Working with Text in Middle Eastern Languages
Chapter 11 of the Chicago Manual of Style explains how to work with Arabic, Hebrew, Persian and Turkish languages in your publications.
MacOSX: Using System Preferences--Language and Text--Input Sources. Select your preferred language.
QWERTY layout means letters you type will approximate the letters on the English keyboard ("L" will be "Lam" etc.)
See Apple OSX Support for information about controlling the direction of the text.
Windows: Using Control Panel--Region and Text--Change Keyboards--Add. Select your preferred language.
See Microsoft Windows Support for information about changing keyboards, layout, etc.
iOS: Select Settings--General--Keyboard. Arabic, Hebrew and Turkish are available .
For Persian, you'll need to find and download a third party keyboard in the Apple store because it's not supported natively. With an app, you can type in Persian, and copy-paste your text into other applications.
Yamli - Arabic Search Engine and Smart Arabic Keyboard allows you to do Google searches in Roman characters which are translated on the fly into Arabic. Useful if you need a quick way to get correct spelling of a word in Arabic!
Searching Online & Requesting Research Material
Need to find a book, journal articles or more (either a particular title or on a topic) at Cornell and beyond? Search the Library Discovery Tool [online catalog]. Search most Cornell resources at once using the main search box (or search or browse specific resources more directly using the links under the box). Catalog Articles & Full Text Databases E-Journal TitlesImages
Keyword & Subject Searching
Start by searching the catalog by keyword. Use whatever terms you think best describe your topic. When you find a record that matches what you are looking for, view the record and see what subject headings were used. Then search again using that term as a subject search.
Sample Keywords: "Middle East" or Islam or Arab* + / women / gender / "Muslim women" / "women in Islam" / history / sex roles.
Using LCSH (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search for resources will, more often than not, yield the most relevant results. Below are some LCSH you can use to search. Be sure to choose the SUBJECT search field from the drop-down list (in Advanced Search) or include the search terms in quotation marks in the Basic Search box. Enter the SUBJECT search terms exactly as you see them. (If subject is a name, last name first. For topical subject headings, elements must be in exact order).
Sample Subject Headings: Women in Islam / Women (Islamic law) / Muslim women--Legal status, laws, etc. / Islam & gender / Islam--Customs & practices / Feminsim & Islam. [subject + country (women - Lebanon), etc.].
Are you off campus? Make sure you're coming though the library website or using Passkey so the resource recognizes you as a Cornell person. (See more below)
If we do not have a book, or if the book is already checked out:
Borrow Direct Borrow books from our partner Ivy League universities. We will have it shipped to Cornell. Borrowing period is one month. Books arrive in 4 business days. (Books only).
If we don't own an item (any item -- journal article, DVD, dissertation, etc.): Interlibrary Loan Services
Access Our Library Anywhere! Off-Campus Authentication
Install the PassKey bookmarklet and make access to full-text articles from off-campus quick and easy!
Get more information on how to use PassKey.
If you sign into the Library website from off-campus and access articles that way, you should also be able to get to full-text resources to which CUL subscribes.
Still can't seem to access the full-text? See the boxes below for information on getting resources that are not in the Cornell system.
The Libraries’ resources are available from off campus to all CORNELL faculty members, staff, students and retirees. To access them, login with your user ID and password. On campus there should be no problem connecting. Off campus, if not logged into anything Cornell, not provided with an IP address that’s authenticating Cornell, you’ll be blocked. When off campus, first click on something that invokes CUWebLogin—email or something restricted (database, ejournal) through the Library.
Linking to Library Resources
- Cornell-restricted databases and e-journals
- Individual articles
- OpenURL links
Check the list of Verified Cornell Communications, posted by the IT Security Office.
Extended Validation Certificates:
Verify that a web site you are visiting is who it claims to be. If you see green in the address bar in your browser, the web site has an Extended Validation (EV) Cert and it’s encrypted.
Cornell’s CUWebLogin page has an EV cert. To see an example visit any campus service that uses CUWebLogin for authentication. Click the certificate name “Cornell University (US)” to see additional info about the certificate.Cornell’s EV Certificate in Firefox Cornell’s EV Certificate in Internet Explorer
Green EV Certs are more reliable, because a certificate authority has to verify a web site’s identity, before an EV Cert will be issued.
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography: The Annotated Bibliography: Explanation, Process, Directions, and Examples (Cornell LibGuides)
RefWorks - Web-based system to manage your source citations and to create bibliographies and citations in text
Citation Machine - Interactive web tool for creating standard bibliographic and in-text citations in APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian style formats
- DocsCite - Online tool to help put government publication citations into proper APA or MLA style format.
Citation Style Guides
Style guides show how to format citations for bibliographies, footnotes, and in-text citations in a consistent format that makes it easy for the reader to locate the source. If your instructor or publisher has not recommended a particular format or style, consult one of the commonly used style manuals, such as: APA, Chicago, MLA or Turabian.
Citing Sources: Style Manuals
Guide to style manuals owned in print format by ASU Libraries and to some online sources.
Research : Citation Management Citation Management Help
- Conversion of Islamic and Christian Dates (Zurich U.)
- Convert Gregorian or Julian Dates to Hijri Dates
- Convert Hijri Dates to Gregorian or Julian Dates
- Gregorian-Hijri Date Converter (Islamic Finder-according to Makkah)
- Iranian (Jalali) Calendar Converter