Art History and Visual Studies: A Research Guide: Cite

The College Art Association has a series of guidelines (based on the Chicago Manual of Style) for image captions.

Manage Information using Citation Software/PDF organizers/Image managers

Use citation management/pdf organizing software to save time and energy organizing and citing research materials. Zotero was designed for humanities and social sciences research. Developed at The Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, it is particularly suited for historical sources.

is a free, open source, web-based tool for managing citations, organizing pdfs,and creating bibliographies.

For advice choosing a citation manager or managing information, contact us for a consultation!

ZoteroBib is a free, quick, and easy bibliography and citation maker that saves time and trouble.

Add sources using the ZoteroBib search box. Then, copy and paste the complete bibliography (or footnotes or in-text citations) into your paper in the citation style of your choice. (Note: As great as ZoteroBib is, it isn't perfect. Check your citations carefully using citation style guides or ask a librarian.)

In addition to Google Scholar, a number of subscription databases allow you to track the flow of research by including ways to identify references that cite or are cited by other scholarly sources. This is a quick, although perhaps not comprehensive, way to gauge the impact of individual publications. Consult the Cited Reference Searching guide for detailed instructions in performing cited reference searches.

• Purdue Online Writing Lab gives excellent examples (for footnotes/endnotes and bibliographies) on how to cite using the Chicago citation style: books, periodicals, web sources, film & television, and much more.
• Examples for how to cite other formats in Chicago Style, Notes & Bibliography
                 Note that in CMOS 18, a place of publication is no longer required in book citations
• Cornell's Citation Help pages

Please note that another significant change in Chicago Manual of Style 18 is that the page range for a chapter in a book is no longer required in bibliography entries. In notes, however, cite specific pages as applicable.

Example:

Note

1. Sylvia Wynter, “Rethinking ‘Aesthetics’: Notes towards a Deciphering Practice,” in Ex-iles: Essays on Caribbean Cinema, ed. Mbye B. Cham (Trenton, NJ: Africa World Press, 1992), 258.

Bibliography entry

Wynter, Sylvia. “Rethinking ‘Aesthetics’: Notes towards a Deciphering Practice.” In Ex-iles: Essays on Caribbean Cinema, edited by Mbye B. Cham. Africa World Press, 1992.

MLA Citation Style

Modern Language Association (MLA) Handbook (2022) recommended section: Works-Cited-List Entries by Publication Format

Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) MLA Formatting and Style Guide

The print copy of this manual is stored outside the Reference office, near the Info Desk in Olin Library.