Scholarship Funding Sources - Accessible
East Asia and the Pacific | Fulbright Scholar Program The core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program offers a spectrum of opportunities for American faculty, researchers and professionals to conduct research, lecture, and/or consult with other scholars and institutions in the East Asia Pacific region—a region considered to be the world’s growth engine in economics, politics and culture.
The core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program offers a spectrum of opportunities for American faculty, researchers and professionals to conduct research, lecture, and/or consult with other scholars and institutions in the East Asia Pacific region—a region considered to be the world’s growth engine in economics, politics and culture.
With approximately 54 award offerings and close to 150 grants funded annually, the East Asia Pacific (EAP) region is the second largest regional program within the core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.- See more at: http://www.cies.org/region/east-asia-and-pacific#sthash.lAgrDXvk.dpuf
Universities, Academic and Research Centers, Organizations and Institutions
- Asia Society Making full use of new information technologies, Asia Society's Resources, mostly accessible only online, help us extend the life of our programming and bring it before a global audience. Choose any of the thumbnails below to listen to recent Asia Society events, and browse the left-hand menu column for interviews, speeches, and podcasts, as well as the Museum Collection and resources for educators.
- The Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning
ASAIHL's purpose is to assist member institutions to strengthen themselves through mutual self help and to achieve international distinction in teaching, research and public service. In so doing, the institutions contribute strength to their respective nations and to the entire region. Specifically, the Association exists to foster the development of the institutions themselves, the cultivation of a sense of regional identity and interdependence and liaison with other regional and international organizations concerned with research and teaching. It serves as a clearing-house of information; provides regular opportunities for the discussion of academic development and general university development; assists member institutions in the recruitment and placement of faculty and staff, exchanges of professors and students and in the development of co-operative arrangements on specific projects; provides advisory services of consultants; strengthens the relationship with regional and international bodies and keeps member institutions informed about developments in the region; and recognizes and acknowledges distinctive achievements among Southeast Asian institutions of higher education.
- CERIS CERIS (The Consortium for Educational Resources on Islamic Studies) gathers and links resources that will help users better understand Islam and the Islamic world. CERIS,a collaboration of academic, non-profit, and religious organizations in the tri-state area (Ohio, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia), is based out of 4100 Posvar Hall. Pitt is a member of CERIS.
- Center for Southeast Asian Studies Kyoto University
Relations between Southeast Asia and Japan are growing increasingly close and diversified as a result of the dramatic political realignment and global economic integration of recent years. These changes bring fresh challenges and the Center for Southeast Asian Studies, continuously renewing itself as a Center of Excellence in Area Studies believes that integrated endeavors based on solid academic research can play a central role in developing new paradigms for the twenty-first century. The strength of the Center lies in its multi-disciplinary orientation, especially the inclusion of staff in the natural sciences as well as the humanities and social sciences. Since its establishment in 1965, the Center has carried out its activities using a comprehensive approach to investigate the contemporary and historical dimensions of problems confronting present-day Southeast Asia. Proceeding from these guiding principles,our current research methodology can be described as an integrated area studies approach based on informed knowledge of the field and aiming to create new perspectives on this dynamic region of Asia.
- Center for Southeast Asian Studies Northern Illinois University.
A federally funded National Resource Center since 1997, the Center for Southeast Asian Studies provides leadership, focus, and coordination for Southeast Asian studies at the university. It also provides outreach and K-12 teacher training for communities throughout northern Illinois. One of our most unique resources is SEAsite, a comprehensive and varied set of interactive learning resources for studying Southeast Asian languages, literatures and cultures on the world wide web - all developed here by faculty and students and accessible from our home page.
- Center for Southeast Asian Studies- UC Berkeley
The Center for Southeast Asia Studies is one of the oldest and most prominent academic centers concerned with Southeast Asian Studies in the United States. The Center functions as an administrative base to promote the expansion of Southeast Asian studies on the Berkeley campus by facilitating faculty and graduate research, by presenting campus lecture series and cultural programs, by organizing public outreach and international conferences, and by hosting visitors and scholars from around the world.
- Center for Southeast Asian Studies University of Hawaii at Manoa
With more than 70 faculty members, the Center represents the largest concentration of Southeast Asia specialists in the United States. The Center is one of only eight National Resource Centers for Southeast Asian Studies in the nation. More than 140 language and area courses are regularly offered, with particular strengths in the humanities and social sciences. The Center's Southeast Asia Working Papers series, established in 1972, now has more than forty titles, while the Center's Southeast Asia Papers series, established in 2000, has two edited volumes. The Center's most recent publication is Other Pasts: Women, Gender and History in Early Modern Southeast Asia.
