CAA Reviews
A collection of "critical reviews of books, exhibitions, and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies published by the College Art Association." Although usually, access to caa.reviews is limited to members of CAA, the library provides access for the Cornell community that does not require membership.
Book Reviews
- Book Reviews: A Finding GuideThe best guide to finding book reviews at Cornell!
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
- Readers' Guide RetrospectiveJust in case this gem from the vaults might help: this database comprehensively indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, esp. 20th century America. Covers 1890-1982.
- Periodicals Index OnlineIndex to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Previously known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.
Special Project
A collaborative digital scholarship project.
The last project of the German Jewish “cultural scientist” Aby M. Warburg (1866-1929), the Mnemosyne Atlas is an unfinished attempt to map the pathways that give art history and cosmography their pathos-laden meanings. Warburg thought this visual, metaphoric encyclopedia, with its constellations of symbolic images, would animate the viewer’s memory, imagination, and understanding of what he called “the afterlife of antiquity.”
Literary Criticism
![Image: Collectie Spaarnestad. Hamblin glasses. A pair of spectacles especially designed for reading in bed. England, 1936. [detail].](http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/1093/reading_in_bed.jpg)
Collectie Spaarnestad. Hamblin glasses. A pair of spectacles especially designed for reading in bed. England, 1936. [detail].
Source: Nationaal Archief, Flickr Commons
Cited Reference Searching
In addition to Google Scholar, a number of subscription databases allow you to track the flow of research by including ways to identify references that cite or are cited by other scholarly sources. This is a quick, although perhaps not comprehensive, way to gauge the impact of individual publications. Consult the Cited Reference Searching guide for detailed instructions in performing cited reference searches.