Art History and Visual Studies: A Research Guide: Arts-related Data Sources

Artsdata.ca is a national knowledge graph for the arts. It "aims to empower the Canadian arts sector to actively promote a more fair and equitable digital ecosystem. This initiative is building a linked open data knowledge graph of the arts that is open and accessible to all."

The KunstBibliothek Köln (KuBi) contains more than 500,000 titles from the fields of art, architecture and photography. Selected full-text collections are integrated into the arthistoricum.net search, which can be searched both in the metadata and in the indexed and OCR-encoded full text.

A (U.S.) repository of data about the arts and culture acquired through the auspices of federally-funded agencies and other organizations.

Data, resources, and insights for the arts. SMU DataArts brings together thousands of partners and participants united in one common cause: to advance the impact and influence of the arts, culture, and humanities through the power of high-quality data

Collections of statistics, graphics, and summary results from data-mining about the arts. THE NEA also deposits data in the National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture

A global registry of research data repositories

ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.

Sampler of research articles on the arts ecosystem and on the arts' value and impact for individuals and communities, based on data housed at NADAC and elsewhere.

Lee, Kangsan; Park, Jaehyuk; Goree, Samuel; Crandall, David; ahn, Yong-Yeol (2024). Buying a Work of Art or an Artist? Exploring the Impact of Visual and Social Features on Art Prices. figshare. Dataset. Cited in Lee, K., Park, J., Goree, S. et al. Social signals predict contemporary art prices better than visual features, particularly in emerging markets. Sci Rep 14, 11615 (2024). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-024-60957-z

Data and code used to support the analyses in Painting by Numbers: Data-Driven Histories of Nineteenth-Century Art (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2021) and data and bibliography --the original source material that support the majority of the quantitative analysis in Nika Elder and Diana Seave Greenwald, "Enslaved Labor and Cultural Capital: A Quantitative and Qualitative Analysis of Copley’s Colonial Patrons and Their Circum-Atlantic World," Winterthur Portfolio, 54.4, Winter 2020, pp.223-243.

My project surveys the development of Jansons History of Art across its eight editions as well as Gardners Art Through the Ages through its sixteen editions, looking particularly at the change in artist demographic through time. Additionally, this paper investigates which external variables such as artist gender, ethnicity, race, nationality, number of exhibitions at the Museum of Modern Art and The Whitney, and if any, predict the magnitude of an artists inclusion in art history survey texts...

Data and documentation from the Photographic Collection of the Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max Planck Institute for Art History, Rome, Italy

Matthew Lincoln is a software engineer for text & data mining at JSTOR Labs, where he builds infrastructure to make text and image collections usable as data by students, researchers, and developers

Database of exhibition catalogs. It is intended to include all types of exhibition catalogs, from the invention of catalog (Salon de Paris, 1673) to the present day.

RKD (Nederlands Instituut voor Kunstgeschiedenis) manages unique archives, documentation and photographic material and the largest art historical library on Western art from the Late Middle Ages to the present, with the focus on Netherlandish art. The knowledge graph represents their collections as Linked Data, primarily using the CIDOC-CRM and LinkedArt vocabularies.

A curated list of various semantic web and linked data resources for heritage, humanities and art history practitioners.

Europeana APIs allow you to build applications that use the wealth of our collections drawn from the major museums and galleries across Europe. Their scope includes millions of cultural heritage items (from books and paintings to 3D objects and audiovisual material) that celebrate around 4,000 cultural institutions across Europe.

In pursuing our mission, we are making certain data about our collection available to scholars, educators, and the general public in CSV format to support research, teaching, and personal enrichment; to promote interdisciplinary research; to encourage fun and creativity; and to help people understand the inspiration behind great works of art.

Get design data at your fingertips! The Data that’s returned from our API comes back as structured JSON. Not to be confused with the Computer Science term ‘Object’, the API offers deep information about Museum Objects from the collection. These objects can be sorted in a number of ways. API users can also develop complex searches with multiple search and sort criteria that can help group objects by any number of fields.

This Linked Data and SPARQL service provides access to the same collection data available through the Museum's web presented Collection Online, but in a computer readable format.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art provides select datasets of information on more than 470,000 artworks in its Collection for unrestricted commercial and noncommercial use. T

The V&A Collections API provides access to the collections data and images held by the Victoria and Albert Museum in machine readable formats (currently JSON and CSV) aiding research into art & design history, provenance studies and supporting general data science exploration and visualisation.

. This research dataset contains 155,930 records, representing all of the works that have been accessioned into MoMA’s collection and cataloged in our database. It includes basic metadata for each work, including title, artist, date made, medium, dimensions, and date acquired by the Museum. Some of these records have incomplete information and are noted as “not Curator Approved.”...

The Art Institute of Chicago's API provides JSON-formatted data as a REST-style service that allows developers to explore and integrate the museum’s public data into their projects.