- Center for Southeast Asian Studies University of Michigan
The Center for Southeast Asian Studies is a U.S. Department of Education National Resource Center. The Center is committed to promoting a broader and deeper understanding of Southeast Asia and its peoples, cultures, and histories by providing resources for faculty, students and the community to learn and disseminate knowledge about the region.
- Cornell University Center for Southeast Asian Studies
The center is designated as a NATIONAL RESOURCE CENTER (NRC) by the United States Department of Education 2006 – 2010. As such, the Program is nationally prominent in promoting advanced foreign language training, area and international knowledge in the liberal arts and applied discipline focused on Southeast Asia.
- Middle East - Asia Project | Middle East Institute The Middle East-Asia Project (MAP) is an initiative undertaken by the Middle East Institute (Washington, DC) which is designed to serve two broad objectives:1. To promote awareness and understanding of the multidimensional relations between the Middle East and Asia by providing information and analysis on cross-regional economic, political, security, and social/cultural interactions and their implications; and 2. To foster collaborative research and other activities regarding Middle East-Asia relations through establishing an online community of experts and forging institutional partnerships. (The Cyber Library; The Experts Directory; The Infographics)
- Southeast Asian Center University of Washington
The Southeast Asia Center promotes and sustains the study of Southeast Asia and encourages understanding of Southeast Asia in the Pacific Northwest and the nation. We pursue this mission by offering language study and courses in various disciplines that focus on Southeast Asia.
Muslim Societies in Asia and the Pacific (MSAP) program is as an educational resource center that serves to broaden and deepen understanding of the diverse Muslim cultures that call Asia home. Established in 2009, at present the bulk of the program's attention is devoted to developing a website and utilizing social media to identify, archive and disseminate quality resources on the Muslim humanities of Asia. The MSAP website is an internationally utilized portal for hosting regularly updated educational and professional opportunities, for highlighting recent developments in the arts and culture, and for featuring select publications and journalism on issues that affect the Muslims of Asia. With Asia home to 60% of the world's Muslims and relations between Muslim and non-Muslim societies often troubled, MSAP focuses on Islam in regions of Asia that receive less public attention and follows topics that contribute useful context to issues that affect Muslim and non-Muslim relations. At UH Manoa, MSAP hosts a regular series of guest speakers while promoting most Hawai'i-based events on Islam and Muslim societies. MSAP leverages the exceptional pool of scholars at UH Manoa on Asia, the Pacific and Islam to fulfill its educational mission. \
- South-East Asia University
Located in Thailand the South-East Asia University pursues excellence in higher education in a friendly, rural campus atmosphere which promotes the intellectual, social, and ethical development of students who must participate in a global economy. Due the economic realities the university encourages international trade and information exchange amongst its students and other educational institutions worldwide. The students thereby become contributing members of the global economy as part of their educational experience.
- Thailand, Laos, Cambodia Studies Group The Thai/Lao/Cambodian Studies Group (TLC) is an affiliate of the Southeast Asian Council (SEAC) of the Association for Asian Studies (AAS). It aims to bring together scholars and students who work in many fields (History, Anthropology, Botany, Women's Studies, Religious Studies, Ethnomusicology, Linguistics, Archaeology, Architecture/Urban Planning, Development Studies, Philology, Political Science, Environmental Sciences, Philosophy, among others) who find themselves informed by data and experiences in Thailand, Cambodia, and/or Laos. Its website (tlc.ucr.edu) and its annual meeting (at the AAS meeting) is a place for these scholars and students to share resources and expertise.
- UCLA Center for Southeast Asian Studies
The UCLA Center for Southeast Asian Studies (CSEAS) was established in 1999 with a mission to take a leading role in defining the place of Southeast Asian Studies in the U.S. for the 21st century. In 2000 the CSEAS joined with the Center for Southeast Asia Studies at UC Berkeley to form a consortium. The same year the UCLA-UCB consortium was designated a US Department of Education National Resource Center for Southeast Asian Studies, one of only a small number in the country.
- UW-Madison's Center for Southeast Asian Studies
The Center supports and maintains its own web page at the url: http://seasia.wisc.edu/. This page provides relevant and up-to-date information on the Center and its programs and activities. The site features easy access to such Center-related links as the Friday Forum lecture series, information on faculty, Southeast Asia course offerings, the SEAiT project, language programs, and the Center's publications program.