeast Asia(by Ali Houissa) Includes a history of Islam in Southeast Asia, women in Islam, Islam databases, as well as religious demographics for countries.
- Islam in Southeast Asiaby Fred von der Mehden, in Oxford Bibliographies Online. Provides a brief overview and introduction to the topic with key sources
Islam and Asia: a History by
Chiara Formichi explores the ways in which Islam and Asia have shaped each other's histories, societies and cultures from the seventh century to today. Challenging the assumed dominance of the Middle East in the development of Islam, Formichi argues for Asia's centrality in the development of global Islam as a religious, social and political reality. Readers learn how and why Asia is central to the history of Islam, and vice versa, considering the impact of Asia's Muslims on Islam; and how Islam became an integral part of Asia, and its influence on local conceptions of power, the sciences, arts, and bureaucracy. Grounding her argument in specific case studies, Formichi ultimately concludes that the existence of Islamized interactions across Asia have allowed for multi-directional influences on Islamic practices and interpretations throughout the Muslim world.
Publication Date: 2020 (Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press)- New Cambridge History of Islam byPublication Date: 2010 ( Cambridge University Press )Vol.3, The Eastern Islamic World, Eleventh to Eighteenth Centuries. Part III discusses Southeast Asia.
- The Islamic World in the Age of Western DominancePublication Date: 2010Vol 5 of New Cambridge History of Islam. See chapters 9 (South-East Asia and China to 1910)
and 21 (South-East Asia from 1910). 
Islam in Southeast Asia by
This general survey... includes the geographical origins and sources by which the faith spread in this region; the social, economic and political profiles of the Muslim communities; relations between Muslims and non-Muslims and between Muslims and the State; the strands and trends that shapes the role of Islam and the Muslims in the national body politic; and the challenges confronting Muslims.
Call Number: BP63.A38 H87 2008Publication Date: 2008 (Singapore : Institute of Southeast Asian Studies,)
Islam in Southeast Asia by
Volume I focuses on the historical, cultural, sociological, theological, and intellectual aspects of Islam in Southeast Asia. Volume II assesses trends in Muslim politics in Southeast Asia...Volume III identifies and analyses the primary actors and agents that are involved in the formation and development of a burgeoning pan-regional parallel civil society network..Volume IV examines the nexus between Islam, politics, and terrorism in the aftermath of the Bali bombings of 2002."
Call Number: BP63.A38 I86 2010 (in Asia Reference) print; 4 vols.Publication Date: 2010 London ; New York : Routledge)
Buddhism
- Buddhism in Southeast Asia byPublication Date: 2019Article in Oxford Bibliographies Online. "This bibliography provides a good introduction and key sources for studying Buddhism"
The Buddhist World of Southeast Asia by Publication Date: 2010 (Albany : State University of New York Press)A wide-ranging, readable account of the Theravada Buddhist thought and practice in the Southeast Asian societies of Thailand, Myanmar (Burma), Laos, Cambodia, and Sri Lanka.- Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism by "Comprehensive collection of essays on contemporary Buddhism all over the world" Includes section on 6 Southeast Asian countries. "The essays in the first section examine the historical development of Buddhist traditions throughout the world. The second section tracks the relationship between Buddhist traditions and particular themes. These chapters review Buddhist interactions with contemporary topics..."Publication Date: 2017 (New York, NY : Oxford University Press)
Theravada Buddhism: Continuity, Diversity and Identity by
Explores Theravada Buddhism's origins, evolution, teachings, and practices Considers the practice of Theravada beyond Sri Lanka and Thailand, by exploring a wealth of material from countries including Bangladesh, Cambodia, and Vietnam Reveals its rich and varied traditions, and corrects common misunderstandings about links to other practices.
Call Number: BQ7185 .C76 2014Publication Date: 2013 (London : Wiley Blackwell)
Hinduism
- Hinduism [Southeast Asia]p.104- 108 in Religion in Southeast Asia: An Encyclopedia of Faiths and Cultures
Christianity
- The Oxford Handbook of Christianity in Asia byPublication Date: 2014 (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, USA)
- Christianity [Southeast Asia]p.35-40 in Religion in Southeast Asia: An Encyclopedia of Faiths and Cultures