A Dictionary of Indonesian Islam by Howard M. Federspiel
Call Number: Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Circulating) DS501 .O37 no.94
Publication Date: 1994-06-01
Drawing from an extensive list of writings about Indonesian Islam that have appeared over the past fifteen years, Federspiel defines approximately 1,800 terms, phrases, historical figures, religious books, and place names that relate to Islam and gives their Arabic sources. This dictionary will be indispensable to English–speaking students and researchers working in Indonesian or Southeast Asian studies. It will also be useful for scholars working in Bahasa Indonesian, reading texts written about Islam by Indonesian Muslims, as well as for Southeast Asia area scholars generally who are using sources in Western languages.
The Columbia World Dictionary of Islamism by John King (Translator)
Call Number: Olin Reference BP40 D5313 2007+ (circulating copy ordered for Kroch Asia stacks 3/'16)
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Antoine Sfeir's Columbia World Dictionary of Islamism is a major resource. Translated for the first time from the original French, this volume features more than two thousand entries on the history of Islamism and Islamic countries. It provides a balanced account of events and organizations, as well as philosophers, activists, militants, and other prominent figures, and offers a window into a movement that has irrevocably changed both Muslim and Western societies.
Selected Resources - Accessible
Islam in Southeast Asia by Joseph Chinyong Liow (Editor); Nadirsyah Hosen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009-10-29
Islam in Indonesia: A to Z Basic Reference by Umar Hadi, Abdul Mu'ti, [et al.], (editors)
Call Number: BP 63 I5 I8479 2009 Kroch Library Asia Reference (non-circulating)
The Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought reflects the variety of trends, voices, and opinions in the contemporary Muslim intellectual scene. It challenges Western misconceptions about the modern Muslim world, demonstrating that it is far from being a monolithic religious, cultural and intellectual phenomenon. The companion consists of 36 significant essays written by contemporary Muslim writers and scholars who represent a plethora of perspectives on the contemporary Muslim world. These essays revolve around such issues as Islamic tradition, modernity, globalization, feminism, the West, the USA, reform, and secularism. They explore the history, range, and future of these issues in contemporary Muslim societies. Furthermore, they help readers to situate Islamic intellectual history in the context of Western intellectual trends and issues.
Blackwell Companion to the Qur'an
Olin Library Oversize BP130.4 .B57 2006 +
The Blackwell Companion to the Qur’an is a reader’s guide, a true companion for anyone who wishes to read and understand the Qur’an as a text and as a vital piece of Muslim life. Comprises over 30 original essays by leading scholars Provides exceptionally broad coverage - considering the structure, content and rhetoric of the Qur’an; how Muslims have interpreted the text and how they interact with it; and the Qur’an’s place in Islam Features notes, an extensive bibliography, indexes of names, Qur’an citations, topics, and technical terms.
Part I.Historical Perspectives: 1. Qur'an and hadith 2. The early creed 3. Islamic philosophy (falsafa) 4. The developed kalām tradition 5. The social construction of orthodoxy. Part II.Themes: 6. God: essence and attributes 7. Creation 8. Ethics 9. Revelation 10. The existence of God 11. Worship 12. Theological dimensions of Islamic law 13. Theology and Sufism 14. Epistemology and divine discourse 15. Eschatology.
Cambridge Companion to Muhammad
Location: Olin Library BP75.3 .C36 2010
Part I Muḥammad in his world: Arabian context of Muḥammad's life - Muḥammad's message in Mecca: warnings, signs, and miracles - Glimpses of Muḥammad's medinan decade.Part II Muḥammad in history: Prophet as lawgiver and legal authority - Personal piety - Muḥammad as the pole of existence - Prophet Muḥammad in ritual - Muslim philosophers' rationalist explanation of Muḥammad's prophecy - Where earth and heaven meet: remembering Muḥammad as head of state. Part III Muḥammad in memory: Muḥammad in Sūfī eyes: phophetic legitimacy in medieval Iran and Central Asia - European accounts of Muḥammad's life - European accounts of Muḥammad's life in twenty-first-century Indonesia - Images of Muḥammad in literature, art, and music Epilogue: Muḥammad in the future.
Cambridge Companion to the Qurʼān
Location: Olin Library BP130 .C26 2006
Part I. Formation of the Qur'ānic Text: 1. The historical context 2. Creation of a fixed text 3. Alternative accounts of the Qur'ān's formation; Part II. Description and Analysis: 4. Themes and topics 5. Structural, linguistic and literary features 6. Recitation and aesthetic reception; Part III. Transmission and Dissemination: 7. From palm leaves to the Internet 8. Inscriptions in art and architecture; Part IV. Interpretations and Intellectual Traditions: 9. The tasks and traditions of interpretation 10. Multiple areas of 11. Western scholarship and the Qur'ān; Part V. Contemporary Readings: 12. Women's readings of the Qur'ān 13. Political interpretation of the Qur'ān 14. The Qur'ān and other religions; Qur'ān citation index; General index.
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) sets out the present state of knowledge of the Islamic World and is a unique reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam. Itincludes biographical articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities.In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
The new edition (1960–2005) offered vastly expanded coverage (more than 11,000 pages, in twelve volumes), and in the long course of its appearance increasingly reflected new trends in scholarship on Islam and Muslim societies, in terms of both method and content.
Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature of the Encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, Encyclopaedia Islamica Online offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.
Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
EQ is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān (EQ) is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language. The EQ Online includes access to 62 Early Printed Western Qur’āns Online. With regular updates. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, EQ combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur’ān. With nearly 1000 entries the EQ is the first comprehensive reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a groundbreaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. (v. 1. Methodologies, paradigms and sources for studying women and Islamic cultures; v. 2. Family, law, and politics; v. 3. Family, body, sexuality, and health; v. 4. Economics, education, mobility, and space).
[Orig. title: An historical atlas of Islam = atlas historique de l'Islam / edited by sous la direction de Hugh Kennedy]. From linguistic regions of the Islamic world to Iran under the Caliphate and the Greater Delhi Sultanate, a broad variety of topics is covered. New maps include: Yemen and the Hadramaut, Central Arabia and the Wahhabi expansion, Iran in the era of the Il-Khans and Timurids, environmental regions of the Muslim world, the fertile crescent in early Ottoman times, the Caucasus in early Islamic times, the Maghrib in the age of Almoravids and Almohads and many other regional groups. A wide variety of new city maps has been added including Sanaa, Damascus, Aleppo, Mosul, Baghdad, Cairo, Isfahan, Shiraz, Bukhara, Samarkand, Cordoba, Granada and Delhi.
Indonesian Heritage / by Buku Antar Bangsa Staff; Grolier Educational Staff.
Introduction to Islam in Indonesia, pp. 10-38, includes sections on early history, suluk, tarekat, wali, pesantran, kyai, organizations, reform movements, tajdid and ziarah traditions, popular traditions, Maulud, and the Istiqlal Mushaf.