Oxford Art
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships and a digital image search.
Other Online Encyclopedias
-
Oxford ReferenceCall Number: Online
-
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryCall Number: Online
Benezit
Included in Oxford Art Online is the Bénézit Dictionary of Artists (also available in print at the Library Annex). Bénézit includes some auction records in biographical entries on individual artists.
-
Bénézit (via Oxford Art)The Benezit Dictionary of Artists offers nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and featuring regular updates. Benezit contains thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies. In addition to its outstanding scope and depth, two features in particular make Benezit unique among art reference works: its coverage of obscure artists and the inclusion of images of artists’ signatures, monograms, and stamps.
Reference Collections
The print reference collection on art and art history is located on the first level of the Mui Ho Fine Arts Library.
In Olin Library, the print reference collection is located on the first floor (ask a member of the reference staff for help locating reference materials during the current renovation project).
Examples of resources in print and online include: bibliographies, directories, dictionaries (of symbols, terms, techniques, etc.), a few catalogues raisonnés, subject encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, manuals...
Oxford Bibliographies
Offers bibliographies on many, many topics (a few pertinent individual titles listed below). Provides introductions to each topic area, and includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Help from Oxford: Anatomy of an Article
Other Databases
-
Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon Internationale KünstlerdatenbankCall Number: Onlinecontains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than 1 million artists - more than any other database in the world. Offers biographies in full text from A to Z. Several thousand art history sources are evaluated on an ongoing basis for the database, and the content is continually updated and expanded. The database provides a user-friendly interface with full-text search and multiple search criteria.
-
Art History Research netOpen Access Site consisting of five related and linked databases:
Publications digitized by AHRnet Research Sources [PDF]
ReView - Contains the full text of a wide range of International Art and Architecture journals published between the 1860s and the 1930s
Arts + Architecture Profiles - Contains biographical data on nearly 45,000 artists, architects, designers and craftspeople
Design Abstracts Retrospective - Contains abstracts of articles and an index of images in design journals published between 1900-1986
Research Sources: 1: British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s - This is an ongoing project to digitize every book, exhibition catalogue, pamphlet and conference paper, as well as much of the journal literature published in Britain and Ireland during the late nineteenth century and early years of the twentieth century
2. The Poster - Contains extensive research data on the history of the Poster
Looking for books not held by Cornell
Looking for books not held by Cornell? Try the WorldCat (an OCLC FirstSearch) database.
